Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 307 | Thanked: 1,460 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Switzerland
#91
Originally Posted by johnsnipe View Post
mm well but for some reasons when i try to enable it give an error on the @ and on the . , it say invalid character and don't know why , and when i do mc-tool list i see 2 accounts, i try to remove one but i can't because i get the same error :/
Ah, it would be complaining about the @ if you're typing that in the enable command. After you've registered the account using 'mc-tool add', you have to refer to it by it's uid from then on, so you should be doing:

Code:
mc-tool enable butterfly/msn/myemail_40hotmail_2ecom0
Is that it?
 
Posts: 49 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#92
Originally Posted by billranton View Post
Ah, it would be complaining about the @ if you're typing that in the enable command. After you've registered the account using 'mc-tool add', you have to refer to it by it's uid from then on, so you should be doing:

Code:
mc-tool enable butterfly/msn/myemail_40hotmail_2ecom0
Is that it?
Got it! many thanks, my mistake was that i miss to add the butterfly/msn/, its not mentioned on the first post.. so this can be a good suggestion jeje, use the name as mc-tool list give and don't forget to add butterfly/msn/ before the mail , many thanks!
 
Posts: 49 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#93
i can see the accout now but now it show Network error .. u_u its is normal?
 
Posts: 307 | Thanked: 1,460 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Switzerland
#94
Originally Posted by johnsnipe View Post
i can see the accout now but now it show Network error .. u_u its is normal?
From my experience, 'Network error' just means it's not working.

Things to try:

1. Run 'python test.py' in the papyon source directory, where you ran setup.py. That should ask you for some info (leave the webcam thing blank) then go off and log in. If that works then you have a problem with telepathy so continue with 2. If it doesn't, then you may have a network problem, missing dependency, wrong password or msn might even be down.

2. Rarely, telepathy-butterfly hangs. Go 'all offline' then at a terminal type:

Code:
ps | grep butterfly
if you see a telepathy-butterfly there, type:

Code:
killall telepathy-butterfly
Add '-9' after killall if it won't die

3. Have a look at the output of 'mc-tool show <uid>' where uid is the relevant account id from 'mc-tool list'. If you don't have '(string) password', or '(string) account' at the bottom then you need to set them with 'mc-tool update' or remove the account and add it again.
I had problems with this when I was trying to integrate with the accountsui for the other thread. Never had this problem with telepathy alone.
 
Posts: 49 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#95
Originally Posted by billranton View Post
From my experience, 'Network error' just means it's not working.

Things to try:

1. Run 'python test.py' in the papyon source directory, where you ran setup.py. That should ask you for some info (leave the webcam thing blank) then go off and log in. If that works then you have a problem with telepathy so continue with 2. If it doesn't, then you may have a network problem, missing dependency, wrong password or msn might even be down.

2. Rarely, telepathy-butterfly hangs. Go 'all offline' then at a terminal type:

Code:
ps | grep butterfly
if you see a telepathy-butterfly there, type:

Code:
killall telepathy-butterfly
Add '-9' after killall if it won't die

3. Have a look at the output of 'mc-tool show <uid>' where uid is the relevant account id from 'mc-tool list'. If you don't have '(string) password', or '(string) account' at the bottom then you need to set them with 'mc-tool update' or remove the account and add it again.
I had problems with this when I was trying to integrate with the accountsui for the other thread. Never had this problem with telepathy alone.
i can't do the python test.. it say that directory doesn't exists (as i see at the end in the first post the directory is removed..), i made step 2 and nothing.. and in step 3 everything is fine
 
Posts: 307 | Thanked: 1,460 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Switzerland
#96
Originally Posted by johnsnipe View Post
i can't do the python test.. it say that directory doesn't exists (as i see at the end in the first post the directory is removed..), i made step 2 and nothing.. and in step 3 everything is fine
It probably won't break anything if you fetch papyon again. You might even have the tar.gz on your MyDocs still. Have you still got two accounts set up, or did you remove one of them?
 
Posts: 586 | Thanked: 471 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Finland
#97
hmm.. this is odd
/home/user/MyDocs/msn # mkdir /home/user/msn
mkdir: can't create directory '/home/user/msn': Permission denied

but i can make dir with file manager... but then it stop to the next step

Last edited by Makeclick; 2011-12-01 at 17:53.
 
Posts: 307 | Thanked: 1,460 times | Joined on May 2011 @ Switzerland
#98
All of you having trouble building, hold your horses. I found some proper packages for this stuff. I'll write it up later on.
 
Posts: 49 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#99
Originally Posted by billranton View Post
It probably won't break anything if you fetch papyon again. You might even have the tar.gz on your MyDocs still. Have you still got two accounts set up, or did you remove one of them?
i removed 1 account, i will try to fetch papyon again
 
Posts: 435 | Thanked: 197 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#100
Originally Posted by billranton View Post
Well that depends...

If Microsoft makes a 'windows live messenger' app as a self-contained thing, then I wouldn't be interested in it at all. One of the great features of maemo is the contacts/IM framework: every account merges into the global contacts, and the messages are all held together with the text messages.

If they made a proper plugin, then maybe. It wouldn't be that different than what we're doing here, and I'd definitely switch to it because it would be supported. But would MS make a telepathy plugin for the MSN protocol?? :roflollocopter:

I'm waiting for Felipe to port msn-pecan over though. That would pretty much solve the problem.
Actually my bad, wrong choice of words. I didn't mean a GUI, but more of all those little msn plugins that came into the N900 a while after its release. I think they were 3 of them? Pecan being one of them. I would also hate a GUI-like MSN application and LOVED the integration part of the OS/UI. But that's what I meant. Now to add MSN support on the N900, all one has to do is download and install a simple package from the reps and it will appear on the UI of the Accounts page. That's pretty much all i want...lol, a UI on the Account page where I can easily enter and change my information at will. I'd rather avoid the terminal if not urgently needed...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to IsaacDFP For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
messenger, pidgin


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:23.