Reply
Thread Tools
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,784 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#41
Originally Posted by cure View Post
got a script file like this, works for me:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
rm -f /home/user/.cache/media-art/*.*
rm -f /home/user/.thumbnails/cropped/*.*
rm -rf /home/user/MyDocs/.sounds/*/*/.mediaartlocal
tracker-processes -r
my music albums being pathed like this: /home/user/MyDocs/.sounds/albums/artist - album/

http://www.xs4all.nl/~rzavelli/stuff...rackerreset.sh

to install, save the above file to the Downloads folder, then open xterm:

Code:
sudo gainroot
mv /home/user/MyDocs/Downloads/trackerreset.sh /usr/bin/
chmod 777 /usr/bin/trackerreset.sh
exit
next, run trackerreset.sh in xterm to remove all cached data and reset the tracker.

Code:
trackerreset.sh
of course you can make a desktop icon to this script, make one in /usr/share/applications/hildon/ and point it to trackerreset.sh or /usr/bin/trackerreset.sh

i've noted there is a neat app called "tracker-cfg" to reset the tracker and database using a gui. its also possible to easily set the included and excluded tracked paths with it, without manually having to edit /home/user/.config/tracker/tracker.cfg
After following cure's above instructions and upon successfully installing his script. Unzip the attached archive and put the included umedia.png file in your N900:\usr\share\icons\hicolor\64x64 directory and the included umedia.desktop file in your N900:\usr\share\applications\hildon directory and look for an icon on your N900 like the attached image. Select it and enjoy one touch access to his script.
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: zip trackerreset.zip (5.0 KB, 201 views)
__________________

SLN member # 009
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#42
I followed the information given in this thread but I was still having problems with either no album art or incorrect album art on some albums that were synced with Windows Media Player.

After many attempts the following information describes how I solved the problem.

  1. On the PC delete the album art associated with all tracks on the album(s) you have problems with using for example MediaMonkey.
  2. Find the album art you wish to use using for example "Album Art Downloader".
  3. Open Windows Media Player. The album art will most likely still be visible but paste a second copy of album art on top of the existing art. Using MediaMonkey check that there at least two album art images associated with the tracks of the album(s). (Don't ask me why you need two, but having only one didn't work.)
  4. On the N900 open the Media Player
  5. In the N900 Mediea Player delete all album(s) with incorrect or no album art (which lived on microSD card in my case).
  6. Close the N900 Media Player.
  7. In the N900 X Terminal run :
    tracker-processes --hard-reset
  8. Now connect the N900 to your PC (in my case using USB using "Mass storage mode").
  9. Using the Window Media Player sync the albums to the N900.
  10. Disconnect N900 from PC
  11. Open N900 Media Player and select Music.
  12. Wait for a few minutes and the new albums with the correct album art should appear.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Santa Rosa
#43
I'm betting that this thread contains the answer to my problem but everyone appears to be experienced programmers so the dialog has been greek to me. It looks like your in some sort of dos editor which I have no idea how you get there and then typing in script commands.

My problem started when I changed some album cover tags using tag editors which worked perfectly. New music files were no problem but the ones I had changed to a new cover ended up recovering the original art in media player yet the files are tagged correctly when checked in the tagging editor. I must need to clear what you guys are calling media player cache. Would it be possible for one of you guys to walk me through the process at a level I can understand?

Thanks

Last edited by marathondon; 2010-06-23 at 00:51. Reason: left off a word
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Santa Rosa
#44
It was said that covers are stored in .cache/media-art. How do you access this? I tried opening x-terminal and typing the phrase but that ended with an error. I just want to clear album art that is not visible to me until I open Media Player.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Santa Rosa
#45
My questions have been resolved after spending hours working with x-terminal. The answers were in this thread I just didn't understand how to use them at the time.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#46
Originally Posted by marathondon View Post
My questions have been resolved after spending hours working with x-terminal. The answers were in this thread I just didn't understand how to use them at the time.
Hi,
Can you explain what you did, I have a similar situation, where I have used Mp3tag with an embedded image, but when I transfer to my N900, I get the mp3 file, but with the WRONG albumn art - how did you get the correct albumn art image?

For example I have an Elton John mp3 with the correct image, but when transferred to my N900, the mp3 is ok, but the image is, for example, Bob Dylan!

Regards,
Colin
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#47
Hi,

As Marathondon said in an earlier thread, the answer is there, which I have found, and am happy to share with anyone - what I haven't found out what to do yet, is to create a shortcut to automate!
 
Posts: 24 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2010
#48
Hi..
Can this 'tracker processes -r' thing also reset other tags like genres and artists or does it work only for album arts?
I have some un-delete-able media files on my media player...how can I get rid of them?
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#49
Hi,
I had nearly the same problem, the indexer stopped working, and the new files didn't show even after ran: tracker-processes -r
the out put of tracker-stats gives nothing, and tracker-status gives paused:
~ $ tracker-stats
Statistics:

~ $ tracker-status
Tracker status is 'Paused'


So, the solution was by issue these commands as user:

First stop the tracker:
~ $ /etc/osso-af-init/tracker.sh stop
Stopping Tracker....

and then remove the old index:
~ $ tracker-processes -r

After that you need to force the tracker to index all the files:
~ $ /usr/lib/tracker/trackerd -r

That will force it to re-build the index.

You might need to run the tracker:
~ $ /etc/osso-af-init/tracker.sh start

Now if you issue tracker-status you will see it indexing:
~ $ tracker-status
Tracker status is 'Indexing'

after finishing the indexing reboot your device.
and everything will be OK later.

That procedure works fine with me. Please test it and give us the results

Last edited by jarkas; 2010-08-08 at 08:09.
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to jarkas For This Useful Post:
Posts: 24 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2010
#50
Originally Posted by jarkas View Post
Hi,
I had nearly the same problem, the indexer stopped working, and the new files didn't show even after ran: tracker-processes -r
the out put of tracker-stats gives nothing, and tracker-status gives paused:
~ $ tracker-stats
Statistics:

~ $ tracker-status
Tracker status is 'Paused'


So, the solution was by issue these commands as user:

First stop the tracker:
~ $ /etc/osso-af-init/tracker.sh stop
Stopping Tracker....

and then remove the old index:
~ $ tracker-processes -r

After that you need to force the tracker to index all the files:
~ $ /usr/lib/tracker/trackerd -r

That will force it to re-build the index.

You might need to run the tracker:
~ $ /etc/osso-af-init/tracker.sh start

Now if you issue tracker-status you will see it indexing:
~ $ tracker-status
Tracker status is 'Indexing'

after finishing the indexing reboot your device.
and everything will be OK later.

That procedure works fine with me. Please test it and give us the results
Hi there..
I tried it a couple of times but everytime I tried to start the tracker all I get is this:

/etc/osso-af-init/tracker.sh start
Starting Tracker...Initializing trackerd...
Segmentation fault
failed!

What's wrong?
Thanx...
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:38.