Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#1
Hi,

This is my first time posting and I've got some sort of general questions. I've gotten octave and gnuplot installed on my 770. I've read that the version of octave for the 770 is limited, but I can't find anything describing what I can and can't do with it. What I'd like to be able to do is create function and script files that I can save and run when I want. From reading the help files, I found out that I need to add the files I create to the search path of the program. The problem is, I don't have the proper permissions to edit the files and folders in the default path and I get an error (error: 'addpath' undefined near...) when I try to add a new folder to the path.

To summarize... Is it possible to run saved scripts and functions in octave on the 770? If so, how do I do it?

Thanks guys

Last edited by oblend; 2007-10-18 at 15:10.
 
sebastian.linux's Avatar
Posts: 91 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Spain
#2
Originally Posted by oblend View Post
The problem is, I don't have the proper permissions to edit the files and folders in the default path and I get an error (error: 'addpath' undefined near...) when I try to add a new folder to the path.
If you need to become root, just follow these steps:
http://maemo.org/community/wiki/HowTo_EASILY_BecomeRoot

To summarize... Is it possible to run saved scripts and functions in octave on the 770? If so, how do I do it?
Have you tried to learn about octave? I mean, maybe you should first read the manual available on the web.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#3
Yes, I have tried using the manual. Thats where I got the "addpath" command from, which didn't work. And the only manual I can find is for the full version of octave meant for running on a computer. I don't know if the 770 version is any different. I'll try becoming root and seeing if that helps though.

Thanks.
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#4
Why not create a dir in Documents and use addpath() to add that?

Once a file is in the path all you need to do it type in the name and press enter and it will be run (all inside Octave of course).


Simon
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#5
As I said in my previous two posts, I have tried using addpath. However, I wonder if I'm using it wrong. What is the correct syntax? Can you give me an example of how to format the path that goes in the parentheses?

Tim
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#6
But you didn't actually show us what you tried to run, nor the full error message it returned...

For the syntax, see this: http://www.gnu.org/software/octave/d...-the-load-path

Post what you tried and the response and we'll help from there,

Simon
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#7
Here's an example of what I've been trying to do...

octave:1>addpath ("home/user/Mydocs")
error: 'addpath' undefined near line 1 column 1

I've tried typing the directory path different ways (the whole path, just the final directory, etc.) They all give me the same "undefined" error.



Also, I've read that page in the manual many times and it just doesn't seem clear to me. When it says "dir1" does it mean just the final directory or the whole path to the directory? I've tried many different things and I always get the error that I showed above.

Thanks again for the help.
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#8
Have you put a space between addpath and the brackets? If so try removing it as Octave may not recognise it otherwise (I use MATLAB most of the time, can't remember if this works or not).

The error indicates that it can't find addpath. This may be because of the space, otherwise have you fiddled with the path already (and removed the standard ones)?

If so you could 'cd' to the directory containing addpath.m and run addpath() from there.

Simon
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:52.