Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 995 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ California
#111
BTW, it has sense to tune system a little, for faster response -

While running UBIFS root file system you can move configuration directories of gconf2 application back to UBIFS root FS. It greatly accelerates startup of some applications and after that it is virtually impossible to detect which root file system is booted now basing on performance difference - M32GB root FS system has the same (or better performance than native Nokia UBIFS.

To do this - run root shell commands in UBIFS root file system:

Code:
mv /home/var/lib/gconf /var/lib/gconf.home
ln -s /mnt/initfs/var/lib/gconf.home /home/var/lib/gconf
and then reboot back to "/home" root FS with open KBD.

And it saves some wear of your eMMC. I run it already 4 months on constant base and don't see a reason to return back to UBIFS anymore (a lot of applications, full compiler/building stack etc).
 
Posts: 152 | Thanked: 58 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ void
#112
I am going to try egoshin's recipe.
Before doing this I hope egoshin and those who are using this method could tell me if there is anything wrong in my current setup that I have to deal with before going ahead. I will surely read all the posts you would refer to. Thanks for your answers in advance!

The current setup of my N900:
- is running PR1.3
- is running titan's power-kernel v42
- is being overclocked to 1Ghz
- is using SavageD's script from http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=63997
- has installed BackupMenu 0.56-1 and has already made a backup image for the whole sysem
- /home is 27GB, /home/user/MyDocs is 2GB after exchanging the space
- /home/opt mounted as /opt
- has done nothing special on the rootfs and with the installed packages now it has 30MB left
- not having any issues so far

Some more questions:
- Do I have to uninstall BackupMenu first?
- For the issue that the stock apps like camera cannot find the default folder, is the fix just simply changing the location of the app's default folder?
- Will things in MyDoc be untouched using egoshin's scripts?
- After setting up a new swap partition on the micro sd card, what is the use of the 768MB occupied by the default swap partition?

I don't mind crashing and reflashing, which I have done many times since I got my phone 3 weeks ago. A spare phone is in service so it's not a big problem if the N900 is in the "bricked" state.

Thanks!

Last edited by 009N; 2010-11-20 at 09:42. Reason: clarlification
 

The Following User Says Thank You to 009N For This Useful Post:
Posts: 152 | Thanked: 58 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ void
#113
@egoshin
I tried your scripts today on my setup (in last post). First I commented out those lines checking kernel version and md5 checksum in M32Binit.sh and M32GBboot.sh to let the script work with PR1.3.
(Before running the scripts I uninstalled Backupmenu and bootmenu-n900 and had no other bootmenu packages installed.)
M32GBinit.sh runs fine and everything is in place under the new "/home".
One small issue came when I ran M32GBboot.sh. I opened it and found that it mainly has to do with copying /sbin/preinit and bootmenu.sh under /.
So first I changed "PR12" to "PR13" in the script and commented out the md5sum bit.
Then ran the script. At the end of the execution of the script it showed bootmenu.sh not found. But then I checked bootmenu.sh was copied there.
Rebooting I couldn't see boot menu and the original rootfs boot as if no dualboot setting had been installed.
I checked mount and df and found things were the same as before running the scripts.
Finally I copied back the original preinit and moved bootmenu.sh to somewhere else. Everything runs just fine. Nothing seemed to happen...
I attach the messages and my edited scripts here. Could you explain what happened? Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip 009N_scripts.zip (3.0 KB, 111 views)
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 995 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ California
#114
Can you send me copy of /sbin/preinit (original one)?

I seems that v42 power-kernel has something different in it - checksum calculation of /sbin/preinit in M32GBboot.sh is set for a reason. If you are not able to run it without disabling checksum that means a modified /sbin/preinit and anything can happens now. A standard PR1.3 has no change in /sbin/preinit and checksum should pass in standard PR1.3

Note: you are right about product verification in M32GBinit.sh and I will issue a modified scripts for that.
 
Posts: 152 | Thanked: 58 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ void
#115
Here it is. I commented out the md5 part because the checksums are different.

Thanks for your great effort. I believe many/most PR1.3 users are longing for the emancipation.

As a geek device for power (linux) users, it is a joke to see 27GB FAT (supposedly for movies, maps, music) vs. just 256MB of rootfs.
Nokia, what's the point of using such powerful hardware but so mean space?
Attached Files
File Type: zip preinit.zip (3.5 KB, 96 views)
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 995 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ California
#116
OK, try use M32GB scripts from this post - http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...1&postcount=75 without any modification - it does checksum of power kernel /sbin/preinit (restore your power-kernel /sbin/preinit from /sbin/preinit.M32GBPR13-orig manually first).

Additionally, while you boot with open KBD after M32GB scripts - do you see generic Linux console messages before "five dots" while you boot with open KBD? If not (I have no idea what is included in power kernel), try to use a console driver from that post - http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...0&postcount=87 (second half of that post, starting from word "However"). Please use bootmenu.sh in first attempt and copy console driver files at second attempt - but please verify first that power kernel /lib/module/current/ doesn't have that files, if it has then coping of files is useless, don't do it.

I am interesting here in understanding - does power-kernel execute /sbin/preinit properly? If you see a console log then it does and something is in system environment. If you don't see then booting should be debugged first.

BTW, please acknowledge that you don't use R&D mode.
 
Posts: 152 | Thanked: 58 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ void
#117
I tried the v2 script in the first link in you post. I had to comment out the firmware checking as it's still for PR1.2.
M32GBinit.sh ran as before. I let the phone to finish the job and just checked to see if it's done a couple of times.
Then suddenly the phone reboot itself, and ran into sorta infinite loops:
dim nokia screen => five dots flahsed a couple of sec => reboot again
Then I reflashed the stock PR1.3 and the phone boot up again. What's interesting is my desktop and other personal settings are set back to default. Files under /home and /MyDocs and contacts are intact, including the directories copied by the script.
df -h /root showed the rootfs was in the factory state.
I am not sure if it has to do with kernel-power or overclocking (@1GHz constantly). fbcon.so is not there, but i have yet to add it to the modules. Doesn't it matter if the kernel(-power) is newer than the modules (fbcon for stock PR1.2)?
I will try again when things are clearer.

PS I won't use R&D mode. Just want to have enough space to set up a compilation environment.
 
Posts: 5,795 | Thanked: 3,151 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Agoura Hills Calif
#118
I am one of the PR1.3 users waiting for a script that works for us -- but I don't want to repeat 009N's experience. I'm also overclocking.

egoshin: why do you stick with PR1.2? I'm just curious. My experience is that 1.3 is better in general.
__________________
All I want is 40 acres, a mule, and Xterm.
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 995 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ California
#119
Originally Posted by geneven View Post
egoshin: why do you stick with PR1.2? I'm just curious. My experience is that 1.3 is better in general.
I don't stick with PR1.2 - if you read a couple of posts before you can find that I upgrade OTA to PR1.3 both systems. Actually, I don't have PR1.2 anymore and I totally agree with you that PR1.3 is much better - my idle battery time increases at least twice.

Any notes about PR1.2 in script are just historical. I will update names (and product check) to PR1.3 this holidays weekend. I am just debugging a "single user" addition to scripts - the possibility to start a very minimal UBIFS system. The primary goal is - maintenance of eMMC (fsck, changing FS type to jffs etc).
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 995 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ California
#120
Originally Posted by 009N View Post
I tried the v2 script in the first link in you post. I had to comment out the firmware checking as it's still for PR1.2.
M32GBinit.sh ran as before. I let the phone to finish the job and just checked to see if it's done a couple of times.
Then suddenly the phone reboot itself, and ran into sorta infinite loops:
dim nokia screen => five dots flahsed a couple of sec => reboot again
It has nothing with M32GBinit.sh - it never changes a single byte in UBIFS root FS. Overclocking is an obvious suspect. Try to disable it while running M32GBinit.sh.

BTW, during reboot loop - did you have KBD opened?

fbcon.so is not there, but i have yet to add it to the modules. Doesn't it matter if the kernel(-power) is newer than the modules (fbcon for stock PR1.2)?
I don't sure about power-kernel v42, but both N900 stock kernels (PR1.2 and PR1.3) are based on the same 2.6.28-omap1 and I suspect the power-kernel uses the same base. So, modules can be compatible.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:50.