Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#41
Thank u for being patient. About the GUI I already considering this it can be a graphical analyzer of upload, download on per day and per month. Maybe some ping-test. Some warning if the networking is starving bcz of too much bittorrent. But u can read the most values already with the monitor-script. Also I must learn to code with this device. I guess C is preferable or python. Also programming iptable and iproute is not that easy. And last but no least just because something doesn't have a GUI its not automatically userunfriendly and of bad quality.
 
Posts: 73 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#42
Originally Posted by epitaph View Post
And last but no least just because something doesn't have a GUI its not automatically userunfriendly and of bad quality.
I know and did not mean that at all.

For GUI, it is good for dummy like me. But I remembered using one called Memorybooster or something in my old Symbian N95. The app could free up some 0.1 or 0.2 MB of the precious 56MB RAM in the N95, but it always occupied about 3 or 4MB if you run it or not due to the GUI thing. I uninstalled it right after the first try.

Edit:

Originally Posted by epitaph
1. Prerequisite
•Install rootsh from your Program-Manager
•open a terminal, type "sudo gainroot"
•Download myconfig
•type: apt-get install kernel-power kernel-power-flasher
•type: kernel-config load ideal
•type: kernel-config limit 500 900
•type: kernel-config save myconfig
•type: kernel-config default myconfig
•overwrite myconfig with the downloaded myconfig
•type: apt-get install iptable iproute
I installed the Titan kernel (power46) again yesterday, cannot resist the temptation longer

My N900 can only work normally either at LV 250 850 or ULV 250 600 - 750, otherwise it just reboots itself after a few clicks. So I cannot default it to IDEAL 500 900 like you require. Maybe I will default it to ULV 250 750 after several days of testing, it seems to be stable now.

Iptable iproute intalled, works like charm, much better internet surfing, haven't found any side-effect, but cannot test. That is to say I have set my wireless connection to maximum power saving with WLAN transmission power 10mW.

How can I install your other scripts? Is there any easier way for dummy?
And how do I uninstall them in case problems occur?

Last edited by Duy2anh; 2010-12-28 at 02:22.
 
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#43
Originally Posted by Duy2anh View Post
I know and did not mean that at all.

For GUI, it is good for dummy like me. But I remembered using one called Memorybooster or something in my old Symbian N95. The app could free up some 0.1 or 0.2 MB of the precious 56MB RAM in the N95, but it always occupied about 3 or 4MB if you run it or not due to the GUI thing. I uninstalled it right after the first try.

Edit:



I installed the Titan kernel (power46) again yesterday, cannot resist the temptation longer

My N900 can only work normally either at LV 250 850 or ULV 250 600 - 750, otherwise it just reboots itself after a few clicks. So I cannot default it to IDEAL 500 900 like you require. Maybe I will default it to ULV 250 750 after several days of testing, it seems to be stable now.

Iptable iproute intalled, works like charm, much better internet surfing, haven't found any side-effect, but cannot test. That is to say I have set my wireless connection to maximum power saving with WLAN transmission power 10mW.

How can I install your other scripts? Is there any easier way for dummy?
And how do I uninstall them in case problems occur?
Congratulation! I have had just to reflash my device . Sadly there is no uninstall script nor an installer. It just a manual thing at the moment. Try xlv and 500 900. What other scripts?

My tune up script is tune-up-startup which loads tune-up, bad_packets, htb and tc in this order.

Then it complains about some missing program ( syslog ) and complains about some error in iptable and iproute.

That's nothing to worry about too much at this point.

You can then monitor the function of the firewall and the traffic-shapping with the monitor script. Just type sh monitor in your rootshell and try downloading a big file.

The other scripts are pref.js. This script tunes microb network-settings. Just copy that over /home/users/.mozilla/microb/prefs.js.

You can control it by typeing about:config in microb addressbar and type network.http in next addressbar.

Then there is mount-ops. This you can use to overwrite mount-ops in /etc/default/mount-ops. It is adding nodiratime and commit=120 to mount /home/users ( ext3-filesystem ). Originally it is commit=1 which means writebuffer is commited to the disk every second which is too high IMO.

The next script is my.cnf which you can use to replace my.cnf in /etc. It does some mysql tuning but I don't know which program it will affect, perhaps Faster Application Manager. I know mysql tuning because I used to use it a lot as a web-programmer.

The flush script is experimental because Hawaii uses it. He use cron tough, while I just move it to the background ( note the & at the and of the script ) which is maybe wasting of cpu. This script flushes every 3 seconds the writebuffer. IMHO it doesn't work good. I have tested it with transmission but I'm still getting many pdflush in top and it doesn't seem to work, because I'm getting hickups and device is rebooting later.

Correct me if I'm wrong!

Last edited by epitaph; 2010-12-29 at 14:25.
 
m750's Avatar
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 345 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Italy
#44
Hello,
it may be of interest to you, I made a little home-desktop widget that allows you to quickly change the maximum frequency of CPU's clock.
This widget works with the kernel Titan. If it can interest you, take a look here: maxcpu

Ciao.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to m750 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 73 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#45
Originally Posted by epitaph View Post
Congratulation! I have had just to reflash my device . Sadly there is no uninstall script nor an installer. It just a manual thing at the moment. Try xlv and 500 900.
Thanks epitaph.

My tune up script is tune-up-startup which loads tune-up, bad_packets, htb and tc in this order.
The instruction on your "N900-Tune-Up" is l little unclear to me.
When I "mkdir tune-up", the directory is made at /root/tune-up, not at /etc/tune-up directory

So I use Midnight Commander to move the tune-up directory with the required files to /etc. Then I ran:

Code:
sh tune-up-startup
from the /etc/tune-up folder. It returened: can not run the tune-up, bad_packets, htb and tc because the n900-tune-up cannot be found in /etc

So I made a n900-tune-up folder in /etc and moved everything there, and run the code again:

Code:
sh tune-up-startup
It returned this:

Code:
tune-up-startup: line 5: /etc/n900-tune-up/tune-up: Permission denied
tune-up-startup: line 6: /etc/n900-tune-up/bad_packets: Permission denied
tune-up-startup: line 7: /etc/n900-tune-up/htb: Permission denied
tune-up-startup: line 8: /etc/n900-tune-up/tc: Permission denied
What should I do next?
 
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#46
Originally Posted by Duy2anh View Post
Thanks epitaph.



The instruction on your "N900-Tune-Up" is l little unclear to me.
When I "mkdir tune-up", the directory is made at /root/tune-up, not at /etc/tune-up directory

So I use Midnight Commander to move the tune-up directory with the required files to /etc. Then I ran:

Code:
sh tune-up-startup
from the /etc/tune-up folder. It returened: can not run the tune-up, bad_packets, htb and tc because the n900-tune-up cannot be found in /etc

So I made a n900-tune-up folder in /etc and moved everything there, and run the code again:

Code:
sh tune-up-startup
It returned this:

Code:
tune-up-startup: line 5: /etc/n900-tune-up/tune-up: Permission denied
tune-up-startup: line 6: /etc/n900-tune-up/bad_packets: Permission denied
tune-up-startup: line 7: /etc/n900-tune-up/htb: Permission denied
tune-up-startup: line 8: /etc/n900-tune-up/tc: Permission denied
What should I do next?
I'm so sorry for that, bro. Just run chmod -R 777 /etc/n900-tune-up from every as root in x-terminal ( sudo gainroot ).

Strange thing for me its after I reflashed my device I couldn't install
apt-get install iproute only apt-get install iptables...

I had to find the right packages from the maemo-repository and installed it manually: dpkg -i ....

Very annoying!! But it is working again!!!

I have also uploaded my apt repository file if you ever need to reflash your device you can just take mine and overwrite the new one in /etc/apt/..... ( I don't memorize the right path ).

I did a new version of my site. Plz take a look at my signature.

Last edited by epitaph; 2010-12-31 at 07:12.
 
Posts: 73 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#47
Originally Posted by epitaph View Post
Just run chmod -R 777 /etc/n900-tune-up from every as root in x-terminal ( sudo gainroot ).

Strange thing for me its after I reflashed my device I couldn't install
apt-get install iproute only apt-get install iptables...

I had to find the right packages from the maemo-repository and installed it manually: dpkg -i ....

Very annoying!!

But it is working again!!!

I've been wondering the same. After installing the Titan Kernel, thinking that it it was better to reinstall the iproute iptables, I ran apt-get install --reinstall iproute iptables, but it returned a "no such package" message.

I love to play with the Titan Kernel because I hope I can extend the battery life with it, well, again, I got some call quality problem that I cannot blaim any other app.

This time, there is no BlessN900, no fcam driver, so it must be the Titan Kernel power46, I think. (I maybe wrong, because I did have other call quallity problem without the Titan Kernel, where the voice of the called person is like damaged cassette tape on N900that I cannot hear, but then, my voice is clear to the other end)

When making a call over 3G network, I can hear the other end very clearly, but the called person hear my voice very choppy, even not understandable. Call quality is back to normal again right after I remove the Titan Kernel.

Problem is, after removing the enhanced kernel, I read your post and tried this "chmod -R 777 /etc/n900-tune-up." Then I ran the "sh tune-up-startup" and it worked. But it said "no such kernel", which meant to me your scripts were only for the Titan Kernel, not the Nokia Kernel, right?

Other scripts run fine and give me real boost when surfing the net: the iproute iptables, the pref.js for microB.

Don't you have the call quality problem with Titan like mine? This is the fourth time I install and uninstall this kernel, very sad because I like this kernel very much but cannot bear the trade-off.
 
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#48
Originally Posted by Duy2anh View Post
I've been wondering the same. After installing the Titan Kernel, thinking that it it was better to reinstall the iproute iptables, I ran apt-get install --reinstall iproute iptables, but it returned a "no such package" message.

I love to play with the Titan Kernel because I hope I can extend the battery life with it, well, again, I got some call quality problem that I cannot blaim any other app.

This time, there is no BlessN900, no fcam driver, so it must be the Titan Kernel power46, I think. (I maybe wrong, because I did have other call quallity problem without the Titan Kernel, where the voice of the called person is like damaged cassette tape on N900that I cannot hear, but then, my voice is clear to the other end)

When making a call over 3G network, I can hear the other end very clearly, but the called person hear my voice very choppy, even not understandable. Call quality is back to normal again right after I remove the Titan Kernel.

Problem is, after removing the enhanced kernel, I read your post and tried this "chmod -R 777 /etc/n900-tune-up." Then I ran the "sh tune-up-startup" and it worked. But it said "no such kernel", which meant to me your scripts were only for the Titan Kernel, not the Nokia Kernel, right?

Other scripts run fine and give me real boost when surfing the net: the iproute iptables, the pref.js for microB.

Don't you have the call quality problem with Titan like mine? This is the fourth time I install and uninstall this kernel, very sad because I like this kernel very much but cannot bear the trade-off.
That has to be proven!!! I'm using titan kernel 42 here. I don't even know how to install kernel 46 neither where I can get it. I believe it is in extras-devel. Anyway about the call quality I cannot say anything as I didn't make any calls yet. Please note that just installing iptables and iproute modules doesn't change anything in the network stack. It needed to run my script to make any change. Also they are different modules that doesn't depends on each other. To workaround your error message you can uncomment in combinations either tc, htb, or the both of them. I think the other script will do alone. If this doesn't work for you, then can please post the full output of the error message here and also the full output of:
uname -r and lsmod?

Also you can dl the monitor script if your are suspious and verify yourself if the iptables are working. Dl it everywhere you want and start a big download in your browser. Then start monitor by typeing sh monitor in rootshell. You will then see a huge output of the different iptables. For experimental reason I have ordered the iptables ( I guess chain is the right word ) in a binary tree order. Just to remind you of the principle of divide and conquer.
The screen does update itself just sit back and observe. You should see many numbers changing. I don't think you can observe the iproute module.




Thank you for reading!

Last edited by epitaph; 2010-12-31 at 08:54.
 
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#49
Fyi I've just installed power-kernel 46 and it crazy fast with microb! I hope the phone quality is not too bad! I didn't tried it without my script. I hope its my script .

Last edited by epitaph; 2010-12-31 at 23:56.
 
Posts: 73 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#50
Originally Posted by epitaph View Post
Fyi I've just installed power-kernel 46 and it crazy fast with microb! I hope the phone quality is not too bad! I didn't tried it without my script. I hope its my script .
Congrats!
I suspect the Sixasix patch has something to do with my call quality problems because it is the only one with kernel patch now, beside Titan, or maybe the Korean chips in my phone cannot afford power46.

Happy New Year!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Duy2anh For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:51.