Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jul 2007
#1
I'm looking for a way to setup my n770 so that once it starts up, it automatically uses rdesktop to connect to a server. Preferrably it'd type in the IP, username, and password for me, but even just starting that program would be great.

Is there a script I could write that would allow me to do this?


Thanks,
Brett
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#2
first thing is to determine if the rdestop binary file takes command like parameters. if it does, figure out what ones have to be specified, their appropriate values, and attempt to launch the session you desire, from the command line.

if that works, you could put the start up script in place. i dont know if there is a user accessible startup option, which would make things easier. if that doesnt exist, read up on startup scripts and /etc/init.d and /etc/rc2.d filesystems
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jul 2007
#3
So the first thing I have to do is find the rdesktop binary file in my n770's file system. Keep in mind i'm very new to linux in general.

I navigate through xterm, and open the "/etc/" folder. Thats where a lot of the applications seem to be, but I don't see an "rdesktop" folder or anything that may contain it.

Might be easier with a gui file manager but i can't get to the main filesystem through the stock one.


Thanks for the help.
Brett
 

The Following User Says Thank You to zzzBrett For This Useful Post:
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jun 2007
#4
Originally Posted by zzzBrett View Post
So the first thing I have to do is find the rdesktop binary file in my n770's file system. Keep in mind i'm very new to linux in general.

I navigate through xterm, and open the "/etc/" folder. Thats where a lot of the applications seem to be, but I don't see an "rdesktop" folder or anything that may contain it.
You probably don't need the full path of the executable, but you can use "which rdesktop" to get that, unless the executable is something other than "rdesktop." I don't have it installed; so, I can't answer that part for you.
If you can run the command "rdesktop" then that is the executable. You can then run "rdesktop --help" to get the available command-line options.
 
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Apr 2007
#5
The easiest way to find a binary file is to use the command which
Code:
root@Nokia-N800-26 # which rdesktop
/usr/bin/rdesktop
A quick google search turns up this man page for rdesktop that details the command line options:
http://www.linuxcommand.org/man_pages/rdesktop1.html

Something like the following should work:
Code:
rdesktop -u username -p password windowsServerName
As for writing the script, I will leave it up to you.
 
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jul 2007
#6
When I run 'rdesktop', i get the following error:


/home/user # rdesktop
rdesktop[1403]: GLIB ERROR ** default - file rdesktop.c: line 869 (main): assertion failed: (data->osso)
aborting...
Aborted

Any idea why?
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#7
try rdesktop --help.

it may require certain parameters which the GUI specifies, when calling the app.
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jul 2007
#8
Same error when i do:
rdesktop --help

Tried uninstalling / reinstalling - still have the problem.
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#9
since i dont have it installed, i am guessing here. try this one out...

sudo rdesktop

or

sudo gainroot
rdesktop

it may be that the user has sudo access to the app, and as plain old "user" in xterm, you arent using the sudo access.
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jul 2007
#10
Yep, when I got the error I was root. Any other ideas?
I'm surprised i'm the only one with this problem, I don't see it anywhere else.

Brett
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:13.