Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 171 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#21
Yep, I am using fcron as per my last post. So far seems to be working fine.
 
Posts: 83 | Thanked: 34 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Poole, UK
#22
Originally Posted by slewis1972 View Post
Ok -heres an update as it may help others.

I have successfully, finally, mapped my n900 to my readynas. Key issue was cifs not starting at bootup. So got it starting with:

depmod -a
Code:
echo start on startup > /etc/event.d/cifs
echo exec modprobe cifs >> /etc/event.d/cifsbefault

At this point I created a folder called "NAS" in /media

I have then created a scripts folder in /root/scripts as I was getting permission issues where else I put it.

In the script I have

#!/bin/sh
set -x
#mount NAS
mount -tcifs //xxxxxxxxx/media /media/NAS -ouser=xxxxxxxx,pass=xxxxxxx,ip=xxxxxx
#Transfer podcasts
rsync -r -t -o --ignore-existing --remove-sent-files /media/NAS/Music/podcasts /home/user/MyDocs/.sounds/Podcasts/
#transfer Music
rsync -r -t -o --delete --ignore-existing /media/NAS/Music/Music/ /home/user/MyDocs/.sounds/Music/

I then placed this line in cron.d. Not sure its the right one but believe it is:

0 21 * * * /root/scripts/syncfiles.sh
Ok, I'm sorry for being such a noob, but is it possible that you could explain what each line does, I am assuming that the lines with a # at the front are comments.

what about the depmod -a and the 2 lines with echo on them.

I have tried mounting the network drive, but am unable to do so, it says No Such Device.

Does the username need to be in the format DOMAIN\user, or just user?

What, if any apps do I need to install prior to trying this?
 
Posts: 171 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#23
The depod line starts cifs when you reboot your phone, otherwise cifs wont start.

In the media player, can you can you see your network share and access it?

Have you created your folder on your N900 that you are mounting?

In ref to domain users, not sure there as I worked it out based on other posts.

In ref to apps, not sure there as mine worked but I did have Wizard Mounter installed as that may help you.

Also - have you tried grsync as others have had success with this. It did not work for me initially.

Scott
 
Posts: 83 | Thanked: 34 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Poole, UK
#24
Ok, so it seems like I was having problems with the first bit that sets up cifs, but I installed the kernel-module-cifs (either in extras-devel or extras-testing), then the mounting worked no problem at all.

So, I guess i now need to find out what happens if the network location isn't avialable (i.e. i'm not in range of my wireless), and maybe do something so that it is only mounted when available
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 123 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#25
when I run rsync without the --ignore-existing switch on N900, all files I am trying to synchronize are retransfered, even the source and destination files are the same. With the switch it runs quickly but I don't think old files on N900 will get updated.

I use the same command for PC to PC synchronization, which works flawlessly. Is this a bug in N900's rsync?

Here's my rsync command:
rsync -ortv --exclude '*~' --delete -e ssh me@192.168.1.20:/home/singleton/music/ /home/user/MyDocs/.sounds/
 
Posts: 175 | Thanked: 210 times | Joined on Mar 2013
#26
when I run rsync without the --ignore-existing switch on N900, all files I am trying to synchronize are retransfered, even the source and destination files are the same. With the switch it runs quickly but I don't think old files on N900 will get updated.
I have the same behaviour, only that even with the --ignore-existing, rsync always deletes 3 albums from the n900 and then redownloads them back, and I don't understand why. I even used the -c flag that I've seen here but despite the fact that rsync is really really slow, even like this it continues to delete the same 3 albums and then redownloads them. I think that for now the best way is to continue using --ignore-existing, until maybe one day someone find the issue.

BTW this only happens with music so I think that the media player does something to the files, cause I had no problem with pictures or other data.

I know the threat is old but maybe someone will fix this issue (if possible).
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:06.