The Following User Says Thank You to gidzzz For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-03-05
, 15:25
|
Posts: 3,074 |
Thanked: 12,960 times |
Joined on Mar 2010
@ Sofia,Bulgaria
|
#1582
|
I can't see anything wrong with language switching on my device. I did a few tests in the music window:
[*]Search bar hidden -> Ctrl+Space opens Now Playing.
...[*]Search bar visible, but not focused -> Ctrl+Space does nothing.
Am I misunderstanding something? Or where could the difference be coming from?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-03-05
, 17:24
|
|
Posts: 282 |
Thanked: 2,387 times |
Joined on Sep 2011
|
#1583
|
Open Contacts for example, input language can be switched *before* you've typed anything. And that is more logical than OMP's behaviour, where you have to type something, switch the language, then clear what you've typed, then type again.
Not to say that a system-wide shortcut should not be overtaken by an application unless really needed. I don't see why OMP needs exactly ctrl-space for opening the "Now Playing" window. That one could be shift-space, shift-enter or ctrl-enter as well(or some other combo), without breaking language switching capability.
The difference comes from the fact that OMP explicitly defines ctrl-space as application shortcut (see the link I posted in my previous post)
The Following User Says Thank You to gidzzz For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-03-05
, 20:56
|
Posts: 3,074 |
Thanked: 12,960 times |
Joined on Mar 2010
@ Sofia,Bulgaria
|
#1584
|
Now I see what you mean, but I wouldn't call it "overtaking" or "breaking something", as Contacts seems to be an exception here. Even Calendar, where pressing a letter key opens "New event" window with that letter typed, does not allow to change the input language unless an input field has the focus, let alone applications such as MicroB, the PDF viewer, or the stock media player.
I think the difference comes from the fact that an application itself has to implement that behavior.
connect(new QShortcut(QKeySequence(Qt::CTRL + Qt::Key_Space), this), SIGNAL(activated()), this, SLOT(openWindow()));
A shortcut is "listened for" by Qt's event loop when the shortcut's parent widget is receiving events.
For example, Ctrl+Space does nothing in Hamster Filer or cuteTube.
That said, it is not just a matter of changing the shortcut, but also adding a new shortcut (although that should be pretty painless, as most windows share a custom common base class).
{Ctrl,Shift}+Enter are used for menus. I prefer most shortcuts with Ctrl rather than Shift, so I'd rather have Ctrl+P than Shift+Space. If there are no hard objections or better ideas, I think I can change all instances of Ctrl+Space to Ctrl+P (see http://wiki.maemo.org/Open_Media_Player#Controls for the list of affected contexts)
and assign Ctrl+Space to toggle input language in most windows, of course provided I can find out how to do that (it doesn't look like it's as simple as calling something over D-Bus, any hints?).
But doesn't that sound like a job for Qt, not individual applications?
The Following User Says Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-03-05
, 22:38
|
|
Posts: 282 |
Thanked: 2,387 times |
Joined on Sep 2011
|
#1585
|
The Following User Says Thank You to gidzzz For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-03-06
, 12:04
|
Posts: 1,163 |
Thanked: 1,873 times |
Joined on Feb 2011
@ The Netherlands
|
#1586
|
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mr_pingu For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-03-07
, 00:02
|
Posts: 3,074 |
Thanked: 12,960 times |
Joined on Mar 2010
@ Sofia,Bulgaria
|
#1587
|
You should try with default mediaplayer, it only starts and stops playing: The ctrl button is fully ignored as normal space does the same!
|
2014-03-07
, 07:53
|
Posts: 1,163 |
Thanked: 1,873 times |
Joined on Feb 2011
@ The Netherlands
|
#1588
|
The Following User Says Thank You to mr_pingu For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-03-07
, 08:02
|
Posts: 3,074 |
Thanked: 12,960 times |
Joined on Mar 2010
@ Sofia,Bulgaria
|
#1589
|
...But, it's a non-existing real requirement as even the default player has not that behaviour and if you look at Gidzzz list, there are even more default application that dont follow that rule.
|
2014-03-07
, 08:38
|
Posts: 1,163 |
Thanked: 1,873 times |
Joined on Feb 2011
@ The Netherlands
|
#1590
|
Tags |
libplayback, mag 4 prez, media, open source, player, portrait mode, re-write, remake, reverse |
|
- Search bar hidden -> Ctrl+Space opens Now Playing.
- Search bar focused -> Ctrl+Space causes a notification saying "Input language switched to XXX" to appear.
- Search bar visible, but not focused -> Ctrl+Space does nothing.
Am I misunderstanding something? Or where could the difference be coming from? I have not been messing with Qt libs.My Thumb mini-repository: http://gidzzz.mooo.com/maemo/.