Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,427 | Thanked: 2,986 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#11
Like I said, maybe hildon-desktop-python-loader is the problem. It might not be setting up the environment right. Try changing the line in

/usr/share/applications/hildon/pygtkeditor.desktop

from
Code:
Exec=/usr/bin/pygtkeditor
to
Code:
Exec=/usr/bin/run-standalone.sh /usr/bin/pygtkeditor
and see what happens.
__________________
N9: Go white or go home
 
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,427 | Thanked: 2,986 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#12
Woops, that might not explain your first command line problem.

I'll take a look at hildon-desktop-python-loader anyway.
__________________
N9: Go white or go home
 
Posts: 112 | Thanked: 122 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ London, United Kingdom
#13
Originally Posted by daperl View Post
I think all you've done is found the button theme thing I was suppose to fill you in on. Your test program might need menu items to be helpful. Try this one:
That example works correctly too.
But I tried putting it on /opt/ and making a "bypass" script on /usr/bin/ and again.. it didn't work.
__________________
Happy n900 owner!
Check my apps: n900fly, accdisplay and the "desktop command execution" widget!
 
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,427 | Thanked: 2,986 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#14
What's the output of

Code:
which python
__________________
N9: Go white or go home
 
Posts: 112 | Thanked: 122 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ London, United Kingdom
#15
Originally Posted by daperl View Post
What's the output of

Code:
which python
output is the expected:
Code:
/usr/bin/python
__________________
Happy n900 owner!
Check my apps: n900fly, accdisplay and the "desktop command execution" widget!
 
Posts: 112 | Thanked: 122 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ London, United Kingdom
#16
by the way, the "run-standalone.sh" attempt didn't work as well...
Also, i removed hildon-desktop-python-loader and this didn't change much.
__________________
Happy n900 owner!
Check my apps: n900fly, accdisplay and the "desktop command execution" widget!
 
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,427 | Thanked: 2,986 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#17
I know this might defeat the purpose, but I'm guessing changing the Exec line in

/usr/share/applications/hildon/pygtkeditor.desktop

to
Code:
Exec=/usr/bin/python /opt/pygtkeditor/pygtkeditor.py
should work.

Or you could do what I do and soft link like this

Code:
ln -s /usr/bin/pygtkeditor /opt/pygtkeditor/pygtkeditor.py
and then put

/usr/share/applications/hildon/pygtkeditor.desktop

back to the original.

That's all I can think of for now, sorry.
__________________
N9: Go white or go home
 
Posts: 112 | Thanked: 122 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ London, United Kingdom
#18
Yep.. quite weird anyway... but that works.. (linking the desktop file directly to the python file).
Anyway.. this solves my problem but I would still like to know if this affects more people.. then I would at least submit fixes for the apps.

Anyway, thanks daperl!
__________________
Happy n900 owner!
Check my apps: n900fly, accdisplay and the "desktop command execution" widget!
 
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,427 | Thanked: 2,986 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#19
Woops, I think the soft link was backwards.

Code:
rm /usr/bin/pygtkeditor
ln -s /opt/pygtkeditor/pygtkeditor.py /usr/bin/pygtkeditor
__________________
N9: Go white or go home
 
Hwoarang's Avatar
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Oct 2010
#20
I have the same problem as well. No matter what theme/firmware to use, the results are always the same

I do noticed that replacing /usr/bin/env python with /usr/bin/python fixes the problem for each application. However you need to make the same change every time you update the specific application

I already opened a bug months ago

https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11242
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:10.