Poll: Delet the values from the speedpatch?
Poll Options
Delet the values from the speedpatch?

Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,523 | Thanked: 1,997 times | Joined on Jul 2011 @ not your mom's FOSS basement
#1591
Right, currently it's not really necessary to create a separate dependencies script, maybe later if you depend on more packages/ tools. But as 'apt-get install dbus-scripts' should return with an exit code different than '0' (is it actually different?) if the package exists, it's a bit unnecessary to run it. This guy there had the same approach: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=75193
 
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 49 times | Joined on Jul 2011
#1592
excuse me gurus
just a question
can some body translate this to me line by line


Code: Select all
SVN="subversion"
rpm -q $SVN >/dev/null 2>&1
# 'rpm' exits with a 0 if the package is in the system
if [ "$?" -ne "0" ]; then
yum -y install $SVN
fi

I tried in Mint with

Code: Select all
if [ "subversion" != "0" ]; then
echo "No suitable SVN package installed. Grabbing one now . . ."; sleep 1
apt-get install -y subversion >/dev/null && echo "Got one."
else
echo -e "Dependencies met. Continuing on . . .\n"; sleep 1
fi
 
Posts: 22 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#1593
Sorry...quite late in the game but I'm unable to install dbus-scripts using apt-get? Any idea Gurus?
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2011
#1594
Hi.

First I would like to say thank you to Karam for your awesome work. I had everything done except for 2 things: kernel-power 47 settings and the battery saving settings. The problem I have is the last line of instructions: "/home/user/install-battery.sh" I get an error message stating permission denied. I just need help with the last line. Whoever can help, I would greatly appreciate it.

I have the dbus thing installed.

Just to summarize what I typed:

(1) sudo gainroot

(2) cp /usr/share/kernel-power-settings/ideal /usr/share/kernel-power-settings/ideal.ORIG

then i get "Usage: cp [OPTION]... SOURCE DEST

(3) cp install-battery.sh.txt /home/user/install-battery.sh

then i get "Usage: cp [OPTION]... SOURCE DEST

(4) chmod +rwx /home/user/install-battery.sh

then i get "Usage: chmod [-R] MODE[,MODE]...FILE...

(5) /home/user/install-battery.sh

then I get "/bin/sh: /home/user/install-battery.sh: Permission denied"

Just a FYI, before I was getting error message stating file not found after I pressed enter after the last line of instruction so just redownloaded the files via Opera in my N900 and now I get the above error message.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2011
#1595
Originally Posted by n900_novice View Post
Sorry...quite late in the game but I'm unable to install dbus-scripts using apt-get? Any idea Gurus?
I had same problem too. So I used faster application manager to get that. then I did the sudo gainroot, apt-get...etc and then got message that I already had it. If you got time, try it out. I am also a late entry. I just did all these tweaks today. Quite fun!!!!
 
Posts: 22 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2011
#1596
Originally Posted by Jester View Post
I had same problem too. So I used faster application manager to get that. then I did the sudo gainroot, apt-get...etc and then got message that I already had it. If you got time, try it out. I am also a late entry. I just did all these tweaks today. Quite fun!!!!
Jester,

Thanks. Already installed it through fapman...Good to see tht u did all the tweaks. Gearing my n900 for it as well.
 
Posts: 856 | Thanked: 1,681 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Aleppo ,Syria
#1597
@Jester
your problem seems to be missing files
it started from
------------------------------------
Download betterypatch.tar.gz from attachments or from HERE

Download install-battery.sh.txt from attachments or from HERE

Paste Both Files in MyDocs
------------------------------------

you kow what MyDocs Means?
if you have used speedpatch you should know how to deal with this

MyDocs: is the root directory of the fat32 partition on N900
english: it is the directory that you see when you plug N900 to the computer with a usb
no sub directories

when you download the 2 files (tar.gz and .txt) you and paste them in MyDocs
you shouldn't have any troubles
and BTW you may wanna wait a bit cause the next update (which will not be very soon ) i'm planning to do a lot of changes with the battery tweak
but i will not change anything in speedpatch

@n900_novice
your problem was with the repositories
if you use fam (faster application manager) not ham (hildon-application-manager)
FAM applies repositories for it's own
HAM will not read the database of them even apt-get

but if you have applied the repos with HAM
apt-get install dbus-scritps should work
 

The Following User Says Thank You to karam For This Useful Post:
coredumb's Avatar
Posts: 92 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Nov 2008 @ Indonesia
#1598
Originally Posted by Mohammad View Post
excuse me gurus
just a question
can some body translate this to me line by line


Code: Select all
SVN="subversion"
rpm -q $SVN >/dev/null 2>&1
# 'rpm' exits with a 0 if the package is in the system
if [ "$?" -ne "0" ]; then
yum -y install $SVN
fi

I tried in Mint with

Code: Select all
if [ "subversion" != "0" ]; then
echo "No suitable SVN package installed. Grabbing one now . . ."; sleep 1
apt-get install -y subversion >/dev/null && echo "Got one."
else
echo -e "Dependencies met. Continuing on . . .\n"; sleep 1
fi
i think when you use apt (or dpkg), the script should be like below:
Code:
SVN="subversion"
dpkg -L $SVN > /dev/null 2>&1
# 'dpkg' exits with a 0 if the package is in the system
if [ "$?" -ne "0" ]; then
   apt-get install -y $SVN
fi
dpkg performs the same function as rpm, and apt-get performs the same function as yum
 

The Following User Says Thank You to coredumb For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,523 | Thanked: 1,997 times | Joined on Jul 2011 @ not your mom's FOSS basement
#1599
Originally Posted by karam View Post
@n900_novice
your problem was with the repositories
if you use fam (faster application manager) not ham (hildon-application-manager)
FAM applies repositories for it's own
HAM will not read the database of them even apt-get

but if you have applied the repos with HAM
apt-get install dbus-scritps should work
Right, different sources list.
HAM / apt uses: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hildon-application-manager.list
FAM uses: /opt/fapman-cache/sources.list
 

The Following User Says Thank You to don_falcone For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#1600
Originally Posted by karam View Post
@peterleinchen
no no you got me wrong
i meant that when the brightness is on
the vfs_cache changes to 100 (default)
so when you receive a call the vfs_cache changes to 100

Allrighty!

So You mean?
#:vfs100
/opt/scripts/cpu_normal.sh * * com.nokia.mce.signal display_status_ind on
Nice and easy, should work. Already did it and will see ...

--edit
Oops, it will set to 100, but after call finished, it will not reset to 10 back, so we need also?
#:vfs10
/opt/scripts/cpu_sleep.sh * * com.nokia.mce.signal display_status_ind off
But this will also set vfs to 10 too early (proximity sensor disabling the display).
???


And one more, only using the display on is also not perfect, as I often check time (display on), but do not use the device.

Last edited by peterleinchen; 2011-08-03 at 00:19.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
autobrick, awesome-script, do no install, f***epitaph, install it now, perfect_ n900, script-a-brick, very safe


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40.