Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 43 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#121
Originally Posted by murphy View Post
Is it possible to use irreco with a IR led connected to the audio jack ?
It seems possible with any audio player, why not the n8x0 :
http://features.engadget.com/2004/07...emote-control/
Maybe if one would use commandline backend and some commandline audio player.

harriva
 
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Vienna
#122
Originally Posted by ludwig.xiv View Post
SENDING UDP Packages

Hi,
first thank you for this great piece of Software.

I have a Light Controller for Home Automation. This is controlled by HTML commands or UDP Commandes.

HTML does not work because of the command's syntax "http://192.168.1.130/r?text=1&s=9&t=1". When I open the link via Irreco's Command Line Interface the Maemo Browser deletes the "&" and the command does not work.

Can Irreco send UDP Codes instead? I would appreciate if someone adds that feature.

Regards

Ludwig
Theres a workaround which I use for triggering http actions from irreco.

Install curl if you haven't yet.
Create a new file in /usr/bin/ called something like control.sh or whatever fits your bill.
Make it executeable by chmod +X control.sh
Put something like this in it:

Code:
#! /bin/sh

curl "http://192.168.1.130/r?text=1&s=9&t=1"
That's it, then just add a new commandline interface and add a call for control.sh

Note: you can also use $1 in the url of the shellscript which will then be replaced by the first parameter you pass to control.sh (same goes for $2 for the second etc..)

For example, curl "http://192.168.1.130/r?text=1&s=9&t=$1" would result in curl "http://192.168.1.130/r?text=1&s=9&t=ON" if you execute the file like this:

control.sh ON
 
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Germany
#123
I also own some devices that have web interfaces for control. Now I first tried browser calls too. But that turned out to be real slow especially if the browser was not started yet.
But now I am using wget. This command can use the same http syntax.

If there is an & in the command I need to quote this too. Otherwise the linux command line will use it as the background command.

wget -q 'http:/ip/admin.cgi/some_command?test=1&b=2' &

runs wget in background without any output. The Irreco test feature is great to see if it worked - remove -q during test.
 
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 43 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#124
There's also a new browser backend for Irreco in extras-devel.

It uses built in browser and wget.

I'm not sure how the wget functionality works, so go figure.



Irreco 0.7.0 should reach extras repository in about two hours from now.
More of that later.


harriva


Update on 03:37 PM

Seems that bughunting delays release to tomorrow.

Last edited by harriva; 2009-01-22 at 13:38. Reason: Update
 
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on May 2007
#125
Originally Posted by harriva View Post
There's also a new browser backend for Irreco in extras-devel.

It uses built in browser and wget.

I'm not sure how the wget functionality works, so go figure.
Yeah, i wrote the new browser backend just before Christmas. In the new backend you can choose whether to open URL in the browser or using wget.

It will run wget with command like this:

Code:
wget --non-verbose --output-document /dev/null -- URL_HERE
It checks the return codes and throws errors accordingly.

I was hoping that the new Irreco release would come a bit sooner, so i did not bother to release browser backend it on its own. But well, it seemed to take longer than i thought.

I think that the reason command-line backend does not work properly with some URL's is because some letters like & have special meanings on Unix shell command line, and this breaks the links when the shell executes the commands.

Web browser backend on the other hand spawns wget or browser directly, so the links should not get mangled.
 
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Vienna
#126
Sadly I haven't had time to look into the sourcecode yet.
However I think irreco is still lacking 2 very important features:

- Ability to use lircs SEND_START on pressing a button and SEND_STOP on releasing a button (Like somebody else said before, volume control is otherwise very very tedious).

- When the display turns off, and I press on the display to activate it again, I sometimes accidentally hit one of the irreco buttons thus triggering for example my TV or whatever.
I think there are applications which workaround this problem.

Otherwise great job on the app, I use it all the time
 
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 43 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#127
Irreco is currently in pre 0.7.0 state and the bug found out last Friday has been corrected, yet somewhy irreco crashes every now and then.
We are still hunting bugs and time is running out. Tomorrow we won't work, so maybe we'll party (release) Wednesday.


Originally Posted by Ghostface View Post
Sadly I haven't had time to look into the sourcecode yet.
However I think irreco is still lacking 2 very important features:

- Ability to use lircs SEND_START on pressing a button and SEND_STOP on releasing a button (Like somebody else said before, volume control is otherwise very very tedious).

- When the display turns off, and I press on the display to activate it again, I sometimes accidentally hit one of the irreco buttons thus triggering for example my TV or whatever.
I think there are applications which workaround this problem.

Otherwise great job on the app, I use it all the time
We are on the verge of starting our thesis work and these nice-to-have features are last in a long list of things we are planning.

I'll ask our boss about giving some time for things community keeps asking about.
So keep whining, we are listening.

harriva
 
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 43 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#128
Irreco development team has just released 0.7.0 version.
It should hit the repos at any moment now.

There's a new theme editor for easy theme creation from pictures stored on device.
(New/Edit button is hidden in theme manager)

Also full remote upload/download to/from server is now supported.
Remote includes buttons, themes and commands.

Although only irtrans backend supports sending commands.



harriva
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#129
Is it possible to use the command line backend to run command line commands in Windows? I don't see much documentation on the command line backend. I currently have a windows HTPC in my equipment rack, and I can use the Microsoft MCE USB IR transciever to send IR commands to my equipment using Windows command line commands. So if I could send those commands from IRRECO I'd be in business!!
 
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Vienna
#130
Basically command line backend means when you press the button it executes a command as if you would have entered it at the shell on the n810.

So it refers to the command line on your n810, which means that in your case you would need some sort of client on the n810 who sends commands to your windows machine.

I neither use nor like windows but the very least you can do is use a workaround by installing a small webserver with php on your HTPC, run a php script there which takes some arguments and then executes the commandline client to send the IR commands.
That's basically what I do for everything I want to control and that hasn't a web or client/server interface.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45.