Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
epage's Avatar
Posts: 1,684 | Thanked: 1,562 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Austin, TX
#191
Originally Posted by les_garten View Post
A lot of them do. A LOT of them, have a LOT of phone numbers.
I do not think I can auto-merge them. I also don't specialize the names for what the phone type is (Cell, land line, etc) because of concern on how manual merging will respond (having to manually resolve every name, ick).

You can disable contacts through the "Advanced" account settings now (and in more than one way ). System contacts still aren't working.

So with those off the table (unless you feel very strong about it) what do you think would be a good option?
__________________
770, n810, n900, Ideapad S10-3t
TheOneRing, DialCentral, Gonvert, Quicknote, Multilist, ejpi, nQa, Waters of Shiloah
Programming Blog
 
Posts: 1,418 | Thanked: 1,541 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#192
Apparently written in Python. Causes the whole Python to be installed (had to use shell to weed it all out after uninstalling The One Ring). The plugin itself did not work for me.
 
epage's Avatar
Posts: 1,684 | Thanked: 1,562 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Austin, TX
#193
Originally Posted by fms View Post
Apparently written in Python. Causes the whole Python to be installed (had to use shell to weed it all out after uninstalling The One Ring).
And not everyone minds using Python applications. Its listed in the deps for those who care.

I thought HAM was suppose to auto-remove dependencies when uninstalling an application?

Originally Posted by fms View Post
The plugin itself did not work for me.
What version of Maemo were you using? What version of The One Ring? In what way did it not work?
__________________
770, n810, n900, Ideapad S10-3t
TheOneRing, DialCentral, Gonvert, Quicknote, Multilist, ejpi, nQa, Waters of Shiloah
Programming Blog
 
Posts: 1,283 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ South Florida
#194
Originally Posted by epage View Post
Duplicate names or duplicate names and numbers? I do create a separate contact per number and don't modify the name so it is expected for there to be duplicates in that way.

I think once back before 0.7 I saw on my n8x0 multiple GV contact lists. I've never seen it since.
I looked a little closer

1) Lots(Hundreds) of numbers with no names that are not normally there.
2) Some Contacts are doubled, some tripled, some quads, etc
3) Some are not doubled at all.

I'm not sure how it figures out what to do.
 
epage's Avatar
Posts: 1,684 | Thanked: 1,562 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Austin, TX
#195
Originally Posted by les_garten View Post
I looked a little closer

1) Lots(Hundreds) of numbers with no names that are not normally there.
2) Some Contacts are doubled, some tripled, some quads, etc
3) Some are not doubled at all.

I'm not sure how it figures out what to do.
Are you referring to the "doubled contacts" as in their names are doubled or their name and number?

Google tends to keep data around for all you communicate with. The ones not in the contact list are treated as one with an ID of "0". I filter them out by that ID. GV might have changed, breaking this (again, Google rolls out updates gradually so it could be a while before I see this issue). Once we get a better picture on the other issue in case they are related, I could add a filter for blank names.
__________________
770, n810, n900, Ideapad S10-3t
TheOneRing, DialCentral, Gonvert, Quicknote, Multilist, ejpi, nQa, Waters of Shiloah
Programming Blog
 
Posts: 1,283 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ South Florida
#196
Originally Posted by epage View Post
Are you referring to the "doubled contacts" as in their names are doubled or their name and number?

Google tends to keep data around for all you communicate with. The ones not in the contact list are treated as one with an ID of "0". I filter them out by that ID. GV might have changed, breaking this (again, Google rolls out updates gradually so it could be a while before I see this issue). Once we get a better picture on the other issue in case they are related, I could add a filter for blank names.
OK, Just looked close at one with three entries

1 Entry is the original
1 Entry only GV with a phone # and name
1 Entry only GV with a second number and name

The entries with only numbers, no names are who knows what. They just showed up and if I disable GV, they're gone. They may be normally parsed by Company name or another field. But there are hundreds of them.
 
Posts: 1,283 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ South Florida
#197
In an ideal world, I would prefer only my system contacts to be used. And no entries replicated or GV'd.
 
epage's Avatar
Posts: 1,684 | Thanked: 1,562 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Austin, TX
#198
Originally Posted by les_garten View Post
In an ideal world, I would prefer only my system contacts to be used. And no entries replicated or GV'd.
As I said, I've made it so you can disable GV contacts but I do not have system contacts working. That would be ideal. I was interested in what would help improve the situation in the short term.
__________________
770, n810, n900, Ideapad S10-3t
TheOneRing, DialCentral, Gonvert, Quicknote, Multilist, ejpi, nQa, Waters of Shiloah
Programming Blog
 
epage's Avatar
Posts: 1,684 | Thanked: 1,562 times | Joined on Jun 2008 @ Austin, TX
#199
Originally Posted by les_garten View Post
OK, Just looked close at one with three entries

1 Entry is the original
1 Entry only GV with a phone # and name
1 Entry only GV with a second number and name
Sounds like expected behavior when GV contacts are enabled

Originally Posted by les_garten View Post
The entries with only numbers, no names are who knows what. They just showed up and if I disable GV, they're gone. They may be normally parsed by Company name or another field. But there are hundreds of them.
Yea, I'm concerned Google changed something

We could get a better picture of this by running the following program

Code:
#!/usr/bin/python

import sys
sys.path.insert(0, "/usr/lib/theonering")
import logging
import pprint

import gvoice.backend as backend
import gvoice.addressbook as abook


def print_contacts():
	logging.basicConfig(level=logging.DEBUG)

	args = sys.argv
	username = args[1]
	password = args[2]

	b = backend.GVoiceBackend()
	b.login(username, password)
	assert b.is_authed()

	book = abook.Addressbook(b)
	book.update()
	for number in book.get_numbers():
		pprint.pprint((number, book.get_contact_name(number), book.get_phone_type(number), book.is_blocked(number)))


def print_blank_names():
	logging.basicConfig(level=logging.DEBUG)

	args = sys.argv
	username = args[1]
	password = args[2]

	b = backend.GVoiceBackend()
	b.login(username, password)
	assert b.is_authed()

	book = abook.Addressbook(b)
	book.update()
	for number in book.get_numbers():
		if not book.get_contact_name(number):
			pprint.pprint(book._numbers[number])


if __name__ == "__main__":
	#print_contacts()
	print_blank_names()
This will print out every number of yours and the associated information. Its a lot to look through but we can compare what happens when the names are blank

So save the file, and run it
Code:
python FILE_NAME USERNAME PASSWORD
__________________
770, n810, n900, Ideapad S10-3t
TheOneRing, DialCentral, Gonvert, Quicknote, Multilist, ejpi, nQa, Waters of Shiloah
Programming Blog
 

The Following User Says Thank You to epage For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,283 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ South Florida
#200
Originally Posted by epage View Post
As I said, I've made it so you can disable GV contacts but I do not have system contacts working. That would be ideal. I was interested in what would help improve the situation in the short term.
OK,

So I go in and disable GV contacts and disable GV

The entries go away

I restart GV with GV contacts disabled and they come back.

?
 
Reply

Tags
google voice, maemo 4, maemo 5


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01.