Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#101
Originally Posted by b666m View Post
and...
YEAH BABY!!!

got it replaced automatically... even before the video is loaded ^^ *hrhr*

instructions:

1. download the zip-file and place file "rvid" in ~/MyDocs/ranvid/ (for example)
2. open xterm
3. type "sudo gainroot"
4. type "cp MyDocs/ranvid/rvid /etc/event.d/"
5. type "chmod 777 /etc/event.d/rvid"

if you haven't done it yet:
8. type "mkdir /etc/hildon-welcome.d/dconfs"
9. place your default.conf files there BUT rename them in 1.conf, 2.conf, 3.conf and so on.

so the contents should be:
/etc/hildon-welcome.d/default.conf
and
/etc/hildon-welcome.d/dconfs/1.conf
/etc/hildon-welcome.d/dconfs/2.conf
/etc/hildon-welcome.d/dconfs/3.conf
... and so on.

ehm yeah... have fun

edit: forgot to mention... this one is the code which will always replace the current bootvideo with any other bootvideo out of the x.conf files (:
Thanks !!
Something strange...
I use the winSCP. I put the rvid file to the /etc/event.d and reboot the phone 4 times !
It's work, but it's change only between 2 videos from 4 I have
Why ?

Last edited by Schturman; 2010-02-20 at 19:11.
 
Posts: 527 | Thanked: 121 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#102
Better start from scratch as the rvid has been re-written
 
Posts: 527 | Thanked: 121 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#103
Well, I am checking as well and indeed from the 7 videos I have, only the ones that are called 1.conf and 2.conf are shuffled!
Others won't do it....

I guess I was overexicited to see something diff. than those hands all the time..


Checked 15 times....

Only loops 1 and 2.conf files...
 
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#104
I get this :-)
Now it's play 3 videos from 4....
I check the dconfs folder and I found the file named 1.lock. I deleted this file and reboot again 4 times. Now it's play 3 videos from 4....
I check again the dconfs folder and I found the file named 4.lock...
I think, maybe I have put some simple video5 + 5.conf + 5.lock. Maybe this option lock the video number 5 and it's play only 4 videos
I'll try it's now...
 
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#105
Does not work ...
It's lock file created automatically, all time I reboot the phone...
I see again only 2 videos
 
Posts: 527 | Thanked: 121 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#106
Must be a script issue...

Let's hope out German friend comes online soon...
 
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#107
Yep.... If random video not work, maybe it's better change the script to loopble for play 1,2,3,4.... and again 1,2,3,4...
 
b666m's Avatar
Posts: 1,090 | Thanked: 476 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Ingolstadt, Germany
#108
hey guys

don't worry... the *.lock files are my way to check which default.conf is used at the moment... because i don't want to replace the file with the same file and _maybe_ get the same bootvideo over and over again.

i have tested my shellscript with 5 x.conf files.
you can see the output in the image i attached.
my script is doing what it is supposed to do.
maybe there is an issue with generating random numbers out of /dev/urandom on startup?!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki//dev/random

edit:
GOD DAMN IT!
my random number generating line only produces two different numbers. that's because /dev/urandom is based on drivers' noise and (that would be my explanation) gets flushed at power on. so the noise the drivers are producing is always the same at the same time. -.-

i need to find another way to get a random number :/
($RANDOM didn't work for me...)
Attached Images
 

Last edited by b666m; 2010-02-21 at 05:00.
 
b666m's Avatar
Posts: 1,090 | Thanked: 476 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Ingolstadt, Germany
#109
any suggestions for generating a REAL random number on startup?

i tried to launch the script on shutdown with "start on shutdown" but this doesn't work.
edit: "start on runlevel 0" doesn't work too.
would be nice if there would be any chance of running the a script in event.d on shutdown.
especially if it depends on a good entropy pool like generating a random number out of /dev/urandom. ^^

if anyone is interested in why my script doesn't work properly on startup... take a look here:
http://linux.about.com/library/cmd/blcmdl4_urandom.htm

Last edited by b666m; 2010-02-21 at 05:31.
 
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#110
Maybe we need write numbers of our videos here:

Code:
 # get random number
      rn=$(dd if=/dev/urandom count=1 2> /dev/null | cksum | cut -f1 -d" ")
to something:


Code:
 # get random number
      rn=$(dd if=/dev/urandom count=1 7> /dev/null | cksum | cut -f1 -d" ")
7 - this is a number of videos your have ?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45.