Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 66 | Thanked: 30 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#21
Originally Posted by slender View Post
But can you disable/enable it on run?
You mean without rebooting? Yes, it is possible:

to turn on:
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd1_autocomp
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd2_autocomp
echo 0 ... for turning off.


Hmm, perhaps I could make a script to automatically turn SR off as soon as the battery is charging and put it back on when not charging..
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fhofer For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,829 | Thanked: 1,459 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#22
Originally Posted by fhofer View Post
Hmm, perhaps I could make a script to automatically turn SR off as soon as the battery is charging and put it back on when not charging..
Exactly. This was what I also thought.
 
Posts: 66 | Thanked: 30 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#23
It is not a bad idea, but on the other hand -- I don't need SR that desperately. The periodical checking of "is_charging" could easily outweigh the benefits of SR...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fhofer For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,341 | Thanked: 708 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#24
Originally Posted by fhofer View Post
You mean without rebooting? Yes, it is possible:

to turn on:
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd1_autocomp
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd2_autocomp
echo 0 ... for turning off.


Hmm, perhaps I could make a script to automatically turn SR off as soon as the battery is charging and put it back on when not charging..
That could be useful (event triggered). I had my crash during the charging. Before that, the hack seemed to work ok.

https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?...gi?id=7633#c31

edit:
I also would be interested to read (here) what does that SmartReflex actually do. Why two places for settings? What if only other one is enabled (1) and the other left as disabled (0)?

Last edited by zimon; 2010-03-25 at 13:05.
 
Venemo's Avatar
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
#25
Originally Posted by tomaszrybak View Post
I had to disable deep sleep in /etc/pmconfig which caused reduction of battery life.
Could you please elaborate on that?
What is deep sleep and how does it affect battery life?
 
Venemo's Avatar
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
#26
Originally Posted by zimon View Post
I also would be interested to read (here) what does that SmartReflex actually do.
http://focus.ti.com/pdfs/wtbu/smartr...whitepaper.pdf
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Venemo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Zurich
#27
Could it be that smartreflex makes the phone reboot because cpu frequency scaling is also on?

It seems to be the case on palm pre (http://www.webos-internals.org/wiki/...oltage_Scaling) so it could also be the case on n900?

Is there a way to disable cpu scaling and test smartreflex by itself?


PS: I could be a nub and smartreflex autodisables cpu scaling but i might as well ask more knowledgable people
 
Posts: 66 | Thanked: 30 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#28
Originally Posted by Venemo View Post
Originally Posted by fhofer
Actually, there is one more thing I should mention. Today, after about 3 hours of charging, the status bar battery indicator stopped moving, it did not stay at full but at some 70%. When I locked the screen, the yellow light was still blinking and the X-term command reported that the N900 is charging. After reboot, the status bar battey icon started moving again. This may have been the first sign of something around charging going wrong...
This is another bug which I remember seeing somewhere. (Don't remember the ID, however.)
Conclusion: this in unrelated to SmartReflex.
I have experienced the above issue again today (SR disabled). The bottom line was that the device was not charging when the status bar icon stopped moving (even though the indicator led was blinking and hal-device reported that the device is charging.

I tried to search the bugs, but did not find this.. Do you remember if this bug is really in the bug database?
 
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 995 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ California
#29
Originally Posted by fhofer View Post
You mean without rebooting? Yes, it is possible:

to turn on:
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd1_autocomp
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd2_autocomp
echo 0 ... for turning off.
Note: Space between "1" and ">" is significant.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to egoshin For This Useful Post:
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#30
Originally Posted by fhofer View Post
You mean without rebooting? Yes, it is possible:

to turn on:
Code:
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd1_autocomp
echo 1 > /sys/power/sr_vdd2_autocomp
Note that Eero pointed that changing those values without a reboot "isn't guaranteed to work properly". Better do it the pmconfig way.

I've been using both settings for half a week and can say that:
a) It seems to slightly improve active use time -- that is, with CPU demanding apps. It doesn't improve much but since that's the N900 weakest point IMHO I plan to keep it
b) It doesn't seem to alter idle/standby time at all. No significant changes by any measure.
Note that I've not yet found the time to do a long idle test nor a torture test thus I'm not giving proper numbers.

Originally Posted by exe View Post
Is there a way to disable cpu scaling and test smartreflex by itself?
Disabling scaling would be disastrous to battery life. SmartReflex is not worth disabling ondemand scaling.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:42.