Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#241
Originally Posted by Hootenholler View Post
@Mentalist Traceur - It would be fantastic if you could help me. Yes, what I was hoping for was the time and date to show on one row "00:00 DD/MM". I'm not fussed either way whether seconds and/or year are included - whatever is easiest to put together. Do you think you might be able to do me a clock style, or would you like to have a try at fixing one of my efforts?!

Thanks very much, in advance!
If I was a good teacher, I'd get you on live chat and we'd go over your code together. But I'm lazy and making this myself was faster:
DateTimeLinearClock.py.txt

Just delete the ".txt" and put in the same folder as the other clocks. (/opt/maemo/usr/lib/advanced-clock-plugin/clocks/ - remember you have to be root to save there)

It's a mix of messy and okay code-wise. I left the copyright part as just Wonko's; I didn't change enough to bother adding my name.

If you look, all I did was change the text resizing values to those of the Digital Clock, commented out some of the lines, and edited one or two more, changing some variable names/order/position of things, etc.

You can delete the commented out lines without worrying about it (unless you want to add the year later). As is, it just doesn't show the year at all, and if you change it to twelve hour mode, the PM/AM appears after the date. The font size is pretty big by default, but that's what the scaling value is there for. If you want it much smaller, but want it centered instead of pinned down, just edit the 'move_to' line in the draw_clock section (and anywhere else they exist). Edit the second value, 35, to something smaller. For text, this determines where the bottom of the text is pinned to. 16±1 is about where the center of the box is. So ~25 or so might be a good spot if you shrink it... Depending on how much you shrink it of course.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
santiago's Avatar
Posts: 518 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ italy
#242
Originally Posted by Mentalist Traceur View Post
Try some more explanation marks. Maybe a bigger font. In my experience, the more upset and demanding you get, the more people want to help you.

Seriously, just half a page ago we were talking about trying to figure out how to do what you're talking about. Right now, you can't. Wonko, skykooler, or someone else (me if I can figure it out quickly enough) will probably figure out how to use the standard theme icon within a few days. Might take longer, if the people who do know how to do what has to be done with Cairo don't get around to it, and I don't figure it out that quickly.

Until then, either live with it, figure out the python code yourself, or uninstall and wait until this is added. It's only a red dot instead of the normal theme icon. It's not going to kill you if you have to put up with it for a few days.
MAYBE LIKE THIS??? I wanna have my icons style not yours! thanks... i cant remove that icon becouse is builded in the binary elf???
 
Posts: 188 | Thanked: 53 times | Joined on May 2010
#243
Originally Posted by santiago View Post
MAYBE LIKE THIS??? I wanna have my icons style not yours! thanks... i cant remove that icon becouse is builded in the binary elf???
wow......
 
santiago's Avatar
Posts: 518 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ italy
#244
Originally Posted by porselinaheart View Post
wow......
i was just kidding can you tell me the PNG path that i gotta keep to change this? yesterday i made a custom rom (bkupmenu file) and... i wanna have the original Bell that i had last time i searched in all optfs and rootfs for the red circle... i did'nt find nothing like this... i miss my bell
Attached Images
 

Last edited by santiago; 2011-01-08 at 05:52.
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#245
Typed something else, posted, saw your "I was just kidding reply", and decided that everything I said was unnecessarily hostile.

I'll leave it here because I am a fan of openness and honesty, but keep in mind your "I'm just kidding thing" made me take back all of it.

MAYBE LIKE THIS???
Hmmm... Not quite large enough. Try to mix in the bold tag.

I wanna have my icons style not yours!
Yes. If you had understood my sentences properly, you would've realized that that's going to be an option eventually too. (Because the only difference is a custom theme either overrides the normal icon, or puts the custom icons somewhere else predictable. And because of that, we can set up the clock.py script to check for a file at one location, then check for it at another location, and so on, with the stock system one being the 'fallback'. It'll take a while, but I'm sure it will get done.

thanks...
You're welcome.

i cant remove that icon becouse is builded in the binary elf???
Binary... elf? Ummm... Binary...
Either you're talking about http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Executa...inkable_Format or you're referring to elves, composed in some way out of binary...something.

You can 'remove' the icon in three ways:
1. Uninstall the plugin. Then you can stare at your non-customizable clock and marvel at how much less you'd have on your N900 if people didn't go out of their way to put their spare time into writing free useful things.
2. By unchecking the "Show Alarm Indicator" in the settings. Yes, it won't show if you have an alarm enabled next to your clock, but if the red dot bothers you so much, there you go.
3. Figuring out the from_png/matrix stuff for Cairo, and EDITING THE clock.py file. It's not a binary. As is written in the original post, this is written in Python. Python, while it CAN be compiled, usually runs uncompliled. Which means you can edit the files you need to change, restart the program if you have it running.

So yeah. Either one of those three, or you wait until someone else does it.
Anyway, onto your latest post.

The actual code as is doesn't use any picture file. It uses Cairo to just draw a red circle (or any other shape or color if you mess with the code enough). (See posts on the last few pages to see some details.)

I don't personally remember off the top of my head where system and theme overriding icons go, I listed on the last page where the system alarm indicator icon is stored, and I just don't know where the theme icons go. But it shouldn't be too hard to figure out that part (it's gotta be documented somewhere), once I/someone else implements the actual "use this picture here" part of the code.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
santiago's Avatar
Posts: 518 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ italy
#246
Originally Posted by Mentalist Traceur View Post
Typed something else, posted, saw your "I was just kidding reply", and decided that everything I said was unnecessarily hostile.

I'll leave it here because I am a fan of openness and honesty, but keep in mind your "I'm just kidding thing" made me take back all of it.


Anyway, onto your latest post.

The actual code as is doesn't use any picture file. It uses Cairo to just draw a red circle (or any other shape or color if you mess with the code enough). (See posts on the last few pages to see some details.)

I don't personally remember off the top of my head where system and theme overriding icons go, I listed on the last page where the system alarm indicator icon is stored, and I just don't know where the theme icons go. But it shouldn't be too hard to figure out that part (it's gotta be documented somewhere), once I/someone else implements the actual "use this picture here" part of the code.
why did u use a cairo code to print that status shape icon? i think it was better if you used the default icon this can make crazy more noob people like me

Last edited by santiago; 2011-01-08 at 06:19.
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#247
Well, I didn't use it because I didn't write it. This is Wonko's app. I just happened to suggest that he expand it into this from the binary clock.

As for why... Well, I am not an expert, but one, when this started out as just a binary clock, drawing circles with Cairo was a lot more processor efficient, and easier to code, than accessing system icons (there also aren't circle icons of the type the binary clocks were using, so it's a lot more space efficient to just write in a Cairo library or two with python bindings and some python files, instead of sticking png files in.

Even once it took off, it was easier to use Cairo, because it allows you to render text (in different fonts), shapes, and just about anything, dynamically in any color the screen can render (realistically speaking; I'm pretty sure human perceptions stops being able to distinguish colors before the code stops being able to specify the difference). A PNG on the other hand is static, you can't edit it at run-time - at least, nearly as easily. And because a png is a raster graphic, it (usually) takes more processing than vector graphics (which is what Cairo uses).

Anyway, yeah, I understand your frustration. I'm dealing with the same thing in trying to figure out how to use the png right now. But hey, that's life. For the things that matter, you figure out how to acquire the skills necessary to make them happen, if possible.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
Posts: 188 | Thanked: 53 times | Joined on May 2010
#248
Originally Posted by santiago View Post
i was just kidding can you tell me the PNG path that i gotta keep to change this? yesterday i made a custom rom (bkupmenu file) and... i wanna have the original Bell that i had last time i searched in all optfs and rootfs for the red circle... i did'nt find nothing like this... i miss my bell
my bad, :P

like Mentalist mentioned no luck yet changing the image to a png, however i've managed to change the color of the circle to better suit my currently used theme, check the previous page for instructions on which bit of code to edit.
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#249
Please don't get rude.
Writing in upper case or using a big font might be easily misunderstood.
That's usually one of the problems using textual media such as a forum like this one that the chance for misunderstanding each other is much higher than in a "real life" conversation.


In the meantime I uploaded version 0.12.0 to extras devel.
This version adds an option for setting a PNG as alarm indicator icon.
You could, e.g., copy the original alarm indicator
Code:
cp /usr/share/icons/hicolor/14x14/hildon/general_alarm_on.png /home/user/MyDocs
and use this one.
Or you could as well create your own custom icons and use these.
Current limitations: icons need to be in PNG format and must be located either in /home/user/MyDocs or on a memory card.
Also keep in mind that the drawable area is fairly small.


Edit:
Apparently, using "DecimalClock" as name wasn't the best choice.
Maybe something like "DigitalClock" would be more appropriate.
__________________

Last edited by Wonko; 2011-01-08 at 12:14.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 188 | Thanked: 53 times | Joined on May 2010
#250
Wonko, to the rescue, much thanks, mate!!
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:42.