Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jun 2010
#321
I'm just glad this project exists. The CustomClock that someone provided somewhere along the line in this thread (I -think- I Thanked for it...I'll go check tomorrow...) is what I expected from Maemo in the first place.

Well, except for the fact that had it not come with special ~-related instructions I would have tried to use %n to separate lines.
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#322
Oh, I'm just as glad, for sure. It's one of those amazingly versatile yet not-really-major changes that no one ever feels is needed, so it's rarely implemented, but then along comes someone like Wonko and makes it happen, and suddenly everyone's enjoyment of life goes up slightly.

(In other news, my fancy clock-style of fanciness is almost done, methinks. I Just took another brief break from working on it due to other distractions, but I'm basically done with everything except making the clock update every second even when show seconds is disabled, but I'm happy to "release", if not to the repos just yet, it even without that bit.)

Sidenote: Is it possible to reduce the gap between the clock's drawing area and the beginning of the signal bars in a way that could be specified in-clock-style?
 
NightShift79's Avatar
Posts: 417 | Thanked: 200 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Germany
#323
any chance we can get custom settings for clock in portrait mode?
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#324
Originally Posted by NightShift79 View Post
any chance we can get custom settings for clock in portrait mode?
Doable. Not sure anyone will bother.

(Clock styles can use DBus to find out if they're in portrait mode or not - so can the main clock.py. Question is, does Wonko or anyone else have the time to make it happen?)

- Edit -

That said, when I get my clock-style all nice and done so much that I'm happy with it, I'll be happy to see if these other things can be implemented.
 
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ NC, USA
#325
Very nice app. One thing I noticed, however, is that when the alarm indicator is disabled, the rest of the status area does not more over to fill in the empty space. This leaves an awkward amount of space after the time. Is there any way to get rid of this?

Thanks
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#326
Originally Posted by prattmic View Post
Very nice app. One thing I noticed, however, is that when the alarm indicator is disabled, the rest of the status area does not more over to fill in the empty space. This leaves an awkward amount of space after the time. Is there any way to get rid of this?

Thanks
Do you mean when it's completely disabled, or when you have the alarm indicator enabled, but the alarm isn't set? And are you using an icon for your alarm indicator, or the default cairo-drawn circle?

What clock style are you using? Which ones have you noticed this problem on? (It resizes fine for me.)

Last edited by Mentalist Traceur; 2011-01-29 at 22:20.
 
msa's Avatar
Posts: 909 | Thanked: 216 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Bremen, Germany
#327
after installing this (great app btw), the alarm symbol next to the clock gets replaced with a boring red dot.

can anyone provide me with the original bell-icon?
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#328
Originally Posted by msa View Post
after installing this (great app btw), the alarm symbol next to the clock gets replaced with a boring red dot.

can anyone provide me with the original bell-icon?
You can use the alarm indicator icon option to select a custom icon.
Note: the icon needs to be in /home/user/MyDocs.
To get the "stock" alarm indicator you can copy the icon from /usr/share/icons/hicolor/18x18/hildon/general_alarm_on.png to MyDocs and then select it.

By the way, I am currently working on getting version 0.14.0 ready.
Though, I don't know what the final features will be.
One goal I am currently trying to achieve is to support custom images for digits.
This would enable even more options for custom theming/design.
I already fixed some issues with respect to font scaling etc. and added twelve hour mode for the binary clock as already suggested in here.
__________________
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 482 | Thanked: 550 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#329
Wonko: What is the main script, and where does it draw the custom clock? I would prefer not to use a refresh rate variable, as that would result in a clock being drawn, say, 30 times a second. The animation, however, would only go for maybe half that time - so I would only need the first 15 redraws, the rest would just be wasting processor. Also, for a clock that doesn't show seconds, the benefit of redrawing a fixed number of times in a loop is huge: 15 redraws per minute (all in the first half-second) vs. 1800 redraws per minute. This is why I would like to find out where I can explicitly ask for a redraw, instead of just letting the main clock script give me one.
 
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#330
Originally Posted by skykooler View Post
Wonko: What is the main script, and where does it draw the custom clock? I would prefer not to use a refresh rate variable, as that would result in a clock being drawn, say, 30 times a second. The animation, however, would only go for maybe half that time - so I would only need the first 15 redraws, the rest would just be wasting processor. Also, for a clock that doesn't show seconds, the benefit of redrawing a fixed number of times in a loop is huge: 15 redraws per minute (all in the first half-second) vs. 1800 redraws per minute. This is why I would like to find out where I can explicitly ask for a redraw, instead of just letting the main clock script give me one.
Couldn't you then have your clock style check whether seconds are shown?

Alternatively, I agree, it's not the MOST versatile system per se, but what exactly is your solution? Implement a way for the clock style to just 'call' for a redraw at any step? What do people who want to specify a redraw exactly every X-time-interval do then? Write an entire if-then loop just to check to see if the appropriate amount of time elapsed? (Not a big deal, but extra resources yet again.)

HOWEVER, I don't see why both can't be done. Having both a callable-from-within-clock-style 'redraw' function, and a refresh rate variable. Yet again, more customizable-ness, and the developers of clock styles can chose which one they feel fits better with what they want. (Well, other than extra work for Wonko, but hey, that's why this is open source, and uncompiled python no less.)

Also, I'm pretty sure main script is /opt/maemo/usr/lib/advanced-clock-plugin/clock.py /usr/lib/hildon-desktop/advanced-clock-plugin.py

Looks like lines 159 - 168 is what you want in that file... And it looks like you CAN just have an 'update every second' that can be set to true in-clock-style, and then you can add another or condition to line 165.

That bit of the code makes me think that it only updates once a second though. You may have to go higher up in the code and change how precisely it fetches the time, or you may also include a "or [enable forceable redraw variable name]" in the aforementioned line 165. And so then if you can call that function from within the clock style, and have set the variable to true in your init area, it won't bother checking if the time changed. (If python works that way. Way out of my league right now.)

That's how I'm envisioning it would be best from my limited perspective, though: Make two new variables, one for redraw-every-second, one for allow-forced-redraws. Include both of those in their own "or"s in the if statement on line 165 of the advanced-clock-plugin.py file.

But you guys understand this a lot better than me, and I'm a complete python newb still, so yeah. I'm sure you can think of something better/more efficient/whatever.

Last edited by Mentalist Traceur; 2011-01-30 at 08:14. Reason: Found the actual main script.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:40.