![]() |
2007-11-11
, 15:25
|
Posts: 76 |
Thanked: 5 times |
Joined on Jul 2006
|
#2
|
![]() |
2007-11-11
, 16:40
|
|
Posts: 332 |
Thanked: 76 times |
Joined on Oct 2007
@ St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago
|
#3
|
![]() |
2007-11-11
, 17:32
|
Posts: 3,841 |
Thanked: 1,079 times |
Joined on Nov 2006
|
#4
|
chmod ugo+x somescript
meaning set eXecutable attribute for the file's User,Group and Other (i.e. everyone) users. The other attributes are r=Read and w=Write, which can all be set independently for the User, Group and 'Other'.
![]() |
2007-11-11
, 18:14
|
Posts: 193 |
Thanked: 41 times |
Joined on Jan 2007
@ Paia, Maui, Hawaii
|
#5
|
The Following User Says Thank You to ichmoimeyo For This Useful Post: | ||
![]() |
2007-11-11
, 20:56
|
|
Posts: 31 |
Thanked: 1 time |
Joined on Oct 2007
@ Germany
|
#6
|
One other pitfall if you're used to DOS, the current directory is NOT part of the path searched for executables (for security reasons). So you need to specify a path to run the script even if it's in the current directory.
It can be a relative path, so this will do:
./somescript
![]() |
2007-11-12
, 11:13
|
Posts: 3,841 |
Thanked: 1,079 times |
Joined on Nov 2006
|
#7
|
env | grep PATH
PATH=$HOME/bin:$PATH
![]() |
2007-11-12
, 14:48
|
|
Posts: 31 |
Thanked: 1 time |
Joined on Oct 2007
@ Germany
|
#8
|
![]() |
2007-11-12
, 20:51
|
|
Posts: 574 |
Thanked: 166 times |
Joined on Oct 2007
@ BC, Canada
|
#9
|
![]() |
2007-11-15
, 02:07
|
|
Posts: 574 |
Thanked: 166 times |
Joined on Oct 2007
@ BC, Canada
|
#10
|
I have googled the standart shell commands. ls is the is the counterpart to dir and so on.
Now, in dos i can write batch files, with would have the ending .bat so my pc knows what to do with them.
While searching the web, i read it would be .sh in linux, but it didn't work for me.
What file extension do i need for linux?
To be sure, there are no file links, I tried notesm, leafpad and PyTKEditor for writing the scripts.
Also, on some messed up pc's i have to tell windows, that .bat files are executet in the comandline..
Do i have to make such a conection on my N800 too?
I have installed xterm and i can access root with "sudo gainroot" ..
Haven't done much more until know, because i want to understand what i do, before i messed up.
Thanks for your help,
Eismaus