Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,751 | Thanked: 844 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sweden
#11
Could ALS be faked? So it will tell a faked light environment... thus making the steps lighter
__________________
You like what i do? Donate!

Make your desktop look awesome - use the AwOken Theme with the AwOken Icon Theme.

Add me on twitter @almehdin
Visit the swedish maemo/meego community forums
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#12
W00000p - i detailed a bit about the backscreen on my healthcheck page here -
http://www.greg-roberts.com/index.ph..._id=7&Itemid=1

But the basic commands to get the backscreen light and therefore find out more about it are:

x-Terminal commands -
Actual Brightness level - cat /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness
Max Brightness level - cat /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/max_brightness

Take a look at what is actually in the /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm folder. i assume it is possible to write to these and monitor, therefore changing the brightness?
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#13
again.
since i disabled ALS, the normal values are all under 15 in value out of the 255 steps, so very dark....
As i all so posted first is that i have a script running that does:

tell brightness to be 160, wait 1 second, tell it to be 160 again and keep looping

does have some funny effects like:
when i activate key-lock from "sleep state" depending on where it is in the 1 second loop, it than starts up with brightness 12 (step 5) and within 1 second it goes to 160.

when the phone goes to black (30 sec timeout) it fades for max 1 sec, but the loop is still telling it to go to 160, and it goes to 160, then about 2 sec later (out of 3 sec "fade out") it goes to black

so for anyone wondering if it's will be lit all the time because of the script, it doesn't...
 
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#14
actual code from script ( i'm not the best programmer.... so if you have some good changes please post )

----------------------------------------------------------------
#!/bin/sh
i=5
while [ i$ -lt 10 ]
do
echo 160 >/sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness
sleep 1
done
------------------------------------------------------------------
so if you want to try it.
as for /etc/mce/mce.ini just remove the 'filter-brightness-als' from 'Modules=', of course rember to backup original 'mce.ini'.

Just a warning: edit of 'mce.ini' and reboot, will make your screen very dark since brightness step 5 (max setting) will have a value of 12 instead of orig value of 255.
 
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#15
bump.... anybody got any ideas yet.....
 
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#16
Been trying different things, and can report that you cannot change/alter max_brightness witch would be a nice function to have.
That would make it possible to set max_brightness to 160 witch would make step 5 value 160, but would not disable ALS....
But no matter what i try it will not permit changing the value in max_brightness

The solution will still be to be able to alter the 5 brightness steps somewhere in the system.
 
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Peterborough, UK
#17
Maybe you could try writing to /sys/devices/platform/omap2_mcspi.1/spi1.2/backlight\:acx565akm/brightness as this sticks until display is dimmed or turned off?
 
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#18
Originally Posted by Tigerite View Post
Maybe you could try writing to /sys/devices/platform/omap2_mcspi.1/spi1.2/backlight\:acx565akm/brightness as this sticks until display is dimmed or turned off?
thats what my script is doing, it's just doing it every second to keep display up at 160 brightness

note:
"/sys/devices/platform/omap2_mcspi.1/spi1.2/backlight\:acx565akm/brightness" is the same as "/sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness"
 
JonWW's Avatar
Posts: 623 | Thanked: 289 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ UK
#19
Try a dbus-monitor command, it will save you battery as you will not be running a point less loop all the time doing something that hardly ever needs to be done.
Code:
#!/bin/sh

dbus-monitor --system type='signal',interface='com.nokia.mce.signal',member='display_status_ind' | while grep -q "display_status_ind"
do
  echo 160 >/sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness
done
This code will only ever activate when the brightness changes (hopefully), I have not been playing around with /etc/mce/mce.ini so cannot say how well it will work for you.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to JonWW For This Useful Post:
dr_frost_dk's Avatar
Posts: 1,503 | Thanked: 2,688 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Denmark
#20
That seemed to work just fine, both with "fade out" and with key-lock

thank you very much, now this is a possibly to use this for a "locked" brightness setting.

if we can't find the values for the 5 steps, this solution can be made as a widget as custom setting and maybe with some "memory" settings.

just a side question, what kind of command/file exe, to make this work on startup....

Last edited by dr_frost_dk; 2010-10-20 at 15:16.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:53.