Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#11
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to tz1 For This Useful Post:
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#12
Wow, thanks!

Hope it works on diablo...
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#13
http://www.zdez.org/flashcam-1.1-nok.tgz has a build directory with the files and a brief readme. Still highly experimental, but for those who want to change my quick and ugly hack into something decent I thought I would post it. Also go to the flashcam page http://www.swift-tools.net/Flashcam/ for setup and other info.
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#14
Update: http://www.zdez.org/fcnok-1.1a.tgz has just the flashcam and flashcam.c files. Setting the right resolution prevents the 4x magnification (so it looks normal in the small window), plus some optimization and ignoring EIO, which works well. (the 640x480 original will be reduced to 160x120 but have a much slower frame rate).

Note: I had to load things as root - I don't think I have all the permissions right, but I need to use/work the install script to change the perms right
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#15
One other note - it appears the video loopback module doesn't block the write, so the flashcam program runs continuously. It uses about 9% of CPU when it does. The red light is on continuously and it would be nice if it was only on demand.

Also it appears not to need the LD_PRELOAD and .so - but /dev/video0 will appear so you need to make sure you select the Video loopback and not the undefined device.

Last edited by tz1; 2008-05-11 at 14:51. Reason: update for no preload
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#16
Ah, it seems external sites might want to open the "first" webcam.

This is fixed (I haven't tried a reboot!) without the preload by swapping /dev/video0 and /dev/video1 (mv video0 video3; mv video1 video0; mv video3 video1). Flashcam then proxies video1 to video2, but it seems to work when it didn't before.

(update - the camera and videocam applications don't work with the devices reversed - I suppose a script or something could do it when flashcam starts up).

http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/326194 has a quick add webcam to game tutorial which worked.

Also http://www.red5chat.com worked - I tried the demo, and the cam was visible on another computer (It didn't go both ways, but it was NAT so both the pad and the computer had the same IP).

Last edited by tz1; 2008-05-11 at 17:06. Reason: swap dev side-effects
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on May 2008
#17
Nice job Tom.

If you think your modifications are ok, can you provide me with latest one so I can merge the code into Flashcam?
Full credits to you of course for this port.

-Olivier (Swift)
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#18
One other bit of subterfuge that also works is to hexedit (or even sed) /usr/lib/browser/libflashplayer.so and change /dev/video to /dev/v4lv1, then copy (and set permissions) from "/dev/video1" or whatever the loopback output is to "/dev/v4lv10". No LD_PRELOAD needed.

Camera and videocam work (when the flashcam app is NOT running and using the camera).

Note you need to have flashcam running before launching the page for flash to find the device. One of those status bar process runners works well (to start or killall flashcam).

Last edited by tz1; 2008-05-12 at 16:17. Reason: execution order
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#19
I'm not sure how stable this is, but I did get the loopback device to block. The problem seems to be that this flag is easily set, but not always reset when the read endpoint opens or closes.

Code:
diff -Bburw  /home/tz/sbnok/t/flashcam-1.1/vloopback-1.1.2/vloopback.c vloopback.c--- /home/tz/sbnok/t/flashcam-1.1/vloopback-1.1.2/vloopback.c   2008-03-27 04:30:34.000000000 -0500
+++ vloopback.c 2008-05-12 14:11:47.000000000 -0500
@@ -156,7 +156,7 @@
 #if LINUX_VERSION_CODE >= KERNEL_VERSION(2,6,18)
 #include <media/v4l2-common.h>
 #endif
-
+#define CONFIG_VIDEO_V4L1_COMPAT 1
 #include <linux/videodev.h>
 #include <linux/vmalloc.h>
 #include <linux/wait.h>
@@ -349,6 +349,7 @@
        } else {
                if (loops[nr]->ropen || loops[nr]->wopen) 
                        return -EBUSY;
+               loops[nr]->pendingread=0;
                loops[nr]->framesdumped=0;
                loops[nr]->frameswrite=0;
                loops[nr]->wopen=1;
@@ -390,6 +391,7 @@
                        wake_up(&loops[nr]->wait);
                }
 
+               loops[nr]->pendingread=0;
                loops[nr]->width=0;
                loops[nr]->height=0;
                loops[nr]->palette=0;
@@ -406,6 +408,7 @@
                if (waitqueue_active(&loops[nr]->wait)) {
                        loops[nr]->pendingread = 1;
                        wake_up(&loops[nr]->wait);
+                       loops[nr]->pendingread = 0;
                }
                loops[nr]->ropen=0;
                if (loops[nr]->zerocopy && loops[nr]->buffer) {
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#20
I have one more thing going now that I can get write to block.

I'm doing the write in a separate thread with a semaphore, so that while it blocks I won't open or start video. When it goes through, I open the capture device and ship frames until the write blocks again.

I have a few race conditions to clean up, but aside from that it seems to work, so it could be run out of init as fcamd and would just sit there until flash came up and started pulling video (with the above hexedition).

When I get it working I hope to form a .deb file (and contribute this mini version back to the project - but it is stripped as Nokia tablets only have one kind of hardware, so much probing and setting was cut out).
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11.