Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Bolivia
#1
Hello! I wonder if anyone knows a way to connect an
wifi network from the console of mobile ... eh tested using
following commands I found on google

ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig wlan0 essid elnombredelaESSID
iwconfig wlan0 key lacontraseņa

The problem arises when I try this:

dhclient wlan0

Which is finally connected to the network.

Anyone have any idea how I can get this??
 
dchky's Avatar
Posts: 549 | Thanked: 299 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Australian in the Philippines
#2
You're pretty much on track.

As root...

ifconfig wlan0 up

To list out access points that can be seen from your N900...

iwlist wlan0 scan

To join an unencrypted network

iwconfig wlan0 essid "name of network"

If the network is encrypted, you need to enter the key in hex - you can use a calculator for that - a randomly googled calculator is here
 
Posts: 701 | Thanked: 585 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ London, England
#3
You've made a mistake with the encryption key. It needs to be
Code:
iwconfig key s:lacontraseņa
for an ASCII password, without the "s:" it interprets the key as HEX. These commands will only work for WEP encryption (which is very insecure btw, and can be cracked in just a few minutes with the right software installed). WPA/WPA2 requires something like wpa_supplicant to handle the encryption. The n900 doesn't have wpa_supplicant installed, but since it connects to WPA/WPA2 networks there must be some other mechanism in play, but I haven't worked out what that is yet.

If you want to connect to an already configured network you can follow the guide here.

EDIT: On second inspection; unless "ESSID" is actually part of the wireless network name (the ESSID) it shouldn't be tacked on the end of the network name.

Last edited by retsaw; 2010-10-07 at 12:13.
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 738 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Low Earth Orbit
#4
If you want to connect to an already defined connection:

http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control and [Announce] Phone Control Script
 
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Bolivia
#5
tanks for the answers... but i can't get connect... there is a missing command that alow me to GET conect with the wifi essid... i use this comands...

ifconfig wlan0 up

iwlist wlan0 scan

iwconfig wlan0 essid "name of network"

but i didn't get connect... cause i need one more command but i don't now which one...
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:03.