Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Aug 2010
#251
Originally Posted by dana.s View Post
could you paste the code please
This is the code of "OptimizeN900"

#!/bin/sh

echo Your Nokia N900 is being Optimized

#Refresh the Audio Process to avoid audio glitch
killall pulseaudio

#Refresh the Tracker process
killall trackerd
killall tracker-indexer

#Refresh the browser MicroB
killall browser browserd

#Refresh of the most common applications and UIs
killall Calendar
killall osso_calculator
killall camera-ui
killall rtcom-call-ui
killall modest
killall rtcom-messaging-ui
killall image-viewer
killall osso_notes
killall osso-addressbook

#Refresh the all UI Hildon, menus and bars.
killall hildon-desktop
killall hildon-status-menu
killall systemui
#NOTE: Killing the hildon-home process can erase all widgets and that is why it is disabled
#killall hildon-home

#Refresh other processes
killall tonegend
killall mafw-gst-renderer

echo Your Nokia N900 is now Optimized!


--------
Will this script optimize N900?
I don't thinks so.

Process should be managed by operating system.
If you don't like a process
Just don't start it.
Not Kill it,unless it crashed.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peochiu For This Useful Post:
Posts: 219 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on May 2010
#252
Originally Posted by JorgeFX View Post
I think there is a problem with the file you downloaded. The script isn't working, is not doing anything. What version did you use?
the 1st one in the thread.
Optimizen900
 
Posts: 219 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on May 2010
#253
aha..wait up, does the whole phone spazz out for a second and then comes back to life ?
i think ive downloaded another version of optimizen900
it says "now your phone is EXTRA optimized"
ill check it out now..
il wait for a few days n see if it works.
 
Posts: 53 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ UK
#254
Originally Posted by noipv4 View Post
Before running Optimize. The N900 had become sluggish and audio was stuttering.
hi noipv4, i have noticed that you have really large swap. Could i know how did you make this happen and what are the benefits?

Cheers
 
RafaLL92's Avatar
Posts: 116 | Thanked: 77 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#255
Originally Posted by mangal_sk8erboy View Post
hey guys i dont think this script works for me.
this is what it says.
/home/user # sh MyDocs/Optimizen900
: not foundmizen900: line 2:
Your Nokia N900 is being Optimized
: not foundmizen900: line 4:
: no process killed
: not foundmizen900: line 7:
: no process killed
: no process killeddexer
: not foundmizen900: line 11:
killall: cannot kill pid 3998: No such process
: no process killed
: not foundmizen900: line 14:
: no process killed
: no process killedlator
: no process killed
: no process killed-ui
: no process killed
: no process killedaging-ui
: no process killeder
: no process killed
: no process killedssbook
: not foundmizen900: line 25:
: no process killedktop
: no process killedtus-menu
: no process killed
: not foundmizen900: line 32:
: no process killed
: no process killedenderer
: not foundmizen900: line 36:
Your Nokia N900 is now Optimized!
/home/user #
/home/user #

dyu think my n900 is optimized?
does anyone know a fix for this?
Same happens in my case meaning that the script does not seem to work for me...
What could I have done wrong?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#256
Originally Posted by RafaLL92 View Post
Same happens in my case meaning that the script does not seem to work for me...
What could I have done wrong?
As you're getting errors even before the first echo statement, I'd guess that you've saved the file in DOS format, not in UNIX format. You should be able to convert it using either sed/tr (either of the following two lines - the ^M is generated by pressing Ctrl-V followed by Ctrl-M):
Code:
tr -d '\r' < DOS_file > UNIX_file
sed 's/^M//' DOS_file > UNIX_file
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#257
I dont read through the whole threat, but why are you not sending HUP to the processes, instead of killing them and hoping they get restarted 'by it self' (watchdog?).
 
fpp's Avatar
Posts: 2,853 | Thanked: 968 times | Joined on Nov 2005
#258
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
Why are you switching to root & then back to user? You can just run step 3 directly.
One reason could be that dsmetool is not in the path when you run as plain "user" (you need to use /usr/sbin/dsmetool), but is found in the path after "su user" from root.

A third method could be to run "dsmetool --user=user" from root.
__________________
maemo blog
 
Posts: 219 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on May 2010
#259
Originally Posted by yanness View Post
hi noipv4, i have noticed that you have really large swap. Could i know how did you make this happen and what are the benefits?

Cheers
i THINK he used a class 6 memory card and partitioned it as swap memory..
i would also like to know if its useful.
 
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Verona, Italy
#260
But a simple swapoff && swapon, could be give some performance in your opinion?
Regards.
 
Reply

Tags
faster, reflash, refresh, script-a-brick, sell it


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:51.