Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#221
Installing usually takes place through something called a package-manager. Ubuntu uses the famous debian apt-get as a backend and synaptic as the frontend.

Right now you are trying to install something in Arch linux, which uses a different package menager called pacman.

So, install by

Code:
pacman -S ttf-dejavu
Sorry i'm still new at linux..
No prob. But the reaction to this would be the answer to your other question:

And where do i get the other 2 files?
Juan placed a link to them, only two pages back. They are tarred and gzipped, so if you don't know how to unpack it, you have two opions:

Unpack them on your regular machine and transfer them to your n900 or read up on tar.gz files with google and unpack them like that.

Now to your answer and the question: There's no problem being a linux newbee. Everyone that knows something has one day lacked the knowledge and in this particular case (of Linux) it's safe to say we all learnt what we know online. By googling, by reading carefully and by asking questions but above all, by showing curiosity and initiative.

Good luck!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to anthonie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#222
Originally Posted by anthonie View Post
Installing usually takes place through something called a package-manager. Ubuntu uses the famous debian apt-get as a backend and synaptic as the frontend.

Right now you are trying to install something in Arch linux, which uses a different package menager called pacman.

So, install by

Code:
pacman -S ttf-dejavu
No prob. But the reaction to this would be the answer to your other question:

Juan placed a link to them, only two pages back. They are tarred and gzipped, so if you don't know how to unpack it, you have two opions:

Unpack them on your regular machine and transfer them to your n900 or read up on tar.gz files with google and unpack them like that.

Now to your answer and the question: There's no problem being a linux newbee. Everyone that knows something has one day lacked the knowledge and in this particular case (of Linux) it's safe to say we all learnt what we know online. By googling, by reading carefully and by asking questions but above all, by showing curiosity and initiative.

Good luck!
Thanks for your support, this community has been very helpful for me

btw, i already did what you told me :

But during dejavu installation i got this error

Code:
Proceed with installation? [Y/n] Y
checking package integrity...
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                   [-] 100%
(1/1) upgrading ttf-dejavu                          [-] 100%
/tmp/alpm_b53BW6/.INSTALL: line 8: post_install: command not found
error: command failed to execute correctly
And when i run archlinux i still got dark screen and this is what show up :

Code:
BusyBox v1.10.2 (Debian 3:1.10.2.legal-1osso30+0m5) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

~ $ /home/user/archlinux
-sh: /home/user/archlinux: Permission denied
~ $ cd /home/user/archlinux
~/archlinux $ ./archlinux
./archlinux: line 1: #Start: not found
/home/user/archlinux/chrootarch: line 1: : not found
/.archlinux has a qmount already!
/media/mmc1/archmobile.img.ext2 already mounted on /.archlinux...
Everything set up, running chroot...
root
/home/user/archlinux/chrootarch: line 1: : not found
/.archlinux has a qmount already!
/media/mmc1/archmobile.img.ext2 already mounted on /.archlinux...
Everything set up, running chroot...
()
_XSERVTransSocketOpenCOTSServer: Unable to open socket for inet6
_XSERVTransOpen: transport open failed for inet6/Nokia-N900:3
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: failed to open listener for inet6
(0x04800002)
/home/user/archlinux/startarch: line 13: /usr/bin/set-focus: No such file or directory
/home/user/archlinux/startarch: line 14: /sbin/qobi-wmhint-fix: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/starte17: line 1: enlightment_start: command not found
~/archlinux $ [dix] Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/TTF, removing from list!
[dix] Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/Type1, removing from list!
I alreasy gave permissions for both of the files.
And they are already in the correct folders when i check them with filebox. so how come i got "No such file or directory"?
 
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#223
deny_winarto,

I donīt know about the post_install error, I did not have that but it sounds like a part of the Arch Build Structure is missing. I ran into that problem, which boils down to having only very limited repositories available over at ArchMobile.

About the other issue, make sure you copy the files from toyr root partition into the partition you are using as chroot. For that you need to chroot into your Arch first and then copy the files and chmod them.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to anthonie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#224
Originally Posted by anthonie View Post
deny_winarto,

I donīt know about the post_install error, I did not have that but it sounds like a part of the Arch Build Structure is missing. I ran into that problem, which boils down to having only very limited repositories available over at ArchMobile.

About the other issue, make sure you copy the files from toyr root partition into the partition you are using as chroot. For that you need to chroot into your Arch first and then copy the files and chmod them.
Hmmm mind telling me how to copy and chmod files while in arch chroot? The command should be different right?

Code:
cd /home/user/archlinux
./chrootarch

... ?
And bump for this question..

Originally Posted by deny_winarto View Post
Hmm got a question,
How do i create shortcut for openoffice?
Y'know just like in easy debian where you can open openoffice without going through easy debian first?
I think it's important because ubuntu runs faster than easy debian in my device..
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#225
anthonie and those trying to get full keyboard functionality:

You might have better keyboard luck by copying /usr/share/X11/xkb from Maemo to your chroot (<chroot>/usr/share/X11).

This is one of the things that the synchroot script does. Take a look at /sbin/synchroot to see if it has any other tips for you.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#226
@qole : Is there anyway to make a shortcut from ubuntu's openoffice? Just like what you did in easy debian?
Ubuntu's OO runs faster in my device..

I noticed you use "debbie openoffice" on the OO .desktop exec.. can i do the same method for ubuntu?

thanks

Last edited by deny_winarto; 2010-12-12 at 05:18.
 
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#227
@qole,

Thanks, that was the final thing needed for the keyboard.

Current status of Archlinux:

Working fully with hardware keyboard support and all. Illume module is installed by default.

@Deny, I don't have mt card with me at the moment, so I can't check that OS as it installed on SD.

Figured the copying to your chroot in the mean time? Qole answered it as well.
 
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#228
Originally Posted by anthonie View Post
@qole,

Thanks, that was the final thing needed for the keyboard.

Current status of Archlinux:

Working fully with hardware keyboard support and all. Illume module is installed by default.

@Deny, I don't have mt card with me at the moment, so I can't check that OS as it installed on SD.

Figured the copying to your chroot in the mean time? Qole answered it as well.
Umm.. sorry but which part of his post said so..?
How do i copy and chmod while in chroot?
Code:
/cd /home/user/archlinux
./chrootarch

... ?
So now there's another step which is copying the /usr/share/X11/xkb from Maemo to your chroot right?
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#229
deny_winarto: Just make a .desktop file in /usr/share/applications/hildon with the command you use to run openoffice in the "EXEC=" line.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#230
Originally Posted by qole View Post
deny_winarto: Just make a .desktop file in /usr/share/applications/hildon with the command you use to run openoffice in the "EXEC=" line.
Thanks, gonna try that as soon as i'm done with Nitdroid
Now just have to figure out how to copy and chmod while in chroot archlinux..
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:56.