Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,950 | Thanked: 1,174 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Seattle, USA
#21
Originally Posted by Benson View Post
I mean the old command navigator; I'm running both, so I get two menus. (One 40px, for friendly fingers, and the other (cmd-nav) packed closer.) But if you only want to run one, then you can certainly do it all in P-menu. (And you seem to be doing it right.)

xte is from Xautomation, I had thought I linked that previously. I'll go find it... [/url]http://www.internettablettalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18132&page=2]Here it is[/url]! Download the .tgz, extract it somewhere, and do what you like. I copied (as root, of course) the xte binary to /usr/bin or some such. You could probably also (if not running low on space, and scared like I was at the time) just 'make install' (root, again) from the xautomation-1.02 directory. I recommend that approach, but warn that I did not try it...

The xte command doesn't need to be run as root, and as you can see, that masks some feedback, so don't run as root unless needed...


As for "what xte is", well, it's a program that stuffs keystrokes (or other events) into an X server. I think you did know what it is, after all... Now you know how to get it.
You might be surprised how long it takes a newbie to do some of these things! But, I'm getting there!

At this point I have an xautomation folder (post-gunzipping-and-tarring) in my /usr/bin/ folder. I went into the folder in Xterm, as root, and tried doing this
Code:
 # ./configure
# make
# make install
but it said, after lots of other messages, that there was no acceptable C compiler in $PATH. Then I just tried
Code:
make install
but it said
Code:
/bin/sh: make: not found
So, now that I have the files untarred (or is it tarred?) in a folder in /usr/bin/, what might I do next to get to where xte is a meaningful command? (Thanks again.)
__________________
.
. .

Help Save This Forum
for N8x0/Diablo Users! Register and Vote for Solution #1 on this Brainstorm. (The Solution will let you see New Posts with any threads you choose -- like the N900 and Maemo5/Fremantle threads -- filtered out.) (To understand the Solution better, see these posts #17, #18, and #19.)
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#22
Good instincts, but this time you don't want ./configure and make; the program is already built, so they're unnecessary.
Obviously, you need to have make installed for that plan to work; I do, but evidently it's not default (as I had assumed it was)...

I guess falling back to manually copying the one binary needed is sanest at this point.

So if I'm reading you right, you have everything in /usr/bin/xautomation-1.02/ ? That's not where I'd have put it, but it'll do.

What you want to wind up with is just the file xte in /usr/bin.

So, assuming it's in /usr/bin/xautomation-1.02/, do something like
Code:
cd /usr/bin/xautomation-1.02/
cp xte /usr/bin/
and, optionally,
Code:
cd
rm -r /usr/bin/xautomation
to remove the source and other programs afterwards.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,950 | Thanked: 1,174 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Seattle, USA
#23
Well, Benson, I'm getting there. All that stuff for just one little file? I took your advice and moved everything but xte out of /usr/bin/. After a while I'll delete it.

So far I would swear that xte's output is partially random. Your basic idea is being vindicated to my satisfaction. Next I have to get better at xte. I mean it though, xte seems to have a mind of its own. I put in a command or whatever you call it that follows xte in "Command to execute:" in PM. The string has uppercase and lowercase letters, but xte will type only the capital letters. Later I try adding a keystroke for a return. That doesn't work, but after I remove it and go back to exactly the command that I previously had, it starts typing both upper- and lower-case letters.

Then I put in a different command (a key shift), but instead of doing what I want, xte goes crazy and keeps typing spaces -- it would type spaces no matter what was open; it seemed there was no way to stop it except by shutting down.

Then I go back to what I last had, but now it refuses to type anything but uppercase again. (Actually, what it does is ignore all lower-case input while outputting a lower-case letter for each upper-case character in the requested string!)

So, I have more work to do on xte, but it looks like you got me on the track I was asking for.

As Arnold would say, I'll be back.
__________________
.
. .

Help Save This Forum
for N8x0/Diablo Users! Register and Vote for Solution #1 on this Brainstorm. (The Solution will let you see New Posts with any threads you choose -- like the N900 and Maemo5/Fremantle threads -- filtered out.) (To understand the Solution better, see these posts #17, #18, and #19.)
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#24
With str, it tries to translate a string into key press (and release) events. If you're having trouble with that, you could try to run individual keys, giving you more direct control...

But it was working fine for me; the exact example shown typed Foo quite nicely. <shrug \>

There's a man page here:
http://linux.com.hk/penguin/man/1/xte.html

HTH
 
Posts: 1,950 | Thanked: 1,174 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Seattle, USA
#25
Originally Posted by Benson View Post
With str, it tries to translate a string into key press (and release) events. If you're having trouble with that, you could try to run individual keys, giving you more direct control...

But it was working fine for me; the exact example shown typed Foo quite nicely. <shrug \>

There's a man page here:
http://linux.com.hk/penguin/man/1/xte.html

HTH
Well, when I use your Foo command, I just get f (since the F in Foo was uppercase, it gets printed lowercase, and the lowercase o's get ignored).

But I've made the macros I want, and I'm a happy camper. If I want, say, "Gerald Ko", I use:
Code:
xte 'key Shift_L' "str GERALD " 'key Shift_L' "str KO"
I was even able to do a complete name-and-address with all the relevant tabs -- click one button and it tabs through all the fields, entering the name and then street address, etc., all on its own. The only weird keystroke is 'key Return' which brings up the finger keyboard and does not enter a return.

So, Benson, thanks!


(Now iif fiferboy will just give us a multi-headed Personal Menu -- a MIRV among launchers -- with the capability to password-protect one of its icon-sets, he'll also have the most convenient maemo password manager, filling in the username then tabbing then entering the password all from one click. )
__________________
.
. .

Help Save This Forum
for N8x0/Diablo Users! Register and Vote for Solution #1 on this Brainstorm. (The Solution will let you see New Posts with any threads you choose -- like the N900 and Maemo5/Fremantle threads -- filtered out.) (To understand the Solution better, see these posts #17, #18, and #19.)
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:40.