Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#91
go1dfish: the current version of Easy Debian has a correct LXDE icon in the menu...
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#92
@Qole: you have a bug with easy-deb-chroot (0.9.35-1fremantle1)

When installing this, dpkg complains about an error in the post-installation - basically your /var/lib/dpkg/info/easy-deb-chroot.postinst script has an error.\

The fix: edit /var/lib/dpkg/info/easy-deb-chroot.postinst and comment out the "else" conditional line

Code:
CHROOT=/.debian
TSTFILE=/usr/bin/hilda
if [ ! -d "$CHROOT" ] ; then
    mkdir /.debian
else
#    if [ -f "$CHROOT$TSTFILE" ] || [ ! "x`/sbin/debian echo hello | grep hello`" = "x" ] ; then
#       closechroot
#       export YESCHROOT='yes'
#    fi
fi
 

The Following User Says Thank You to techdork For This Useful Post:
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#93
everytime I try to extract the image my n900 tells me after 10m that it has run out of memory and then hangs. Any ideas?
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ The Netherlands
#94
Originally Posted by Ph0b View Post
My microSD card is really slow, so I've installed easy-debian on a new partition of the internal drive.
Ph0b: I'm a Linux newbie. I've created a partition as you instructed and extracted the new rootfs onto it. How to procede further? How to use the new debian install? How to install and use apps? Do I still have to install the easy-chroot package on my N900?

BTW: You missed a step in your instructions.You first have to create the "/debian" folder in order to mount it.

EDIT1: I've found it. First installed "easy-chroot" using the app manager to get the useful scripts. Then ran the example command given on the page: http://qole.blogspot.com/2009/03/eas...for-maemo.html. This starts oowriter (however terribly slow).

@Ph0b:
Note1: like stated elsewhere its better to name your chroot dir like "/.debian" (starting with a dot) to prevent the maemo tracker-indexer going crazy (it snoops >80% cpu resources constantly).

@Qole:
Note2: after the closechroot script has been executed there are still 2 mounts which remain:

1. none on /.debian/dev/pts type devpts (0)
2. /dev/mmcblk0p1 on /.debian/home/user/MyDocs type vfat (0)

@Qole:
Note3: After having installed the easy-chroot (from the app manager) I could not manage to find the userchroot script. Shouldn't this script also be packaged with the easy-chroot package?

Last edited by murat; 2009-12-23 at 16:59.
 
Posts: 248 | Thanked: 66 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Birmingham
#95
First off I'm quite new to Linux can someone please make sure i am doing things right!

Just enabled devel, installed easy-deb-chroot (hope I was meant to install that one and not easy-chroot - or does it not matter, because they both disappeared from the app lists once deb was installed?? )

Anyway the 1.8Mb ish easy-deb-chroot downloaded and then went on to install, however, it came up with the yellow bar saying "unable to install". So I thought ok, disabled devel to come on here and ask to see what was going on, but before I did that I checked the menu and there were five or six extra "apps" so I clicked on Install deb one and away it went.

Downloading easy debian image file to Mydocs now (1hrs 25mins on the clock).

I hope this is right, any advice much appreciated.

If someone can confirm these steps I will put together an "idiots" guide (with screenshots - for the none-linux people out there) for the wiki, just want to make sure I am doing it properly first

EDIT: Just finished downloading and it came up with an error message after testing the file: "file seems to be bad"

Then gave the option to download or keep the bad file so I'm downloading again......

Last edited by davedickson; 2009-12-23 at 14:27.
 
Posts: 248 | Thanked: 66 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Birmingham
#96
In addtion to my post above:

I have managed to download and extract the image file (got the congrats message)

What do I do next ? I clicked the icon "Debian chroot" from the main menu (is that all we have to do or am I missing a step?) and the following error came up:

Mount failure!

/home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v2.img.ext2 failed to mount on loop0

mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /.debian failed: No such file or directory


The same error came up when I clicked on Debian LXDE as well.

Is this a major problem or am I just being a n00b lol

Is there a way to fix this either with Xterminal or any other way??? I think I know what the problem (I guess its something to do with post #92) but have no idea how to fix it!

Thanks in advance
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#97
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Bah! The N900's bzip2 doesn't work with a file of this size! It fails with "File too big"!

We will have to use the kludgy command:
Code:
cat debian-m5-v2.img.ext2.bz2 | bunzip > debian-m5-v2.img.ext2
If you can live with the (lack of) speed...

Originally Posted by man bzip2
-s --small
Reduce memory usage, for compression, decompression and testing. Files are decompressed and tested using a modified algorithm which only requires 2.5 bytes per block byte. This means any file can be decompressed in 2300k of memory, albeit at about half the normal speed.
EDIT: Oh, you mean FILE size, duh, must get coffee...
__________________
Blogging about mobile linux - The Penguin Moves!
Maintainer of PyQt (see introduction and docs), AppWatch, QuickBrownFox, etc
 
Posts: 3,428 | Thanked: 2,856 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#98
Originally Posted by davedickson View Post
Is there a way to fix this either with Xterminal or any other way??? I think I know what the problem (I guess its something to do with post #92) but have no idea how to fix it!

Thanks in advance

Try running this in a terminal:

sudo gainroot
ls -al /.debian
If you get a no such file or directory then run

mkdir /.debian
And try the launchers again. I think this may be related to the post-inst script problem as it appears that is responsible for making that directory.
__________________
If I've helped you or you use any of my packages feel free to help me out.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maintaining:
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fatalsaint For This Useful Post:
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#99
Originally Posted by davedickson View Post
Mount failure!

/home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v2.img.ext2 failed to mount on loop0

mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /.debian failed: No such file or directory
didn't "no such file or directory" give you any hints?
you need to "mkdir /.debian" as root to create a mount point (see murat's post).
__________________
"What we perceive is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning."
-- Werner Karl Heisenberg
 
Posts: 248 | Thanked: 66 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Birmingham
#100
Originally Posted by fatalsaint View Post
Try running this in a terminal:

If you get a no such file or directory then run

And try the launchers again. I think this may be related to the post-inst script problem as it appears that is responsible for making that directory.
Worked perfectly, thanks! There was no folder, so mkdir /.debian, tried the icons again and everything works.

Thanks a lot
 
Reply

Tags
beta, debian, easy debian, extras-devel, fremantle, i <3 qole, squeeze


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:54.