Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 89 | Thanked: 48 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Glasgow
#161
Regarding yaspot (I guess qtify is hit by the same issue): The version in the repositories is out of date. The despotify API changed very slightly since yaspot was last updated. Specifically: despotify_init_client() in depositify.c now has a fourth parameter, "use_cache".

This means that recompiling the despotify library to latest and replacing the old version doesn't work as before, because yaspot segfaults (the function signature it wants no longer exists).

So, to make yaspot work here again, I've recompiled despotify and yaspot, and copied both over. I haven't packaged these yet (I don't know how, off-hand), but the compiled versions I'm running (with "use_cache" set conservatively to "false") can be found here: http://sdstrowes.co.uk/yaspot/. Feel free to grab those and test them out.

Guidelines:
  • libdespotify.so.0.0.0 goes into /opt/maemo/usr/lib/ as before.
  • For testing, I'm running yaspot from my home directory (and launching via the command line).

Of course, you should probably make backups of originals before replacing anything.
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to sdstrowes For This Useful Post:
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#162
Mine yaspot has started working again.
Updated to PR1.2 and thought about giving a try at it and damn, it worked again

Can anyone else confirm that yaspot is working again with PR1.2
 
Posts: 543 | Thanked: 151 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Germany
#163
Does any of the Spotify clients support a proxy? I use Spotify here in Germany since months without a problem over a UK proxy.
 
Posts: 726 | Thanked: 345 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Sweden
#164
Originally Posted by oskkos View Post
Mine yaspot has started working again.
Updated to PR1.2 and thought about giving a try at it and damn, it worked again

Can anyone else confirm that yaspot is working again with PR1.2
Are you having trouble believing yourself?
 
Posts: 80 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#165
mine started working again even before the upgrade, not sure what's going on...
 
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 252 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#166
Originally Posted by mickenordin View Post
For some reason I can't get the autobuilder to build the despotify packages any more and unfortunatly I don't have time to look into too why that is. Anyway, I posted new debs on my blog if you want to use the patched packages instead of just coping the shared libraries.

http://mickenordin.se/blog/index.php...tify-pa-maemo/

/Micke
I had a quick look at the build error and after fighting autobuilder to accept a new control file I managed to make it build. There were three things keeping it from building: Build-Depends had libao0 instead of libao-dev, libdespotify had a Depends missing a comma after ${shlibs:Depends} and the rules file needed dh_makeshlibs to be uncommented to make libdespotify have it's shlibs info created before despotify needed it.

I'll post the edited source code here in case you need it.
rules:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/make -f

#export DH_VERBOSE=1

DEB_HOST_GNU_TYPE   ?= $(shell dpkg-architecture -qDEB_HOST_GNU_TYPE)
DEB_BUILD_ARCH      ?= $(shell dpkg-architecture -qDEB_BUILD_ARCH)
DEB_BUILD_GNU_TYPE  ?= $(shell dpkg-architecture -qDEB_BUILD_GNU_TYPE)
DEB_HOST_ARCH_OS    ?= $(shell dpkg-architecture -qDEB_HOST_ARCH_OS)

MAKEFLAGS=CLIENT_GATEWAY=1 CLIENT_DESPOTIFY=1

build: build-stamp
build-stamp: 
	dh_testdir

	mkdir -p $(CURDIR)/debian/tmp
	
	# Add here commands to compile the package.
	$(MAKE) ${MAKEFLAGS}

	touch $@

clean: 
	dh_testdir
	dh_testroot
	rm -f build-stamp

	# Add here commands to clean up after the build process.
	$(MAKE) clean ${MAKEFLAGS}
	rm -rf $(CURDIR)/debian/tmp/

	dh_clean 

install: build
	dh_testdir
	dh_testroot
	dh_clean -k 
	dh_installdirs

	# Build
	$(MAKE) install DESTDIR=$(CURDIR)/debian/tmp/ ${MAKEFLAGS}
	
	# Install
#	dh_install -si --fail-missing --sourcedir=debian/tmp
	dh_install -si --sourcedir=debian/tmp

# Build architecture-independent files here.
binary-indep: build install
# We have nothing to do by default.

# Build architecture-dependent files here.
binary-arch: build install
	dh_testdir
	dh_testroot
	dh_installchangelogs 
	dh_installdocs
	dh_installexamples
#	dh_install
#	dh_installmenu
#	dh_installdebconf	
#	dh_installlogrotate
#	dh_installemacsen
#	dh_installpam
#	dh_installmime
#	dh_python
#	dh_installinit
#	dh_installcron
#	dh_installinfo
	dh_installman
	dh_link
	dh_strip
	dh_compress
	dh_fixperms
#	dh_perl
	dh_makeshlibs
	dh_installdeb
	dh_shlibdeps
	dh_gencontrol
	dh_md5sums
	dh_builddeb

binary: binary-indep binary-arch
.PHONY: build clean binary-indep binary-arch binary install configure
control:
Code:
Source: despotify
Section: sound
Priority: extra
Maintainer: Micke Nordin <mickewiki@gmail.com>
Build-Depends: debhelper (>= 5),
               libtool,
               libexpat1-dev,
               libncurses5-dev,
               libpulse-dev,
               libssl-dev,
               libvorbis-dev,
               zlib1g-dev,
	           libncursesw5-dev,
	           libao-dev,
	           libdespotify-dev
Standards-Version: 3.7.3

Package: libdespotify
Section: libs
Architecture: any
Depends: ${shlibs:Depends}, libvorbisfile3 (>= 1.2.0)
Description: Despotify is an open source client and library for Spotify’s streamed music platform.

Package: libdespotify-dev
Section: libdevel
Architecture: any
Depends: libdespotify (= ${binary:Version})
Description: Development files for libdespotify.

Package: despotify
Section: sound
Architecture: any
Depends: libao0, libncursesw5, libvorbis0a, libvorbisfile3, libdespotify
Provides: despotify, despotify-simple, despotify-gateway
Description: An open source Spotify client.
 * C implementation based on F/OSS code
 * Proof of Concept multi-OS client with curses (text-based) UI
 * Proof of Concept gateway to the Spotify service (text-based 
   protocol, for supporting REST).
The package should be in extras-devel any minute now, but I have no idea if it is gonna make Yaspot work or not :p And sorry about the jump in version numbering. The autobuilder wouldn't accept that I had changed the files unless the whole package was updated.

In any case, thanks for you effort in packaging this! Hopefully we'll be able to enjoy Spotify on N900 again soon :)

Update: After installing the newest version everything seems to be working as expected with Yaspot again. However, this version does not have the fourth parameter in despotify_init_client() so I guess it will break with the Spotify API when they decide to update it again. Updating the package to the newest version of despotify is probably a good idea, but I'm afraid I don't have the time to do that myself.

Last edited by dragly; 2010-05-26 at 22:41.
 
Duffer's Avatar
Posts: 223 | Thanked: 52 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ West Kirby, UK
#167
Yaspot keeps dropping me back to entering credentials?

I'm on 1.2, can anyone confirm it's working please?
__________________
In dog years, I'm dead.

Last edited by Duffer; 2010-05-27 at 11:34.
 
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 252 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#168
It is working for me, but please check that you have the newest version of yaspot and libdespotify from extras-devel. To be completely sure, run this in terminal (you have to install rootsh first):

sudo gainroot
apt-get update
apt-get install yaspot libdespotify
exit

After doing this it runs as it should on my N900.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to dragly For This Useful Post:
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#169
Originally Posted by dragly View Post
It is working for me, but please check that you have the newest version of yaspot and libdespotify from extras-devel. To be completely sure, run this in terminal (you have to install rootsh first):

sudo gainroot
apt-get update
apt-get install yaspot libdespotify
exit

After doing this it runs as it should on my N900.
I tried this and still it reverts always back to the login section...
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#170
My yaspot also behaved like that, but when I tried the files provided by sdstrowes (look further up), everything is working again.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:28.