Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
NightShift79's Avatar
Posts: 417 | Thanked: 200 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Germany
#291
Originally Posted by Mentalist Traceur View Post
...

- Edit -

Yes, displaying a new clock on each desktop is doable. You just need to read the current desktop value in gconf, and go from there. The problem is I don't myself know where that value is (I couldn't figure it out from the Active Desktop Icon source code), and I'm not sure if Wonko or anyone else currently feels like doing it.
I'm not sure, but isn't that
"gconf key /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/views/current"

Last edited by NightShift79; 2011-01-15 at 23:12.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to NightShift79 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#292
Originally Posted by NightShift79 View Post
Btw, what do you say about showing individual clocks on the different desktops. Is it doable?
Implemented that feature in 0.13.0 which should be available in extras-devel shortly.
Unfortunately, this version breaks compatibility with older clock styles.

So, all clock styles need to be changed accordingly.
The change affects the constructor which now uses three (including self) parameters.
If you use the constructor for initialization etc. you need to forward the third parameter to the super constructor to make your clock work again.
If you do nothing else in your constructor except calling the super constructor you could as well delete the constructor.

Edit:
@NightShift79
Yes it is.
To be accurate it is: "/apps/osso/hildon-desktop/views/current".
It's the plural "views".
But well this is pretty much nitpicking.
__________________

Last edited by Wonko; 2011-01-15 at 12:44.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 561 | Thanked: 75 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Spain
#293
Can you give me directions to use the custom format field?
An example might suffice me.

Thanks.
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#294
Originally Posted by WhiteWolf View Post
Can you give me directions to use the custom format field?
An example might suffice me.

Thanks.
Well, this strongly depends on the clock style.
I think the only clock style that currently uses that field follows the python datetime strftime() formatting as described in: http://docs.python.org/library/datet...ptime-behavior
E.g., something like "%H:%M" should display the clock as "Hour:Minute".
This clock style was posted here some time ago.
__________________
 
Posts: 270 | Thanked: 37 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#295
sorry, could you explain what is the meaning of "pad zero"? and I installed klingon font but when I use it I see only square
thank you

Last edited by iscio; 2011-01-15 at 16:35.
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#296
Originally Posted by Wonko View Post
So, all clock styles need to be changed accordingly.
The change affects the constructor which now uses three (including self) parameters.
If you use the constructor for initialization etc. you need to forward the third parameter to the super constructor to make your clock work again.
If you do nothing else in your constructor except calling the super constructor you could as well delete the constructor.
Ummm... (Great work btw: I thought this would take a long time to get implemented, but here you are, making the Advanced Clock Plugin even better.)

So am I changing
def __init__([something in here])
or
clock.Clock.__init__([something in here])
or both?

If I understand correctly, I can just delete the __init__ area for something like the Binary4DotClock, since nothing happens in the init area. However, I do need the __init__ area for the clock style I'm currently working on, since that's where I initially create some variables which I need existing before the draw clock area takes over and runs with them indefinitely.

- Edit -
Enceladus, here you go, fixed Binary4Dot:
Binary4DotClock.py.txt
Also, here's the fixed DateTimeLinearClock, for the guy who wanted that originally, since that broke with this update too:
DateTimeLinearClock.py.txt

Last edited by Mentalist Traceur; 2011-01-15 at 17:21. Reason: Added updated Binary4DotClock and DateTimeLinearClock
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#297
Originally Posted by Mentalist Traceur View Post
So am I changing
def __init__([something in here])
or
clock.Clock.__init__([something in here])
or both?
You need to change both:
Code:
def __init__(self, area, id)
    clock.Clock.__init__(self, area, id)
__________________
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#298
Originally Posted by iscio View Post
sorry, could you explain what is the meaning of "pad zero"? and I installed klingon font but when I use it I see only square
thank you
Pad zeros simply means that the hours are "filled" with zeros if the value is below 10.
E.g.: 8 is displayed as 08 with "pad zeros" enabled.

Which package did you use to install the Klingon fonts?
What clock style do you use?
If it's not the DecimalClock, could you give that one a try.
What Klingon font did you select?
__________________
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#299
Originally Posted by Wonko View Post
You need to change both:
Code:
def __init__(self, area, id)
    clock.Clock.__init__(self, area, id)
Much appreciated. I prob'ly have fumbled around trying to figure it out for a while.
 
NightShift79's Avatar
Posts: 417 | Thanked: 200 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Germany
#300
thanks Wonko, for the new features!
But I'm lost on how to fix the clocks...
could you include the fixed clocks in a next update?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:47.