Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 968 | Thanked: 974 times | Joined on Nov 2008 @ Ohio
#311
jolouis-

Un-installed, deleted, re-installed. Loaded fine, first try enabling alarm freezes on the "Wait a Moment" screen 2+ minutes. Killed it, restarted, alarm works fine. Still get the wallpaper error.

From xterm as root:

read user config file
trying to load/home/user/MyDocs/7mile%20beach%20grand%20cayman.jpg
Your osso lib has an issue, power management disabled...
python[1028]: GLIB DEBUG ConIc - con_ic_connection_send_event(0x352c10, 4e6f9040-e549-4da6-a3ac-09ce2ab12300, WLAN_INFRA, 0)

Just for giggles, I renamed and reset my background eliminating the spaces in the file name (7mile beach grand cayman.jpg to 7milebeachgrandcayman.jpg) and no more wallpaper error. Output from xterm is the same (with the exception of the filename).

Hope that helps.

*edit* on screen blank xterm adds:
System Inactivity: 1
System Inactivity: 0

Last edited by lemmyslender; 2009-03-18 at 11:42. Reason: added more info
 
Posts: 631 | Thanked: 837 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Milton, Ontario, Canada
#312
Glad to hear that it's now at least installing without problems. Lemmy, you have some interesting stuff going on there for sure! ;o)

The background thing I'll try myself here with a background file that contains some spaces and strange characters/etc to try and reproduce the error; thanks for helping troubleshoot that one!
As for the alarm thing locking up the first time you try to set it, and then working properly after that... that's very strange, it sounds like you may have had an old alarm in the AlarmD queue that was messed up or something. In any case I'm glad to hear that it worked after the first attempt, but I'll wait and see if anyone else runs into that odd behaviour as I've now installed on 3 tablets and have not been able to get it to occur myself.
One thing that's really, really unusual though is that you say the terminal output says "Your osso lib has an issue, power management disabled...", (which is the result of that old line 73 failing), but then it later produces "System Inactivity: 1
System Inactivity: 0 " which means that the old line 73 is actually working! Very confusing... lol Anyways again thanks for the help troubleshooting this, I'll try to get that wallpaper one at least fixed up.

Thanks!
 
Posts: 631 | Thanked: 837 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Milton, Ontario, Canada
#313
Quick update:
Okay got everything figured out, just a few very small things that were causing the problems in the end.
1) Lemmy, in ci_init.py, around line 259 there's this:
userbg = userbg.replace("file://", "")

Just go in after that an add another condition to fix the spaces in your filename:
userbg = userbg.replace("%20", " ")

I've tested it on one of my tablets and confirmed that this resolves the background problem.

2) I finally managed to reproduce the osso.deviceState problem, and have fixed it in the development files here so the next version of the app will not generate any errors related to this. It works in the current version after the update I made last night, but it'll be properly properly fixed as of the next release.

3) The one thing I can't duplicate is the "setting alarm" thing hanging there for a few minutes the first time I run the app, but I'll keep trying at that.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jolouis For This Useful Post:
Faz's Avatar
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 80 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ London, UK
#314
Woohoo!! Latest deb works!!

My tablet froze for a good 5 - 10 seconds, blank screen.... Thought maybe it had shutdown.... Then Flipclock finished loading!

Subsequent launches load speedy.

Thanks!!
 
pelago's Avatar
Posts: 2,121 | Thanked: 1,540 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ Oxford, UK
#315
Originally Posted by mfortner View Post
I'd love to have the option of dimming or keeping the clock screen up. I don't sleep well and look at the clock a lot.
Hi mfortner, I realise that this is off-topic for this thread, but I sometimes suffer from insomnia too. I read somewhere that it was not a good idea, when you can't sleep, to keep checking the clock. Indeed, I found that I sleep better if I turn my clock around (it has luminous arms) so that I can't see it at night. So maybe that will help you too.

Originally Posted by jolouis View Post
Just go in after that an add another condition to fix the spaces in your filename:
userbg = userbg.replace("%20", " ")
Going back on-topic: Have you thought about generalising that fix? Presumably there will be other characters other than spaces that get escaped in filenames.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pelago For This Useful Post:
Posts: 968 | Thanked: 974 times | Joined on Nov 2008 @ Ohio
#316
jolouis-

Updated ci_init.py per your instructions. I can confirm that it picks up the spaces in the filename properly now.

Thanks for all the hard work keep it up.

Works great using the alarm dbus too! Will launch and play mp3's even if not running. Love the 10 minute snooze button as well.
 
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Oct 2008 @ Germany, Erlangen
#317
I used the new version today and set a time for 05:45 in the morning, but nothing happened. I just went off, at 10:45. Why is the tablet 5 hours late?
I looked for the timezone in the configuration and it is set right to Germany/Berlin.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Didge For This Useful Post:
ciroip's Avatar
Posts: 334 | Thanked: 366 times | Joined on Nov 2008 @ Italy
#318
Originally Posted by pelago View Post
Hi mfortner, I realise that this is off-topic for this thread, but I sometimes suffer from insomnia too. I read somewhere that it was not a good idea, when you can't sleep, to keep checking the clock. Indeed, I found that I sleep better if I turn my clock around (it has luminous arms) so that I can't see it at night. So maybe that will help you too.
Im working on a 'jumping sheeps' version
__________________
I can't do it. No one can help.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Flip Alarm Clock - 3DMania Theme - Synesthesia - Deluxepain
http://ciroip.blogspot.com/
http://twitter.com/ciroippolito
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ciroip For This Useful Post:
ciroip's Avatar
Posts: 334 | Thanked: 366 times | Joined on Nov 2008 @ Italy
#319
Originally Posted by Didge View Post
I used the new version today and set a time for 05:45 in the morning, but nothing happened. I just went off, at 10:45. Why is the tablet 5 hours late?
I looked for the timezone in the configuration and it is set right to Germany/Berlin.
Yes, same behaviour with Italian time. Not sure if 12 or 24 or both mode.
I still have to take a look at the J code (I guess on weekend Ill' take a look) but I presume is just a trivial error easily fixable.
When I tried the Dbus road I read somewhere someone complain about time setting (12/24 connected to home config) and Qgil answering that was a low priority and never fixed... Maybe is related to that.
Anyway I would love to see a real integration with the 'nokiaclock' settings (does not seem right to try to duplicate an OS feature), have the small clock on status bar and the list of alarms on the nokia alarm list but im not sure if that is really possible (lack of docs and I think nokia close source fot their cr*p).
Im never been happy with the Dbus alarm thing; it never seem reliable enough: on paper the OS solution is the best possible but I feel there are just too many variable out of control: and launching the HUGE 3mb python just for make the thing hopefully playing is a recipe for disaster.
J is making a great works and probably a lot of this issue will just disappeared with new hardware and new OS, so is probably the right road for the official app. But that dont fit my need : Ill keep developing a parallel version where every variable the user see is what is going to happen and try to avoid as much OS traps as I can. The OS infrastructure on the actual tablets are so minimal that TO ME is often just easier replace with custom solutions (windows managments, requests, dialogs, etc). Obviously I just like doing it and is a waste of energy + bring really few contribute to the general maemo scene but is just my itch and I m glad maemo still host my python rantles.
Now is better grab some lunch and prepare for final week days rush
__________________
I can't do it. No one can help.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Flip Alarm Clock - 3DMania Theme - Synesthesia - Deluxepain
http://ciroip.blogspot.com/
http://twitter.com/ciroippolito
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ciroip For This Useful Post:
Posts: 69 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Feb 2009
#320
Set the Flip alarm for 6:00am this morning (and put it on nightlight), got woken up by her alarm clock at 6:30am. Looked at the NIT, Flip had reverted to daytime (flip) mode, frozen at 6:00am, bottom iconbar was blank. Had to 'task manager' Flip to get it to close.

Any ideas?
 
Reply

Tags
clock, flip clock


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:26.