Reply
Thread Tools
meshsmooth's Avatar
Posts: 32 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ australia
#1
i have installed the 3 dropbear packages for ssh and still cant find the scp command. I have searched the nokia's file system and not found it. I used the command
$ find *|grep scp
I didnt find it.
so what do i need to install to get scp installed?
 
aflegg's Avatar
Posts: 1,463 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ UK
#2
In an xterm, try:

Code:
find / -name scp -type f 2>/dev/null
...and...

Code:
ls -l /var/lib/install/usr/bin/s*
It should be in /var/lib/install/usr/bin/scp.
 
meshsmooth's Avatar
Posts: 32 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ australia
#3
ok i dont have it installed in those locations, but have installed the 3 packages. i am at a loss

[edit]
I installed the latest packages and it turned up

woot!

Last edited by meshsmooth; 2006-01-02 at 13:31.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to meshsmooth For This Useful Post:
Posts: 111 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ Hong Kong
#4
I can confirm that scp is indeed located at /var/lib/install/usr/bin/scp.

Have you tried reinstalling the dropbear-client package? scp is included in there.
 
Posts: 62 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#5
How do I get the scp working? On this site there are some directions on how to
actually use scp:

http://maemo.org/pipermail/maemo-use...er/000293.html

That's a fine example, but when I try it out I get this error:
(copying from my linux box to the 770)

ari/junk> scp test.txt user@192.168.0.4:/media/mmc1
ssh: connect to host 192.168.0.4 port 22: Connection refused
lost connection

Ok, so I look here and find out I need to run dbclient first (which I have installed):

https://maemo.org/maemowiki/InstallSsh

That's also fine, but when I try to run dbclient (on the 770) I get:

/var/lib/install/usr/bin $ ./dbclient
Dropbear client v0.46
Usage: ./dbclient [options] [user@]host
Options are:
-p <remoteport>
-t Allocate a pty
-T Don't allocate a pty
-i <identityfile> (multiple allowed)
-L <listenport:remotehost:remoteport> Local port forwarding
-R <listenport:remotehost:remoteport> Remote port forwarding
-l <username>

What's the correct way to set up a session for scp? I already have the basic ssh
setup working well.

Thanks,

- Ari
 
Posts: 62 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#6
I guess I had to specify the port on the remote machine (the 770):

ari/junk> scp -P 2222 test.txt user@192.168.0.4:/media/mmc1
Enter passphrase for key '/home/ari/.ssh/id_rsa':
test.txt

That worked!
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2005
#7
I've only been able to scp as root on the standard port (22). Not really a problem though..end up dumping stuff into root's home and moving it.

An important point to note about scp - if you follow the link to the dropbear client from maemo.org, there are several versions in there. ONLY THE LATEST ONE INCLUDES SCP!!!
 
Posts: 155 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ central georgia, usa
#8
I haven't tried scp (by typing) on the 770. I use it from ssh on another box (through the dropbear-server on the 770.)

This requires the installation of dropbear-client because that's the package that has the scp binary.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:20.