|
2007-02-05
, 00:14
|
Posts: 152 |
Thanked: 6 times |
Joined on Dec 2006
|
#22
|
|
2007-02-05
, 00:50
|
Posts: 152 |
Thanked: 6 times |
Joined on Dec 2006
|
#23
|
#!/bin/sh # workaround an issue with mounting swap partition at startup SWAPX='/dev/mmcblk0p3' case "$1" in start) swapon $SWAPX ;; stop) swapoff $SWAPX ;; restart swapoff $SWAPX swapon $SWAPX ;; reload|force-reload) echo "$0: not implemented" ;; *) ;; esac
|
2007-02-05
, 00:50
|
|
Posts: 91 |
Thanked: 2 times |
Joined on Jan 2007
@ Spain
|
#24
|
Yea, that funny, the SWAP partition is not on by default. I even added
/dev/mmcblk0p3 swap swap defaults 0 0
to /etc/fstab
still swap not on by when reboot
Still you could run 'swapon /dev/mmcblk0p3' to manually activate the swap partition(assuming your swap partition is on partition3) or write a small script to activate it in the /etc/rc2.d or init.d and link to it.
Another important thing is after doing this mod, the usb-to-mmc no longer work. As a workaround, I just setup the samba so my windows can have access to /media/mmc1 and /media/mmc2 as well.
|
2007-02-05
, 01:24
|
Posts: 152 |
Thanked: 6 times |
Joined on Dec 2006
|
#25
|
|
2007-02-05
, 01:32
|
Posts: 152 |
Thanked: 6 times |
Joined on Dec 2006
|
#26
|
If you want to use a Swap file, it's better and easier to set it at:
TOOLS > CONTROL PANEL > MEMORY > VIRTUAL > and tick Add Virtual Memory
The maximum size of it is 64MB, no matter how much free space you've got on your VFAT partition. (Because virtual memory added this way CAN ONLY BE SET at the VFAT partition as a SWAP FILE). The advantages of doing so is that you'll be able to access via Windows and USB your VFAT partition. There you'll find the Swap file of 64MB.
|
2007-02-05
, 08:53
|
Posts: 2,152 |
Thanked: 1,490 times |
Joined on Jan 2006
@ Czech Republic
|
#27
|
This is quite hard to answer. but let me try this, Well even though it's exact use more memory in when booting from flash, but the rootfs stored in the flash is in jffs2 and in order for the data to be usable, it got to be uncompressed first, right, so where is that uncompressed data stored?
the main reason why the system is slow when booted from flash because, all the application(not data stored on SD/MMC) are pretty much in compressed format. The CPU is already underpower at 300MHz already, and now it have to do compression/decompression on the fly, it's another step for the CPU to handle.
|
2007-02-05
, 09:25
|
|
Posts: 87 |
Thanked: 1 time |
Joined on Mar 2006
|
#28
|
|
2007-02-05
, 09:38
|
Posts: 2,152 |
Thanked: 1,490 times |
Joined on Jan 2006
@ Czech Republic
|
#29
|
Another somewhat generic question in this "N800" thread ;-)
- Would reflashing the device wipe out the initfs along with the root system?
|
2007-02-05
, 10:05
|
|
Posts: 87 |
Thanked: 1 time |
Joined on Mar 2006
|
#30
|
$ free
total used free shared buffer
Mem: 62224 53316 8908 0 248
Swap: 0 0 0
Total: 62224 53316 8908
But YES, you've get extra "installable" memory. That is: the system thinks your mmc available free space is internal memory free space. So that you may install lots of applications there. So you type df (in my 770), and get:
$ df
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mmcblk0p2 729672 231216 461392 33% /
/dev/mmcblk0p1 261868 12 261856 0% /media/mmc1
As you may see, I've got two partitions. My first vfat partition (mmcblk0p1) is mounted as /media/mmc1. It's almost empty. I haven't enabled the Swap file over vfat, since I find it rather slow (just my feeling, maybe wrong).
My second partition is ext2 (mmcblk0p2), and it's mounted as /
As you may see, I've yet installed 225MB of applications but got space for 450MB more (more or less 140MB was the original system and basic applications; it doubles the 70 MB you usually find at your original native partition because ext2 isn't compressed as jffs2 is)