Reply
Thread Tools
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#11
Originally Posted by pantera1989 View Post
No sorry. I wanted to know that myself. Healthcheck is crashing on startup and I wanted to run it using xterm to know the errors but I couldn't find how.
It's written in the mega healthcheck thread

Running an app depends on how it was made, the python ones run like this -
Code:
python /<path>/filename.py
So in Healthcheck's case :
Code:
python /opt/healthcheck/healthcheck.py
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 

The Following User Says Thank You to noobmonkey For This Useful Post:
pantera1989's Avatar
Posts: 577 | Thanked: 699 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Malta
#12
Thanks noobmonkey. Now that I've seen it I did use xterm to run healthcheck before. That code jogged my memory.

Have you had any luck m0da?
__________________
ford
 
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Bucharest
#13
Hello everybody,

I've tried to install the Easy Debian and got an error right at the end of the process when the image was extracted... can't remember the exact message but was somewhat related to the IZA image...

Since it wouldn't open any of the apps, i have uninstalled it via Application Manager and then deleted the remaining file from the File Manager. After the first reboot, I got a message that notifies me that my Memory is in Read Only Mode... I don't have a Card and although functionality wise, main apps are working, I can't make a back-up nor restore an existing one, I can't even take a picture, due to the memory issue...

Since I'm very new to Maemo as this is my first device, can someone please provide me with step by step procedure on how to gain access to my memory again?

Many thanks in advance.
 
pantera1989's Avatar
Posts: 577 | Thanked: 699 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Malta
#14
Hi Alex.

First try this. Since you are using windows do the following:

1. Connect your N900 via Mass Storage mode with the USB Cable
2. Right click on the N900's main memory (in Windows)
3. Select 'Properties' from the menu
4. Go to the 'Tools' tab
5. Under 'Error-Checking', click on the button 'Check Now'
6. Select both options and click on Start

Now to the hard way (Not that hard..just follow my instructions. I will try to keep them simple).

1. Install Rootsh from extras. If it is already installed skip this step.
2. Then open X Terminal
3. In X Terminal type: (note: that mmcblk0p1 is mmcblk-zero-p-one)
Code:
root
umount /dev/mmcblk0p1
fsck -f /dev/mmc/blk0p1
Post your results please.
__________________
ford
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pantera1989 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Bucharest
#15
Hi pantera1989,

your quick response is very much appreciated!

Since I don't have the data cable with me, I've tried the X Terminal commands that you listed and my result was:

fsck.ext2: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/mmc/blk0p1

The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2
filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2
filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock
is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alterna
te superblock:
e2fsck –b 8193 <device>

Nokia-N900-51-1:~#

What should I run now? As I don't want to mess it up more than I did already...
 
pantera1989's Avatar
Posts: 577 | Thanked: 699 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Malta
#16
But MyDocs shouldn't be ext3. It should be fat.

The N900 has mainly 4 partitions.

On the same chip:

1. /dev/mmcblk0p1 commonly known as MyDocs - FAT file system with 27GB
2. /dev/mmcblk0p2 commonly known as /home/ - EXT3 file system with 2GB
3. /dev/mmcblk0p3 commonly known as Swap - Linux swap file system with 768MB

4. Rootfs on a seperate chip with 256MB.

/dev/mmcblk0p1 should NOT be EXT3. Did you do any repartitioning or anything?

I will try and help you. But if nothing works I suggest you wait till you have a USB cable handy, try Mass storage mode, backup your data and try the fix I posted using WinXP.

If that doesn't work format it. If that doesn't work reinstall fimware and flash the eMMC. I don't know how you can backup though.
__________________
ford
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pantera1989 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Bucharest
#17
I'm starting to be a bit worried now... Earlier on, I've checked the memory and could see indeed 4 partitions, right now however, after opening Storage Usage all I can see is:

RootFS - 47MB Free
home - 1.6GB Free

But it's simply impossible to have that much space occupied on my device...

I'm also a bit confused on why are you referring to ext3 as there was no mention of it in the above response...

Will see if I can get a cable today and try your previous suggestion. We'll also keep you posted on the process.
 
pantera1989's Avatar
Posts: 577 | Thanked: 699 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Malta
#18
Oh sorry. You don't need to worry then. I mistakenly read ext2 as ext3.
I was in a hurry because there was a match on TV.

Anyway try this next:
Code:
root
umount /dev/mmcblk0p1
fsck.vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1
And if you do not have important stuff in MyDocs, and do not want to wait till you get home you can try formatting the card using your N900. I would leave this as a last resort though.

Code:
root
mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1
__________________
ford
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pantera1989 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Bucharest
#19
root
umount /dev/mmcblk0p1

umount: cannot umount /de/mmcblk0p1: Invalid argument



Will try the data cable at home...
 
pantera1989's Avatar
Posts: 577 | Thanked: 699 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Malta
#20
You forgot a 'v'. Its dev/mmcblk0p1.

Try again.
__________________
ford

Last edited by pantera1989; 2010-06-21 at 18:06.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pantera1989 For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:20.