Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#111
do you have any idea on how to solve the wlan issue?

Replace all old udev files in OS2007 root directory with OS2008 udev files and wlan works.

Udev files:
/etc/udev
/lib/udev
/lib/firmware
/sbin/udevd
/usr/bin/udevinfo
/usr/sbin/udevmonitor
 
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#112
do you have any idea on how to solve the wlan issue?

Replace udev files and replace /usr/sbin/wlancond
And copy new files:
/usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3
/usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3.2.0
/lib/libiw.so.29
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#113
Originally Posted by Graham Cobb View Post
I have been bitten by the N810 device names changing with/without the removable card present but I think I have found a solution. I have put the following code at the top of my bootmenu.conf:

Code:
# Set up card names by model                                                                                                         
# Assume 770                                                                                                                         
INT_CARD=""                                                                                                                          
EXT_CARD="mmcblk0"                                                                                                                   
...
This has only been tested on my N810 but it works there. Would someone with an N800 like to test it as well?

Maybe Frantisek could consider adding the device name logic to the standard bootmenu.sh and we could all just use the device name variables in our bootmenu.conf?
Hi,

here is version that I'd like to put to boomenu.sh
Code:
INT_CARD=""
EXT_CARD=""
case `grep product /proc/component_version` in
*SU-18)
        [ -d /sys/block/mmcblk0 ] && EXT_CARD="mmcblk0"
        ;;
*RX-*)
        for i in mmcblk0 mmcblk1 ; do
        if [ -d /sys/block/$i ] ; then
        case `cat /sys/block/$i/device/../slot_name` in
                internal) INT_CARD=$i ;;
                external) EXT_CARD=$i ;;
        esac
        fi
        done
        ;;
esac
Anyone wants to put it to beginning of their bootmenu.conf instead of Graham's code and report how it works? Seems to work here with N810 and 770 at least. Should work with N800 too.
__________________
Newbies click here before posting. Thanks.

If you really need to PM me with troubleshooting question please consider posting it to the forum instead. It is OK to PM me a link to such post then. Thank you.
 
tolou's Avatar
Posts: 87 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Mar 2006
#114
Originally Posted by pisti View Post
do you have any idea on how to solve the wlan issue?

Replace udev files and replace /usr/sbin/wlancond
And copy new files:
/usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3
/usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.3.2.0
/lib/libiw.so.29
Was that a question or a suggestion? Are you on to something?
__________________
Naboo
__________________
 
Posts: 157 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#115
I am unable to boot to the internal flash on my n810 even after using the modifications I've read in this thread (quoted below). When I try to boot to it it says "boot to mmcint2 failed. booting from flash..." or similar.

Here is what I have in my bootmenu.conf file (changes from the n800 example conf file anyway):

Originally Posted by fanoush View Post
Code:
INT_CARD=""
EXT_CARD=""
case `grep product /proc/component_version` in
*SU-18)
        [ -d /sys/block/mmcblk0 ] && EXT_CARD="mmcblk0"
        ;;
*RX-*)
        for i in mmcblk0 mmcblk1 ; do
        if [ -d /sys/block/$i ] ; then
        case `cat /sys/block/$i/device/../slot_name` in
                internal) INT_CARD=$i ;;
                external) EXT_CARD=$i ;;
        esac
        fi
        done
        ;;
esac
Followed by:
Originally Posted by Graham Cobb View Post
Code:
MENU_2_NAME="Boot internal MMC card, partiton 2, ext2"                                                                               
MENU_2_ID="mmcint2"                                                                                                                  
MENU_2_DEVICE=${INT_CARD}p2                                                                                                          
MENU_2_MODULES="mbcache ext2"                                                                                                        
MENU_2_FSTYPE="ext2"                                                                                                                 
MENU_2_FSOPTIONS="noatime"                                                                                                           
                                                                                                                                     
MENU_3_NAME="Boot removable MMC card, partiton 2, ext2"                                                                              
[ -z "$EXT_CARD" ] && MENU_3_NAME="No removable card -- do not select this"                                                          
MENU_3_ID="mmcext2"                                                                                                                  
MENU_3_DEVICE=${EXT_CARD}p2                                                                                                          
MENU_3_MODULES="mbcache ext2"                                                                                                        
MENU_3_FSTYPE="ext2"                                                                                                                 
MENU_3_FSOPTIONS="noatime"
Is there something I am doing wrong?
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#116
Hi, just to let you know that there is newer initfs_flasher.tgz with workaround for inconsistent mmc device names (N8x0 only).

Additional changes:
- there are now boot items for both internal and external cards in default bootmenu.sh so no custom bootmenu.conf needed (unless you want to)
- if partition does not exist, item name "x" is renamed to "(x) N/A"
- the 'booting from ..." message contains also mmc device name and filesystem (for better troubleshooting)

Thanks to Graham Cobb for initial idea.

EDIT:
two default items are named 'mmc2' for external card and 'immc2' fro internal card, I kept mmc2 name for compatibility with 770 and various guides on the net. If you are booting from internal card with N8x0 you may need to update default choice (as root)
Code:
chroot /mnt/initfs cal-tool -R ask:immc2
or remove the "ask:" part if you want to boot straight from it without seeing menu
__________________
Newbies click here before posting. Thanks.

If you really need to PM me with troubleshooting question please consider posting it to the forum instead. It is OK to PM me a link to such post then. Thank you.

Last edited by fanoush; 2008-03-05 at 08:40.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fanoush For This Useful Post:
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Cambridge, UK
#117
hi, thanks much for these tools; just cloned my OS2008 to external 8GB, working perfectly

Two comments:

o in the default n8x0 bootmenu.conf, the external SD card defaults to ext3. Was that intentional? It caught me out as I was using Milhouse's clone script which defaults to ext2. Changing it in bootmenu.conf worked fine, of course

o timeout: changing MENU_TIMEOUT in bootmenu.conf (and reflashing) seems to have no effect, for me. Whatever it's set to (e.g 15, 20, 30), I only get about 1/2sec to hold down MENU before it boots the default flash. Is it just me?

thanks again...
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#118
Originally Posted by cdmackay View Post
o in the default n8x0 bootmenu.conf, the external SD card defaults to ext3. Was that intentional? It caught me out as I was using Milhouse's clone script which defaults to ext2. Changing it in bootmenu.conf worked fine, of course
Yes, that's just example how to do it. You are supposed to edit the file, not just rename blindly to bootmenu.conf. Also you don't need bootmenu.conf file at all, default menu has ext2 for both cards. Still, I could change the example to leave 2nd partitions as ext2.
Originally Posted by cdmackay View Post
o timeout: changing MENU_TIMEOUT in bootmenu.conf (and reflashing) seems to have no effect, for me. Whatever it's set to (e.g 15, 20, 30), I only get about 1/2sec to hold down MENU before it boots the default flash.
Timeout is used later for the menu itself (when you set default choice via cal-tool -R ask:youridofchoice), not for triggering it via menu key. If you have troubles hitting it, use cal-tool and set root device to 'ask'.
__________________
Newbies click here before posting. Thanks.

If you really need to PM me with troubleshooting question please consider posting it to the forum instead. It is OK to PM me a link to such post then. Thank you.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fanoush For This Useful Post:
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Cambridge, UK
#119
Thanks very much indeed, Fanoush,

Originally Posted by fanoush View Post
Yes, that's just example how to do it. You are supposed to edit the file, not just rename blindly to bootmenu.conf.
heh; well I wasn't quite blind; I *did* edit the file, but I failed (stupidly) to spot the ext3 in that line whilst I was in there.

Timeout is used later for the menu itself (when you set default choice via cal-tool -R ask:youridofchoice), not for triggering it via menu key.
Ah! that makes sense now, thanks.

If you have troubles hitting it, use cal-tool and set root device to 'ask'.
that does require red-pill mode, yes? I've avoided having to do that at all, so far, so hadn't tried it. The menu key timeout is ok, I just have to be ready for it.

thanks again for a great tool.
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#120
Originally Posted by cdmackay View Post
that does require red-pill mode, yes?
no need to take any pills, you just need root privileges (= run 'sudo gainroot') to run cal-tool as mentioned above, you already needed root for installing bootmenu so there should be no problem
__________________
Newbies click here before posting. Thanks.

If you really need to PM me with troubleshooting question please consider posting it to the forum instead. It is OK to PM me a link to such post then. Thank you.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43.