Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
jedi's Avatar
Posts: 1,411 | Thanked: 1,330 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Tatooine
#11
Originally Posted by 1337INT13H View Post
Hello Jedi. Turned out Flaslight was installed properly. Discovered through the flashlight description that it appears in the status bar when you slide open the lens cover. Reading the instructions in this case really does help. Wonder where the sensor is?

I'm finding out new things all the time. I do have loads of other questions for you. If you aren't comfortable in helping me with these other questions, just tell me then I'll start them in a new thread. But what's the point in wasting server space?

Where does maemo tell you how much Hard Disk space apps are accomodating?

Where does maemo tell you how much RAM is being used by the apps & widgets which are running?

Swappolube is using default proposed settings. I have so many widgets & apps on the desktop running, it runs with slight lag, are there any custom settings to speed things up more?

OFF TOPIC: I found some packages which maemo tells me are damaged & they are currently listed on the faster app manager standard repos. They are Pypianobar & Moobox. I'd like to find a new place to download them where they aren't broken?

I need some help with the X-terminal to write long command line to get apps or do other operations. Also because I have installed the Mplayer which is command line version can't get hold of GUI version. I want to learn linux & I need to start somewhere.

What does ROOTSH mean? I have this installed

What does BASH mean?

What is the default name for the c:\ prompt in linux.

What does Sudo mean?
Wow, so many questions!

You're well on your way to enlightenment by doing what you did to get Flashlight 'working'.

Please don't take this the wrong way, but it's well worth having a look around the Wiki (http://wiki.maemo.org) as you'll find lots of answers there. Also browse this forum (and others of course). One good tip is when you're googling, add "site:talk.maemo.org" to your search to only show results from here.

I'll have a crack at a few of your questions:

"Where does maemo tell you how much Hard Disk space apps are accomodating?"
Settings -> Memory

"Where does maemo tell you how much RAM is being used by the apps & widgets which are running?"
Use conky. Or 'top'. Or 'htop'. Or any of the other standard Linux tools (ps, free, etc)

"Swappolube is using default proposed settings. I have so many widgets & apps on the desktop running, it runs with slight lag, are there any custom settings to speed things up more?"
- I guess you're expecting more. There is always some 'lag' to some extent.

"I found some packages which maemo tells me are damaged"
- Post the log of the output here.

"... I have installed the Mplayer which is command line version can't get hold of GUI version..."
start mplayer like this:
Code:
$ mplayer myfile.avi
"What does ROOTSH mean? I have this installed"
- Enables 'root' access: http://wiki.maemo.org/Root_access

"What does BASH mean"
- It's the "Bourne Again SHell": http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bash_%28Unix_shell%29

"What is the default name for the c:\ prompt in linux."
- '$' for the normal user, '#' for root.

"What does Sudo mean?"
- Execute a command as a different user - commonly the root user: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sudo


Edit:
Maybe you can help me out - please explain your username. Did you choose it for the irony?
__________________
May the source be with you.

Last edited by jedi; 2011-03-30 at 14:25.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jedi For This Useful Post:
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#12
Hey hows my binary, badly formatted. I chose "733T" to mean "elite" of which I am the opposite, yes the irony in it, lool. The "INT13" for Interrupt 13H, something relating to HDD access parameters, routines, lool.

Last edited by 1337INT13H; 2011-03-30 at 14:49.
 
Switch_'s Avatar
Posts: 601 | Thanked: 549 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Redditch, UK
#13
Originally Posted by jedi View Post
"Swappolube is using default proposed settings. I have so many widgets & apps on the desktop running, it runs with slight lag, are there any custom settings to speed things up more?"
- I guess you're expecting more. There is always some 'lag' to some extent.
(Swappiness - 30) x (Overclock using kernel-power) = zero lag

Open Terminal and type the following;

Code:
root
apt-get install kernel-power
kernel-config limits 250 850
kernel-config load ideal
kernel-config save profile overclocked1
kernel-config default profile overclocked1
exit
exit
Should remove one helluva lot of lag for you. Read up on Overclocking at the wiki as suggested by jedi.
__________________
---<|| Alt + F4 for GOD MODE ||>---
---<|| Deviant Art Linky Linky ||>---
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Switch_ For This Useful Post:
Switch_'s Avatar
Posts: 601 | Thanked: 549 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Redditch, UK
#14
Originally Posted by 1337INT13H View Post
So the equiv of C:\ then is root or rootfs:? And BASH is command line interpreter, so is X-term a BASH command interpreter? lol
Equivalent of C:\ is not root or rootfs. root is the command in X Terminal to get low-level to the operating filesystem, in Windows C:\Windows\system32 directory, to put a parallel on it for you.

root allows access same as "Show these files and Folders" command in Windows explorer UI.

Xterm is the shell. Xterm is the CLI. Xterm is all you need - now all you gotta do is learn Xterm. Wiki is your friend amigo!
__________________
---<|| Alt + F4 for GOD MODE ||>---
---<|| Deviant Art Linky Linky ||>---
 
jedi's Avatar
Posts: 1,411 | Thanked: 1,330 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Tatooine
#15
Originally Posted by 1337INT13H View Post
Hi. I don't know whether your messing with me on the name. I'm guessings it's something to do with changing my name is binary to sound like a noobie rather than elitist. Or am I wrong & you just put me out of my misery while you have your fun! lol

So the equiv of C:\ then is root or rootfs:? And BASH is command line interpreter, so is X-term a BASH command interpreter? lol
Your username would suggest that your some kind of 'elite' hacker, and INT13H is the BIOS inturrupt call for disk access. Seeing as in your original post you were wondering what to do with the zip file, it seems that your username doesn't really suit you! It really isn't a problem, we're just easily amused with the irony here

The 'equivalent' of 'C:\' would be '/'. But please, please, please do some more reading, thinking, googleing, pondering, trying etc.
__________________
May the source be with you.
 
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#16
Originally Posted by 1337INT13H View Post
Hey hows my binary, badly formatted. I chose "733T" to mean "elite" of which I am the opposite, yes the irony in it, lool. The "INT13" for Interrupt 13H, something relating to HDD access parameters, routines, lool.
As explained, hehe
 
Captwheeto's Avatar
Posts: 302 | Thanked: 193 times | Joined on Oct 2008 @ England
#17
int 80h is much cooler
 
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#18
Yey. You knew. Course you did. It wasn't really amusing either to me to be honest. Like I knew you'd pick up on the irony, & it's no biggy really!
 
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#19
I'm going to enjoy learning linux. Got my Portable supercomputer. It's going to be great getting a VPN PPTP connection to my home PC. I had a rubbish free tril VNC on which to get access to our network from home to work. They never did pick up on it. Course we had a hidden UT share aswell! hehe

EDIT: Why Hamachi of course!

Last edited by 1337INT13H; 2011-03-30 at 15:01.
 
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#20
Ok. Somewhere near the linux kernel? 80h?

How to pronounce "$" as in "dollar", no? "#" as in "hash"?

Last edited by 1337INT13H; 2011-03-30 at 15:08. Reason: Pronunciation
 

The Following User Says Thank You to 1337INT13H For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
facepalm, hax0r 413r7


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16.