Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 40 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Seatle, WA
#111
I used these settings for sometime and I donot find that significant difference. Infact my comp (N900) hung up so bad with some application being installed with fam.

I changed the nr_requets to 64 (half of default) and vfs_cache_pressure to 20. Now it is better compared to the settings suggested in 1st post.
 
Posts: 3,074 | Thanked: 12,960 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#112
Originally Posted by kpoman View Post
Freemangordon, what setting do you suggest for being able to install and update the deb image ? I had lot of reboots while updating and lot of corruptions and starte verytime from zero which makes me sick !
Help
These are my settings, try them if you dare

Code:
        echo 30 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
        echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/page-cluster
        echo 512 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/nr_requests
        echo 512 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/nr_requests
        echo 0 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/slice_idle
        echo 0 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/slice_idle
        echo 32 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/quantum
        echo 32 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/quantum
        echo 80 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_sync
        echo 80 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_sync
        echo 180 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_async
        echo 180 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_async
did not benchmark anything, but phone is responsive while doing

/home/user/MyDocs# lzma -d ubuntu-m5-v1.2.img.ext2.lzma

swap is on EMMC, my sdcard is only class 2, but even with such slow card phone feels better with swap on it.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 40 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Seatle, WA
#113
Originally Posted by mehulrajput View Post
I used these settings for sometime and I donot find that significant difference. Infact my comp (N900) hung up so bad with some application being installed with fam.

I changed the nr_requets to 64 (half of default) and vfs_cache_pressure to 20. Now it is better compared to the settings suggested in 1st post.
even with nr_requests at 64 my comp was not responding when io was happening.

I increased the nr_requests to 256 and swapiness to 50 and it is now working much better. even when some app is being installed. i do just normal stuff like browing installing apps and some chat. seems these settings are for those who are doing high io all the time.
 
Saturn's Avatar
Posts: 1,648 | Thanked: 2,122 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ UNKLE's Never Never Land
#114
Hi again,

as promised uploaded a new version of Swappolube editor app in devel (1.1-1) with support for these new options.

Note that:
- the swappolube proposed values remain the same.
- the mmc1 options are disabled if there is no mmc1 installed.
Attached Images
 
 

The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Saturn For This Useful Post:
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#115
Originally Posted by Saturn View Post
Hi again,<br />
<br />
as promised uploaded a new version of Swappolube editor app in devel (1.1-1) with support for these new options.<br />
<br />
Note that: <br />
- the swappolube proposed values remain the same.<br />
- the mmc1 options are disabled if there is no mmc1 installed.
<br />
<br />

Code:
 $ /opt/swappolube/swappolube.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/opt/swappolube/swappolube.py", line 767, in <module>
    myapp = MyMainWindow()
  File "/opt/swappolube/swappolube.py", line 169, in __init__
    self.ui = Ui_swappolube()
NameError: global name 'Ui_swappolube' is not defined
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 

The Following User Says Thank You to debernardis For This Useful Post:
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#116
Originally Posted by freemangordon View Post
These are my settings, try them if you dare

Code:
        echo 30 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
        echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/page-cluster
        echo 512 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/nr_requests
        echo 512 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/nr_requests
        echo 0 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/slice_idle
        echo 0 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/slice_idle
        echo 32 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/quantum
        echo 32 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/quantum
        echo 80 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_sync
        echo 80 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_sync
        echo 180 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_async
        echo 180 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/iosched/fifo_expire_async
did not benchmark anything, but phone is responsive while doing

/home/user/MyDocs# lzma -d ubuntu-m5-v1.2.img.ext2.lzma

swap is on EMMC, my sdcard is only class 2, but even with such slow card phone feels better with swap on it.
Thank you for sharing this. I've add it to my tune-up tools but I didn't noticed any (big) difference. My device is already fast as hell and got a good throughput! Do you know the original values? Anyway swapiness of 30 didn't work for me because cuteTube stop working.
 
Saturn's Avatar
Posts: 1,648 | Thanked: 2,122 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ UNKLE's Never Never Land
#117
Originally Posted by debernardis View Post
<br />
<br />

Code:
 $ /opt/swappolube/swappolube.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/opt/swappolube/swappolube.py", line 767, in <module>
    myapp = MyMainWindow()
  File "/opt/swappolube/swappolube.py", line 169, in __init__
    self.ui = Ui_swappolube()
NameError: global name 'Ui_swappolube' is not defined
Thanks,

An update will be uploaded in 5 min or so..

PS: if cannot wait the line 169 in swappolube.py needs to be changed to
Code:
    self.ui = Ui_Swappolube()
 
Posts: 3,074 | Thanked: 12,960 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#118
Originally Posted by epitaph View Post
Thank you for sharing this. I've add it to my tune-up tools but I didn't noticed any (big) difference. My device is already fast as hell and got a good throughput! Do you know the original values? Anyway swapiness of 30 didn't work for me because cuteTube stop working.
Did I mention that those are the ONLY tunnings I use(and some in transitions.ini)? And it makes huge difference compared to stock?

BTW if your device is very fast before applying above settings, it is reasonable that you won't see any difference. But just for experiment you can try and open as much applications as you can to see if it feels different
 

The Following User Says Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Banned | Posts: 358 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#119
Originally Posted by freemangordon View Post
Did I mention that those are the ONLY tunnings I use(and some in transitions.ini)? And it makes huge difference compared to stock?

BTW if your device is very fast before applying above settings, it is reasonable that you won't see any difference. But just for experiment you can try and open as much applications as you can to see if it feels different
Yeah, you did mentioned it! I've understood but I use a lot more of tweakings but not the graphic tweaking like transitions etc. pp. still my device feels a bit faster with your settings. Thanks again! I use 640 for readahead. I wish I could change the scheduler to noop because I have noop [ cfs ] and it seems to me the file is write-protected.
 
Alfred's Avatar
Posts: 855 | Thanked: 612 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Germany
#120
Hello everybody! Thanks for another great changable stuff. I'm noob right here, so could You provide me with the number for these new fields, which would make my beast faster? i don't really copy a lot of files, so just for the system and stuff...
Thanks in advance
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:52.