Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
strange1712's Avatar
Posts: 185 | Thanked: 111 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Mexico DF, Mexico
#31
Really Nice Game!! Way better than Tiltlaby, and that one costed me 40 MXN! (about 3 USD)...
__________________
Linux Registered User # 492214
http://counter.li.org/
------------------------
N900 registered as Linux Machine # 426325
 
Posts: 317 | Thanked: 787 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Krakow, Poland
#32
Originally Posted by zehjotkah View Post
It is possible to create 800x480 pixel levels with that editor?
My father does have teeter on his HTC Touch HD, so there ARE levels in that resolution..
This Editor supports both VGA and WVGA:
http://rapidshare.com/files/19308943...t_1.4_full.zip


Last edited by dwaradzyn; 2011-01-09 at 19:32.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dwaradzyn For This Useful Post:
zehjotkah's Avatar
Posts: 2,361 | Thanked: 3,746 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Berlin - Love this city!!
#33
Okay, downloaded, installed, copied WVGA level files from my dad's HTC Touch HD to my PC, opened them, works.
How do I convert them to Mokomazes level-format now?
I searched via google, but the only thing google finds regarding this topic is this very thread...
Before I start to create own levels I would like to try the converting with existing ones in the correct resolution.

edit: excluding "teeter" from the search query at google will find a little bit more.
The level files from teeter are only text files with numbers for the objects and coordinates. Just like the ones from Mokomaze afaik.
Maybe they're compatibel? Where are they stored on the N900?

Last edited by zehjotkah; 2011-01-09 at 21:12.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to zehjotkah For This Useful Post:
Posts: 50 | Thanked: 57 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#34
@ zehjotkah:
Code:
/home/opt/mokomaze/data/main.levelpack.json
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to woussie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 53 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#35
Great game, in my opinion better then labyrinth. Thank You.
 
zehjotkah's Avatar
Posts: 2,361 | Thanked: 3,746 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Berlin - Love this city!!
#36
Okay, modified my first level.
In Mokomaze "language" it looks like this:
Code:
 "comment": "level 1",
	
	    "boxes": [
	        { "x1": 150,	"y1": 110,	"x2": 160,	"y2": 639 },
	        { "x1": 320,	"y1": 0,	"x2": 330,	"y2": 529 }
	    ],
	
	    "holes": [
	        { "x": 289, 	"y": 199 },
	        { "x": 191, 	"y": 427 }
	    ],
	
	    "checkpoints": [
	        { "x": 410, 	"y": 65 }
	    ],

	    "init": {
	        "x": 77, 	"y": 567
In Teeter "language" the same level (optimized for 800x480, though) does look like this:
Code:
B 76 566

E 410 65

W 150 110 160 799

W 320 0 330 690

H 288 198

H 190 426
Now I have to write a script which translates the Teeter language into Mokomaze language.
Any help appreciated.

edit:
"init" = B
"checkpoints" = E
"boxes" = W
"holes" = H

x = first number
y = second number

Last edited by zehjotkah; 2011-01-09 at 22:00.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zehjotkah For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#37
I'm not that proficient at the command line, but it looks like a shell script that just picks every value, assigns it to some variable based on position and the preceding text, and then writes it accordingly in the output file, shouldn't be too hard.

If no one who's actually good at this stuff writes it soon, I'll be happy to try, but I suspect the task is more efficiently fulfilled by someone who can actually write that kind of shell script intuitively and without having to look up every other command that needs to be written.
 
zehjotkah's Avatar
Posts: 2,361 | Thanked: 3,746 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Berlin - Love this city!!
#38
I've converted the level and edited the main.levelpack.json file by hand now (also changed the resolution).
Also I've edited the config.json to match the 800x480 pixel resolution.
Unfortunately the right part of the level (the 160 pixel for 640 to 800) won't show up.
Don't know why.

edit: forgot to "Resize desk.png and wall.png located in /opt/mokomaze/data."
stupid me...

edit2: and the result:

Last edited by zehjotkah; 2011-01-09 at 23:06.
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to zehjotkah For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#39
I always find myself amazed by how much better, quicker, and generally more effectively things get done when software is open source and contributions are welcome.

I mean, really, if this game had been closed, not only would we not have had this port, but even if we did, how much time would we have to wait until the available devs decided to provide new levels, or anything else for that matter.

And I personally didn't care much whether the levels fit the entire screen or had those slight black bars in the corners, but I won't deny that it's nice and aesthetically pleasing for that improvement to have been made.

And all it took is one person with the motivation to spend a few hours on it, and a couple more people posting some information the first person needed.
 
Posts: 50 | Thanked: 57 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#40
Originally Posted by dwaradzyn View Post
Yes I have noticed it - when those yellow messages disappear the contents of screen is shifted left.

When a level is finished I wanted to display next level's number and description using yellow notification but due to this bug I could not do that.

This is however an SDL bug, not Mokomaze's one. Mokomaze refreshes only the areas that have changed since last frame. It could refresh the whole screen every frame but that would be quite an overhead and performance penalty and this glitch would be still visible during one frame.

This is a minor issue and I am not planning to correct it.
Actually; this "bug" resolves itself if you set the game resolution to 800*480 - if you do that, the screen content doesn't shift to the left! I just tried that. So if we make all levels in WVGA, maybe you can implement that notification feature that you were talking about ?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to woussie For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:49.