The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MasterZap For This Useful Post: | ||
![]() |
2011-04-30
, 11:14
|
Posts: 69 |
Thanked: 14 times |
Joined on Dec 2009
|
#192
|
![]() |
2011-04-30
, 11:37
|
Posts: 169 |
Thanked: 71 times |
Joined on Aug 2010
@ Spain
|
#193
|
"Just delete the file /home/user/.mozilla/microb/permissions.sqlite and restart. This will delete all the permissions granted/denied to web pages."
![]() |
2011-05-02
, 13:00
|
Posts: 14 |
Thanked: 6 times |
Joined on Nov 2010
|
#194
|
I am not sure if I have the microb-geolocation module install. I couldn't find this in the application manager.
dpkg -l microb-geolocation
![]() |
2011-05-02
, 14:42
|
Posts: 169 |
Thanked: 71 times |
Joined on Aug 2010
@ Spain
|
#195
|
Open a terminal, and enter as command:
It should output a line beginning with "ii".Code:dpkg -l microb-geolocation
If not, you should be able to install ("download") it via the application manager, find it in the "location & navigation" category.
![]() |
2011-05-09
, 21:14
|
Posts: 213 |
Thanked: 414 times |
Joined on Nov 2010
|
#196
|
The Following User Says Thank You to piggz For This Useful Post: | ||
![]() |
2011-05-10
, 05:39
|
Posts: 5 |
Thanked: 0 times |
Joined on Mar 2011
|
#197
|
Doing this from memory, but should all be correct...
1 You need to download the tar.gz file from this web page and save to a location on your N900 - I suggest the top leve (N900 in the file dialog)
2 open xterm change to the folder3 Type the commandCode:cd /home/user/MyDocshint change to the start typing the filename and then hit tab on the toolbar, it will autocomplete for you. It will create and extract all files to a folder named the same as the file you downloadedCode:tar -zxvf ./google....
4. once the extract is complete then change to the folderas above start typing, and then tab to autocompleteCode:cd foldername
5. change to the root user by using the command. you need to have the rootsh app installed from the application manager.Code:root
6. run the commandto install the google libraries.Code:python setup.py install
7. once the command has ran typethis will drop you back to being a normal user.Code:exit
8. create the folder for the config file using the command9. create an empty config file using the commandCode:mkdir /home/user/latitude10. run the script with the commandCode:touch /home/user/latitude/latitude.datensure you are in the folder where the script is.Code:python zaps-latitude-updater.py --once
11. It will come back with some test, and a URL. tap the pointer n the toolbar, and cross it out. then select the URL, and xterm will give you an option to copy the URL or open it. Open it, and follow the instructions on the google authorisation page. You want to say yes to everything.
Hope this helps.
![]() |
2011-05-10
, 06:49
|
Posts: 5 |
Thanked: 0 times |
Joined on Mar 2011
|
#198
|
![]() |
2011-05-10
, 14:56
|
Posts: 44 |
Thanked: 28 times |
Joined on Mar 2010
|
#199
|
<SNIP>
As for GPS, all the changes I did were the following:
#2: Tell it to ignore any gps point with an accuracy worse than 150 meters (actually, variable "acclimit" in the code is set to this, I was actually planning to make it an option, but never did, you could change "acclimit" to whatever accuracy you think is appropriate by just editing line 112 in the code)
Frankly, I don't know the GPS api well enough to know exactly what happens and if it will try endlessly to find satellites or not. Probably. There is, most certainly, no clever code in this snippet to try to do anything intelligent here, for sure.
For me, I have a low wooden house so I have quite OK GPS signal also indoors, and since I deem non-GPS coordinates to be useless, for me it is a "feature" that it never uses cell tower locations at all (then "last known good" GPS coord is better, IMHO).
But you are quite right about that if you are in a bunker, it will quite probably try for way too long. Especially since my extremely simplictic implementation of the "once" option, is that it stops after the first successful fix (with successful being "better than 150 meter accuracy").
So I'm guessing it will never actually exit properly for a cell tower location.
</SNIP>
/Z
![]() |
2011-05-11
, 05:19
|
Posts: 5 |
Thanked: 0 times |
Joined on Mar 2011
|
#200
|
I for one work in a bunker type building, and my GF lives in a bunker type house
This results in the GPS trying to get a fix , and what seems like, never quits... alarmed keeps on firing up new processes that keep on running.. is there a smart way to set a time out somewhere?
f.i. that if no suitable fix is found within say 120secs the --once option quits?
"Use teh Source, Luke", not my ramblings
I think I will experiment w. this code to try to figure out a more intelligent handling of changed position, incuding using cell towers, but only to detect CHANGES. I.e. something like
- figure out GPS coord
- shut off GPS
- look at celltower
- If celltower changes, or a LONG time has passed (like an hour), compute new GPS coordinate
Or somesuch.
/Z
Last edited by MasterZap; 2011-04-29 at 13:06.