Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#31
Originally Posted by JonWW View Post
Try experimenting with 'Simple Brightness Applet' in your do loop to see what value it set the screen brightness to, then if those value appear when you 'cat /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness' substitute you own values to suit you.

Run you script in XTerm to see whats going on first.

Keep us updated.
when using 'Simple Brightness Applet' it sets the brightness to the 5 steps that are now - 2,5,7,10,12 (Very dark ), and to get the "custom brightness" back i have to tab 2 times on keylock (screen off & on) than my custom setting of 160 is active again

again - the 5 low steps are due to disabled ALS else it would be the normal 5 steps that you all use.
 
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#32
Try something like:
Code:
echo 4 >/sys/class/i2c-adapter/i2c-2/2-0063/region
cat /home/user/bright_setting >/sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness
dbus-monitor --system type='signal',interface='com.nokia.mce.signal',member='display_status_in' | while grep -q "display_status_ind"
do
  case `cat /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness` in
    2) echo 50 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness;;
    5) echo 80 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness;;
    7) echo 160 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness;;
    10) echo 205 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness;;
    12) echo 255 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness;;
    *) cat /home/user/bright_setting >/sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness
done
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JonWW For This Useful Post:
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#33
that didn't work... but i see what you are trying to do and i hope we can make it work, then we will have the 5 custom steps
 
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Peterborough, UK
#34
It's a dbus call, therefore I believe you need run-standalone.sh in front of the line where you run the script?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Tigerite For This Useful Post:
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#35
Is there a dbus command that registers brightness change?, the command i use now only reacts when the phone goes from "sleep" to "turn on display".
 
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#36
This could be quite good if you can get it to work.

My thoughs are:
I have a realy good flash based flip clock (HH:MM no seconds) that fills the screen and runs in the browser, now if you can get the case statement to work and if you can find out how to disable the screen blanking after timeout, then in the first 'case "2" in' result could be made to keep screen switched on; set at say brightness 1 so it is just visible at night and to open the browser with the flash clock, that would be sweet.

Name:  Flip clock.png
Views: 785
Size:  9.3 KB

You might have found a new way to use the 'Simple Brightness Applet'

Keep going.
 
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#37
If you have Windows try downloading PuTTY, it will make life alot easier, it's a terminal window into you phone from your PC. In that type
Code:
dbus-monitor --profile --system
to monitor system events.
You will need OpenSSH installed on your phone to connect from your PC.
 
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#38
Originally Posted by Tigerite View Post
It's a dbus call, therefore I believe you need run-standalone.sh in front of the line where you run the script?
Tigerite
Thanks for that, I was having problems of my own with a boot script and a dbus-send command that wasn't working as I wanted, I got around it by opening another terminal window to call the dbus command, realy messy. Now it works as required, thanks.
 
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#39
regarding your clock at night with brightness at 1 or 2, i have my phone hocked up thou a Amp meter right now and if you do this your phone will drain from full charge (1320mAh) in about 12 hours, right now it's using 100ma on average at brightness 2. at 160 it's using 190ma on average.
so if you do this you might want it connected to charger thug the night.
 
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#40
Originally Posted by JonWW View Post
If you have Windows try downloading PuTTY, it will make life alot easier, it's a terminal window into you phone from your PC. In that type
Code:
dbus-monitor --profile --system
to monitor system events.
You will need OpenSSH installed on your phone to connect from your PC.
i'm only in ubuntu.....
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:08.