Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#611
when i use mbarcode it reads codes ok, but no plugin (isbn,..) ever comes up with anything i always only get the copy button .. when i start from the console i get messages about isbn plugin getting stuff,.. but still nothing in mBarcode itself .. any ideas?

maybe this is answered somewhere before in this thread but it'S v long and i just briefly read over it.. if so sorry for asking again ..
 

The Following User Says Thank You to LordVan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 252 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#612
@LordVan: No worries

The reason is most likely some issues with the update to PR1.3. I suggest you reinstall both mbarcode and the plugins package. That should put things back to normal.

Even if you have successfully updated both mbarcode and maemo to the newest version, there seems to be a problem getting the plugins loading. The last report I got was that a reinstall fixed the issue.
__________________
dragly.org
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dragly For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#613
Thanks . apt-get remove <insert everything mbarcode here> and then an apt-get install <..> did the job fine for me. This program rocks

btw i was thinkig it'd be really cool to have a plugin which talks to some sort of personal 'library' thing so i scan a manga and it tells me if i go tthat volume or still need vol XX of manga YY .. and put new ones on a wishlist ^^ or is there something like that already?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to LordVan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#614
I'm working on it, should have some code out in the next couple of weeks
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#615
In fact here's my start at some code (attached).

If anyone fancies doing some hacking on it please help yourselves. The plan is that it runs as a stand-alone Python app and data is passed to it (and it is started if necessary) via a DBus call from mBarcode.

Which leads me onto the second point - this Python plugin is driving me mad! I've decided that it's probably easier for people to write a Python plugin to call QtDbus methods rather than making a rather complex ExternalDBusPlugin plugin for mBarcode (complex because the plugin conf file would need to contain regex expressions to determine what should be done with the barcode contents and how it should be turned into a DBus message - thinking of e.g. converting a geo:// payload to a DBus call to open a lat/lon in the wonderful Ovi Maps)

The Python plugin stuff is curious - despite stdout/stderr not supposed to be redirected, there is no output at the terminal when the plugin is loaded by mBarcode. If, however, in the __init__() method of the Python plugin class I set a redirect for the sys.stderr filehandle, I can write to a file. Very odd, and rather annoying as it then requires the class to at least be initialised before I can see any error output. I need to try setting the redirect in the main Python "workspace" before each plugin script is loaded.

I've been working through this by writing a script which runs at the command line, then trying to work out why it won't run as a plugin - curiously I see no output (which I presume indicates an error before the class is initialised) if I try to import things like PyQt4, which doesn't make me overly optimistic for the use of *Dbus imports.

Any help trying to work out what's going on appreciated as ever.
Attached Files
File Type: zip itemDB.zip (5.5 KB, 88 views)

Last edited by lardman; 2010-11-08 at 20:12.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#616
hmm, seems to just be down to "import PyQt4" causing an error, I wonder if the search path is causing troubles (standard packages such as sys,os etc can be imported as can PythonQt itself).

need to do more digging tomorrow
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#617
hmmkeeps giving me indentation errors here. maybe will check it out in more detail tomorrow.
 
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#618
so .. i went and fixed your indentation errors, missing (), 'pass' (empty blocks) and missing self. where u tried to call class methods without that, else if -> elif , missing \ in some places,..

which python version are you testing on? the 2.5 on my N900 only is able to run the version of the file attached now (it does complain about missing .service file but at least it parses now )

there r still more bugs i was too lazy to fix with khteditor / pygtkeditor on my n900 but they didn'T stop it parsing the file so i left it for now.
Attached Files
File Type: zip itemDB fixed version lardman 2010-11-08.zip (5.3 KB, 195 views)

Last edited by LordVan; 2010-11-09 at 06:32.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to LordVan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#619
I was actually running it with Python2.5 (under Windows XP) on my netbook (as it's easier that way to code and test in front of the TV).

But yeah, I've added some new code recently and not got round to running it so there were no doubt quite a few errors. Thanks for the fixes. I'll stick the code up on SVN which should make it easier for people to add changes.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#620
heh ok, but keep in mind that i just made it parseable there r quite a few bugs left that'll keep it from actually working..
 
Reply

Tags
barcode, camera, mbarcode


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:26.