Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 200 | Thanked: 44 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1
How can you see what is happening to a package at install.

For example were files are getting moved to and anything that may be failing.
 
Posts: 1,729 | Thanked: 388 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Canada
#2
install via xterm, but i think you can only see what is happening, ETA, what is replaced or deleted and if the installation failed.....
__________________
if i did help you, just click "Thanks" on the lower right of my post. thanks!

"The best way to break a Spell is to prevent it from being cast in the first place"

N900: 1000/1150mhz; sampling_rate 15; up_threshold 150000;
 

The Following User Says Thank You to gabby131 For This Useful Post:
nicolai's Avatar
Posts: 1,637 | Thanked: 4,424 times | Joined on Apr 2009 @ Germany
#3
To see the contents of a deb-file:
Code:
dpkg --contents PACKAGEFILE
For an already installed packages (files owned by this package):
Code:
dpkg --listfiles PACKAGENAME
nicolai
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nicolai For This Useful Post:
Posts: 200 | Thanked: 44 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#4
can i follow the install process step by step to debug a package or is there a better way to go about it?
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#5
In debian/rules, make "APPNAME := proxy-switcher" "APPNAME := proxyswitcher"...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 200 | Thanked: 44 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#6
qwerty12 if this works i love you. I thought the APPNAME had to equal the .pro files name.

can i asked how you figured this out or is it just from experience.

or was it just a suggestion.

Edit: i have now changed them so they are all the same without '-' as you have suggested uploading waiting for it to appear in extras cheers.

Edit2:God if i could give you a million thanks for that i would. I would have never noticed that it is used later in the rules file.

Could you help me under stand why it didn't work when the appname value was the same as the .pro file before.

So what i'm guessing is the name of the .pro has to match the name some where else in the project could you clarify which part?

As this could be integral to future projects.

Last edited by jamie721; 2010-06-10 at 18:22.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#7
Originally Posted by jamie721 View Post
Edit2:God if i could give you a million thanks for that i would. I would have never noticed that it is used later in the rules file.

Could you help me under stand why it didn't work when the appname value was the same as the .pro file before.

So what i'm guessing is the name of the .pro has to match the name some where else in the project could you clarify which part?

As this could be integral to future projects.
The name of your package comes from the Package line in debian/control, from the second section. The first instance in the section at the top refers to the source package name, a grouping of the application packages if you will.

The packaging tools, by default, place and expect their files to be found in debian/$PACKAGENAME. (When creating multiple packages from one source package, then it's a bit different but I digress)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20.