Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Apr 2007
#21
Editing your opera.ini file to spoof other browsers and change minimum font size

1. install becomeroot from the maemo repository [you should have figured out how to do this from previous posts in the the thread.]

2. open a terminal window and type "sudo gainroot" Tip: The preprompt cursor should change from $ to /home/user

3. Type in

cp ./.opera/opera.ini ./MyDocs/.documents/operaini.txt

This will copy the opera.ini file to a file entitled operaini.txt in your documents folder

4. Type in cd ./MyDocs/.documents/

This will change your directory to where you created the new file. Type in ls -l. If everything is good so far, there should be an operaini.txt file there.

5. My permissions were not properly set for the operaini.txt file, so I had to change the permission so I could edit this file. I did this by typing in

chmod ogu=rw operaini.txt

This gave the owner, group, and user permission to read (view) the file and write to (edit) the file. You can now close your terminal window.

6. Open up the Notes application and pull down open from the menu. You should be able to browse and find the operaini.txt file you created and open it.

7. Once the file is open, use the find on page tool to search for "spoof", which should locate

Spoof UserAgent Id

Change the UserAgent ID to what you want opera to identify itself as...

Global values:
1 = Opera
2 = Mozilla
3 = Internet Explorer
Site-specific values:
4 = Mozilla, Opera not mentioned
5 = Internet Explorer, Opera not mentioned

8. You may also want to change the minimum font size. Search for font size and change the value to something else (most likely bigger).

9. Save the changes to the document. Then making sure opera not running open Xterm, gain root access, and then type this:

cp -f ./MyDocs/.documents/operaini.txt ./.opera/opera.ini

This will copy your edited file back to the opera folder and overwrite the old .ini file.

If you really mess things up, opera should rewrite the ini file. However, in case of a meltdown, in the opera folder there is a file entitled opera.ini.backup . You can make copy of this file entitled opera.ini in the same directory which should set things back to your default settings.

Cool. Cool.
 
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 51 times | Joined on Apr 2007
#22
Originally Posted by signjc View Post
Editing your opera.ini file to spoof other browsers and change minimum font size

Global values:
1 = Opera
2 = Mozilla
3 = Internet Explorer
Site-specific values:
4 = Mozilla, Opera not mentioned
5 = Internet Explorer, Opera not mentioned
.
I tried 4. and 5. but it doesn't work. Opera is still mentioned as I can see from the logfiles of my http server.
 
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Apr 2007
#23
The settings are explained on the Opera webpage:

http://www.opera.com/support/usingopera/operaini/#ua

But maybe it doesn't work for the version of opera on the N800... In any case, if that isn't working, it's time to try privoxy - I'll see if I can get it running on my N800 and post my steps.
 
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Apr 2007
#24
After downloading gizmo project how do I get back to it? THAnks
 
garciajj's Avatar
Posts: 27 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Feb 2007
#25
How did you get your 6700 to work. I spent days to no avail. I finally gave up and got a different phone and paid for the PAM plan... The N800 never recognised it as a modem... What did I miss? I am now paying more for sprint vision that I did in the past...

Thank you in advance
 
wodin's Avatar
Posts: 71 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2007
#26
Originally Posted by garciajj View Post
How did you get your 6700 to work. I spent days to no avail. I finally gave up and got a different phone and paid for the PAM plan... The N800 never recognised it as a modem... What did I miss? I am now paying more for sprint vision that I did in the past...

Thank you in advance
I use BTModem on my Samsung i730 PDA Phone with WM05. I'm told it also works on the 6700, but don't know for sure since I don't have one to test.

BTModem can be had at http://pdaphonehome.com/forums/samsu...oft-stack.html
 
garciajj's Avatar
Posts: 27 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Feb 2007
#27
Originally Posted by wodin View Post
I use BTModem on my Samsung i730 PDA Phone with WM05. I'm told it also works on the 6700, but don't know for sure since I don't have one to test.

BTModem can be had at http://pdaphonehome.com/forums/samsu...oft-stack.html
That link talks about the samsung i730. I do have a 6700 sitting in a drawer, I can go to sprint and have them move me to the 6700 but I would like to know what I need to check before I make such a drastic change.

also, will they be able to tell that I am tethering (toothing) using this program? My computer was able to connect to the 6700 via bluetooth (and USB) using the built in application, but the n800 was not (the funny thing was that when I connected via usb, I got a nasty message on the 6700 telling me that I should not be tehering, I did not get this with BT). This is what had me scratching my head, why did the computer work with BT and the n800 did not. Going back to the normal all you can eat data plan for the 6700 is much cheaper than the Phone as Modem plan.

Thank you in advance,
JJG
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2007
#28
Pardon my ignorance but I need to buy a bluetooth phone so I can use my N800 where there's no wifi connection. I'm confused about the specs this phone should have to work well/optimally with my N800.

Nokia support basically told me any phone that has a "modem capability" & supports bluetooth 2.o should work. Is that right?

Tuxedosteve mentioned else where that he was moving from 56kbps gprs to 384kbps. Of course I'd like the fastest connection possible, does my choice of cellphones affect how many kbps I can get? Anything else I should consider w.r.t. N800 compatabiliity before buying my phone? thanks for your help.
 
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Wimer, Oregon
#29
JJG,

I have a Sprint 6700 and the N800 can use it as a modem just fine. If you live in an area with EVDO it's surprisingly fast.

That being said, I'm on the "regular" (not the Phone-As-Modem) Sprint Vision plan, which specifically disallows tethering, so other than checking e-mail while traveling I'm not intending to use it. The folks on Usenet claim that people have been kicked off the regular "all you can eat" Vision plan when its become obvious to Sprint that they're tethering.

Originally Posted by garciajj View Post
also, will they be able to tell that I am tethering (toothing) using this program?
They can, although apparently the particular implementation of the "phone as modem" connection on the 6700 doesn't bother to pass this bit of information along to Sprint (whereas, on the newer phones released once Sprint officially brought back PAM plans, you have to modify the phone's configuration if you *don't* want this bit of information sent back to Sprint).

My computer was able to connect to the 6700 via bluetooth (and USB) using the built in application, but the n800 was not
You actually don't need to use that "phone as modem" program. I've used it successfully via USB, but not via Bluetooth with the N800. What you do instead is just have the 6700 pair with the N800, and on the 6700 set the N800 as a "trusted device," which allows the N800 to connect with the 6700 whenever it wants.

(the funny thing was that when I connected via usb, I got a nasty message on the 6700 telling me that I should not be tehering, I did not get this with BT).
Interesting... I haven't seen that message, and I've used the 6700 for tethering to a laptop via USB.

Basically this all boils down to... yes, it can be made to work, but if you're doing it without the PAM plan, you won't find any official support and you also risk Sprint dropping your Vision service if you start using a lot of bandwidth.

---Joel
 
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Wimer, Oregon
#30
Originally Posted by liseetee View Post
Of course I'd like the fastest connection possible, does my choice of cellphones affect how many kbps I can get?
Greatly! As far as I'm aware, the major carriers you'd want to consider with high-speed Internet access are Sprint (with "EVDO," sometimes referred to as "PowerVision") and Verizon (with "Edge"). Both can readily get you to the 256-512kbps speed ranges, although Sprint is generally seen to be somewhat faster. Additionally, Verizon has significantly more usage restrictions than Sprint does: They specifically disallow VoIP applications, music/video streaming, and online gaming. Uggh! Finally, although both carriers have major parts of the country where their high-speed rollout isn't finished, Sprint does seem to be somewhat ahead of Verizon in this area as well.

See here for more info: http://forums.wirelessadvisor.com/wi...-compared.html

Last edited by JKolstad; 2007-05-24 at 21:20.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:35.