Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#31
It works for me. The command that this shortcut runs is:

/usr/bin/dbus-hildon-desktop set_state 1

Check that this command works - run it in an xterm and see that it opens the desktop. If it works, then you need to find out why ctrl+fn+h does not run this command.

To change active view, the command is (replace 5 with desired view):

gconftool -s /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/views/current -t int 5

Combine the two commands to get to the desktop in a specific view.
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Matan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#32
Hi there a newbie here, i've got hildon modified desktop and have got all 9 screens. how ever i want to be able to set backdrops and manage how many are active etc. from what i've read you package hildon-home can help with this?

i've followed the following, "You need to download the file http://my.arava.co.il/~matan/770/n90...+0m5_armel.deb to your device, and install it by running, as root:

Code:
dpkg -i hildon-home_0.3.66-2+0m5_armel.deb
killall hildon-home"

but i got to mange views and there is only 4 that show, am i doing something wrong ?

thanks

please help
asap.
nick
 
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 26 times | Joined on May 2010
#33
I'm also having trouble with getting the global shortcuts to work. Ctrl-Shift-X, P works fine. But Ctrl-Shift-H or the other predefined key combos do not work.

Tried running keyboard-shortcut from xterm and it gives me this:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/keyboard-shortcut", line 31, in <module>
kn = int(sys.argv[5])
IndexError: list index out of range

I don't know if this helps.

Otherwise, shortcuts within dashboard/launcher are working as advertised. Thanks.

Last edited by eiraku; 2010-07-07 at 07:33.
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#34
Try running (for example)

/usr/bin/keyboard-shortcut 1 2 3 4 200

The program ignores the first four parameters. The last parameter 200 is equvalent to ctrl+shift+h, so this command should go to the home screen.

Maybe you are in ctrl+fn mode, so try ctrl+fn+h, instead of ctrl+shift.

What is the output from:

gconftool-2 -R /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/key-actions
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 26 times | Joined on May 2010
#35
Originally Posted by Matan View Post
Try running (for example)

/usr/bin/keyboard-shortcut 1 2 3 4 200
Does nothing both from user and root xterm (if that makes any difference).

Originally Posted by Matan View Post
What is the output from:

gconftool-2 -R /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/key-actions
dbus_shortcuts_use_fn = true
launcher_navigator_accel = true
preset_shift_ctrl = true
home_contacts_phone = true
dbus_shift_ctrl = true
dbus_launcher_navigator = true
disable_edit = false
ctrl_backspace = true
ctrl_backspace_in_tasknav = 3
dbus_ctrl_shortcuts = false

Hope that helps in pin-pointing the problem. Have also restarted a couple of time to (maybe) clear any temp conflicts, no dice.

Last edited by eiraku; 2010-07-07 at 19:04.
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#36
Originally Posted by eiraku View Post
Does nothing both from user and root xterm (if that makes any difference).
Sorry, that is in my shortcuts, but not in the distributed version. Try
203 instead of 200, which should toggle full screen.



dbus_shortcuts_use_fn = true
This means that global shortcuts are with ctrl+fn, instead of ctrl+shift. If you prefer ctrl+shift, then change it to false. Using ctrl+fn shortcuts is easier to press, but requires some keyboard mapping to set anothe combination to open the special characters virtual keyboard.
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 26 times | Joined on May 2010
#37
Alright, modified the gconftool key, now have all defined shift-ctrl shortcuts working EXCEPT shift-ctrl-h, which for some unknown reason automatically does what shift-ctrl-l is defined for (if shift-ctrl-l does fullscreen, shift-ctrl-h does it to).

This happens even when shift-ctrl-h has been explicitly defined to "os.system("/usr/bin/dbus-hildon-desktop set_state 1")", or any other command for that matter.

Going to home from dashboard via "h" works fine, leads me to believe for some unknown reason, the keyboard shortcut script thinks my "h" key and my "l" key is the same key only when used with "shift+ctrl", somehow.

Also, opening new browser windows with shift-ctrl-n fails as well.

But I'm actually finding that MHD is most useful in the dashboard, where I've set it up to open all the tasks I usually need.

Although I'm struggling with creating a new root x-term window with a key shortcut on dashboard. Tried creating a new dbus service for it, lets see how that goes.

Last edited by eiraku; 2010-07-08 at 06:59.
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#38
There are some predefined ctrl+shidt combinations: 'n' toggles compose mode, so you can't redefine it. Other predefined are 'x', 'p' and 'r'.

The file /usr/bin/keyboard-shortcut has a few commented out lines near the start that logs the parameters each time it calls. You can uncomment them (line 6 with "open", and line 23 with "print"), and then try to debug the problem with 'h' by looking at the log file /tmp/m3.log.
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 26 times | Joined on May 2010
#39
Here's the output from /tmp/m3.log

203
toggle fullscreen
203
toggle fullscreen

The first instance was me pressing shift-ctrl-h and the second one shift-ctrl-l. It's just awfully strange that both combinations are read as the same key, when I could clearly type "h" and "l" everywhere else.

And remapping the command to shft-ctrl-d goes to the desktop fine.

Any ideas? I'm currently on a modded keyboard map (to be able to type | ~ ^, modded the fn-z, fn-c and shift-space respectively. Also, fn-right = esc and fn-left = tab) but have not touched the "h" or "l" keys.

Also, any way I can bind "backspace" to quick close the last viewed (or at least the most recent) window in dashboard?

Thanks again.

Last edited by eiraku; 2010-07-08 at 07:56.
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#40
The N900 has problems with some three keys combinations ctrl+shift+h is apparently one of them. Pressing 'h' while ctrl and shift are held sends both 'h' and 'k' (on english keyboard). You can see this by installing evtest program and running

evtest /dev/input/event1

The only solution I see is not to use this combination.
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Matan For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:34.