Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#261
Originally Posted by brahim98 View Post
I didn't know about this method, could have saved me much time, but the tricky part for me was to move /usr and /var loosely discussed by ruskie (I thank him a lot) and an example was given somewhere for n800 (not very usefull for n900). Now that I have moved these directories, I could install sdk (and every software i want) without worrying about rootfs or any partition. Finally, notice that my solution only requires a N900 and fingers.
Are /usr and /var for this setup really larger than on my phone???
Code:
[root@Nokia-N900 ~]# du -kx /usr | sort -n | tail -n 10
7604    /usr/lib/gstreamer-0.10
14164   /usr/share/microb-engine/chrome
14844   /usr/share/microb-engine
15632   /usr/share/locale
23352   /usr/lib/locale
24288   /usr/lib/microb-engine
25620   /usr/bin
67504   /usr/share
185396  /usr/lib
285068  /usr
[root@Nokia-N900 ~]# du -k /var | sort -n | tail -n 10
120     /var/lib/hildon-application-manager
192     /var/lib/gconf/apps/osso/hildon-desktop/applets
212     /var/lib/gconf/apps/osso/hildon-desktop
380     /var/lib/gconf/apps/osso
572     /var/lib/gconf/apps
644     /var/lib/gconf
33808   /var/lib/dpkg/info
41040   /var/lib/dpkg
42064   /var/lib
42260   /var
Did you somehow reverse the optifying to use /usr?
 
Posts: 1,994 | Thanked: 3,342 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ N900: Battery low. N950: torx 4 re-used once and fine; SIM port torn apart
#262
Quick reply...
I tried to build kiconedit on N900 itself.
So: I installed subversion, got the source, installed gcc, said "gcc main.cpp", found out that it needs general KDE headers, started copying them one-by-one.
It turned out that kdemacros.h should be generated by cmake. So I copied kdemacros.h.cmake and said
apt-get install cmake

It installed cmake-data and then couldn't find space for cmake

I manually optified cmake-data (if I understand anything in this filesystem at all )

There still wasn't enough space for cmake

Almost all languages in /usr/share/locale were already deleted earlier.

So I thought: what about optifying /usr/lib?

I moved all files from /opt/usr/lib to /usr/lib and then all files from /usr/lib to /opt/usr/lib.
But... /usr/lib/python2.5 and two more folders which actually already are in /opt/pymaemo continued to be mounted in /usr/lib. I wanted to mount them in /opt/usr/lib.
After some mount umount -l bind move.
Mess increased, but /usr/lib empty, and then replaced with symbolic link to /opt/usr/lib

For some time, everything worked, including apt-get

But later, MicroB couldn't open any page at all

I took a wild guess that after reboot nothing will work (why???)

So I backup-ed some most important files (like Hildon menu; I put a lot of effort into customising it with sub-menus) and, just in case, moved photographs tp PC

Reboot
Malfunction
Re-flash
Home isn't harmed, but all applications are gone

Now, my ambitious goal is:
to have all applications optified to the extent that less than half of rootfs is usually used

How can I reach it?

Now 60% are in use.
I have Modrana (and I don't have OSM logger and Marble and OSMapper, and I'm not going to install them)
I have Panorama and MBarcode (and I don't have FrontView, and I'm not going to install it)
I have Fennec and Chromium
I'm going to get Metre and QStarDict
I'm going to get eboard, sudoku and mokomaze (probably; not sure yet)
I'm not going to install Maelophone (I don't think that emulating physical music on an electronic device is worthwhile goal)
I'm not going to install my own half-baked programs: GPS compass and auto-rotation and text editor
I'm not going to install MyPaint, PenPen, and example Qt Text Editor
I have already installed pocketsphinx, and voximp wasn't lost while reflashing
I have tried to install ejpi... but purged it. It's awkward, though innovative.
I'm trying to get aptitude GUI working - then I will not need fapman
I will have to add repositories to HAM again - they were lost.

Last edited by Wikiwide; 2011-01-16 at 07:53.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Alger
#263
@michaaa62 :
This is what I have
Code:
Nokia-N900:~# du -sh /usr
1.2G    /usr
Nokia-N900:~# du -sh /usr/*
4.0k    /usr/X11R6
38.1M   /usr/bin
0       /usr/games
39.7M   /usr/include
270.7M  /usr/lib
488.0k  /usr/libexec
44.0k   /usr/local
16.0k   /usr/lost+found
16.0k   /usr/man
787.8M  /usr/opt
16.0k   /usr/palm
5.2M    /usr/sbin
76.3M   /usr/share
4.0k    /usr/src
80.0k   /usr/var
In my setting, I changed /opt from /home/opt to /usr/opt (700MB) but even without moving /opt the size is more than rootfs can support. I am reverting to classic /home/opt as my phone is often going into infinite reboot when mounting /opt in /usr.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to brahim98 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 71 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#264
I really need helppp.....My phone rebooted itself when i was doing the solution #1.
: cp -a /home/* /mnt # copy contents of /home to large partition.
i have tried to restore the entire system but i cant access the MyDoc in File Manager after restoring.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to babyshamie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#265
Well, you just had it re-formatted according to the howto, so no wonder it is not there. Go on with copying all of the content of /home to /mnt (after a reboot you have to mount the partition /dev/mmcblk0p1 to /mnt again !!! ) to be sure the copy process was not interrupted.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to michaaa62 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 71 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#266
but it says not found when mounting plz help
 

The Following User Says Thank You to babyshamie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 133 | Thanked: 172 times | Joined on Jul 2009 @ Travel bag
#267
Originally Posted by Fabry View Post
Now that gnu parted N900's version exists, even the method I have linked can be done with only a N900 and fingers
Could you pls give the link to gparted on n900.. I did some search on the forum and else where. Could not find it except for this
__________________
SVGClock | Flip Calendar | Ring Clock
 

The Following User Says Thank You to shin For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#268
@ babieshame:
Short Walkthrough:
umount /home/user/MyDocs
This removes MyDocs from the file system, but still all the data on partition /dev/mmcblk0p1 available.
sfdisk -c /dev/mmcblk0 1 83
This changes the file sytem type in the partition table from Fat32 to Linux. Still all the data there, but you would get an error after boot.
mkfs.ext3 /dev/mmcblk0p1
This wipes the filesystem and the data from the partition, you would stiill be able to recover with extra effort, like testdisk data recovery tool.
mount /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt
This will make the partition usable for the system again, but will not access your data, but make it possible to overwrite it.
cp -a /home/* /mnt
This actually overwrites the data with the stuff from your optfs and the content of /home, but only the empty folder MyDocs is copied!
umount /mnt
This unmounts the partition formerly known as MyDocs now containing the optfs.

The howto continous to create a new partition table, here called 'table' for simplicity to get the partitions mounted for the next reboot. After you wrote the table to the device, you are ready to reboot. After the reboot you simply create and then mount the new file system for the now smaller MyDocs partition.

Because you first asked about the cp command i guess there is no MyDocs existing any more. Continue like suggestedin the post above with the howto from the "mount /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt"-step to achieve a working setup. right now you are in the middle of nowhere.

Last edited by michaaa62; 2011-01-17 at 14:38.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to michaaa62 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#269
Originally Posted by shin View Post
Could you pls give the link to gparted on n900.. I did some search on the forum and else where. Could not find it except for this
parted is not gparted!!! The gparted howto works from a linux desktop/laptop only.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to michaaa62 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 362 | Thanked: 426 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Italy, Lombardia
#270
Originally Posted by shin View Post
Could you pls give the link to gparted on n900.. I did some search on the forum and else where. Could not find it except for this
It is in the repository (version 2.3-1) but it isn't gparted.
For N900 exists only parted (console version)
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fabry For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:15.