Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
rebhana's Avatar
Posts: 579 | Thanked: 471 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#551
Originally Posted by hstende View Post
I found the bug that made lxde not start after setting locale with:
dpkg-reconfigure locales

The /usr/bin/xephwm5 had a line:
export TWOWIN=`wmctrl -l | grep -i Information | awk '{print $1}'`

When setting locales for norway the output changed to Informasjon. So when I cahnged the line to:
export TWOWIN=`wmctrl -l | grep -i Info | awk '{print $1}'`

it worked, and lxde no longer hangs in this while loop.
Wow, congratulations! Lucky me that Information translates to Information in German!
 
rebhana's Avatar
Posts: 579 | Thanked: 471 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#552
I have found out a little bit more about my problem with the cursor keys in LXDE with setxkbmap de (http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...521#post537521). @hstende, has the Norwegian keyboard also only two cusor keys, with Up and Down overloaded? Do you have the same issue?

From "xmodmap -pke" I found that the German keyboard has
Code:
keycode 111 = adiaeresis Adiaeresis question question question question
keycode 112 =
keycode 113 = period comma comma comma comma comma
keycode 114 = Right Down
keycode 115 =
keycode 116 = Left Up
So the Up and Down keys are Shift-Left and Shift-Right. For Fn-Left and Fn-Right, as it should be, "Up" and "Down" should be on the fifth position instead of the second. However, filling in more "Up"s for keycode 116 doesn't have any effect - only the Shift modifier is active on this key!

Unfortunately, while Shift-Left and Shift-Right do actually produce Up and Down key events, the X server notices that Shift is pressed and interprets those as Shift-Up and Shift-Down, and this makes them useless for most applications, e.g. vi.

I also tried xbindkeys to produce Up and Down through Fn-Left and Fn-Right, but also that gets interpreted as a modified Up and Down. So, no luck so far.

Another keymap problem that I have noticed both in us and de keymaps is that the Enter key is bound to KP_Enter. That is actually easy to fix with xmodmap. One can add the line
Code:
xmodmap -e "keycode  36 = Return"
to /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart, and then one can at least enter new lines in vi - though not go up on a German keyboard . Well, I need it the Return key mostly for xmaxima and there the pointer is available.

@qole: I personallyprefer having no sticky keys at all rather than a sticky Control key and the funny behavior of the Control+keys I described above. My autostart file now reads
Code:
setxkbmap de
#xkbset exp 60 =sticky =twokey =latchlock
#xkbset sticky -twokey latchlock
@lxde-settings-daemon
@lxpanel --profile LXDE
@pcmanfm -d
xmodmap /home/user/myxmodmap
where apart from the corrected Enter key I have made Shift+Backspace=Escape and Shift+Fn+q=F1 etc.:
Code:
keycode  22 = BackSpace Escape
keycode  24 = q Q 1 1 1 F1
keycode  25 = w W 2 2 2 F2
...
keycode  36 = Return Return Return Return KP_Enter KP_Enter
...
Perhaps the above remapping of BackSpace and Return would be useful for the autostart file in the final image, most simply through individual "xmodmap -e ..." lines? My addition of the function keys, however, would depend on having qwertz or qwerty or whatever in the uppermost row.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rebhana For This Useful Post:
Posts: 150 | Thanked: 91 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Norway
#553
@rebhana
I use the english layout in lxde so I don't know.
I'll try later to see if it works.
 
rebhana's Avatar
Posts: 579 | Thanked: 471 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#554
Originally Posted by qole View Post
If you need to tweak the LXDE one for a different locale (tell me if you do!) ...
For the record, I was successful with
Code:
dpkg-reconfigure locales
and choosing de_DE.UTF-8 as system setting. Then all extra characters are displayed correctly under debbie, sudo debian su - user, and LXDE (with setxkbmap de). Only the root account (sudo debian in osso_xterm) has the wrong character set. Its language setting is de_DE without the .UTF-8, which I guess is inherited from Maemo, which for me has de_DE.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to rebhana For This Useful Post:
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#555
Someone asked for the changelog for the version in Extras, and since I'm 'in there' today assembling a new package, here it is:

0.9.36 Changed default mount point to /.debian
0.9.37 Fixed the closechroot icon, added back oo icon & fullscreen key
0.9.38 Fixed top menu in LXDE and added ctrl-space fullscreen key.
0.9.39 Tweaked top menu in LXDE
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
rebhana's Avatar
Posts: 579 | Thanked: 471 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#556
Just discovered this older posting:

Originally Posted by qole View Post
hstende:

Thanks, it seems that you still have Debian apps running! I see "debbie" and "qchroot" and "loop0" in your ps list.

This is obviously a problem with Fremantle's broken fuser command.

Those having problems, do the following:

Code:
sudo debian echo
sudo cp /.debian/bin/fuser /bin
sudo closechroot
I once had the issue that my N900 got pretty warm in my pocket, and then I found that the Debian application xmaxima was using 100% CPU time although Debian chroot was already closed and unmounted. I don't recall whether this was before or after PR1.1.1. Does anybody know whether Fremantle's fuser is still broken?

Is the above fix still good with the new image? At any rate, I'd do
Code:
sudo cp /bin/fuser /bin/fuser.bak
before!

If there is otherwise no fix in sight, perhaps this could even go into the wiki?

EDIT: Just noticed that /bin/fuser in Fremantle is a link to busybox. I'm pretty ignorant here, but busybox is a file that is more than 10 times bigger than Debian's fuser!? The above code would overwrite /bin/busybox, is that really what you meant, qole?

Last edited by rebhana; 2010-02-21 at 21:48.
 
Posts: 32 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#557
Originally Posted by qole View Post
image file: debian-m5-v3b.img.ext2.lzma
(there's also a rootfs for extracting into a partition, but I'd prefer you to try the image file)
I have Debian in a different partition. Can I use the lzma file and how? Or bz2 is the only way for me?
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#558
rebhana: Fremantle's fuser is still broken. Yes, there's no actual fuser app, just a link; it is Busybox that is actually broken.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#559
sir
have trouble to log in a secure trading site with microB. tried your icewawsel in easy debian thinking that the full java can do the trick but also no luck.
can anybody help/

the url is dbsvicker
it always say java applet not initialised. and in the case of icewaesel in easy debian the message is always server not responding
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#560
Hi all,

I've just uploaded a new version of easy-chroot to extras-devel, and I've promoted it to Extras-testing.

This version adds a workaround for the broken Fremantle fuser, so your "closechroot" command should actually close the chroot.

I've also fixed some packaging problems, so I won't get the usual "bugtracker field is wrong" complaints...
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
beta, debian, easy debian, extras-devel, fremantle, i <3 qole, squeeze


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:44.