Poll: Do you think its possible to overclock the N900?!
Poll Options
Do you think its possible to overclock the N900?!

Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 59 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3551
Originally Posted by AlMehdi View Post
opss.. you need to be root.. try:

1. root
2. cd /home/opt/scripts/
3. ./oc-safty.sh
thanks a lot for the help but now i take another error
line 28 : syntax error: "fi' unexpected (expecting 'then')
 
Posts: 1,751 | Thanked: 844 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sweden
#3552
Originally Posted by dimkit View Post
thanks a lot for the help but now i take another error
line 28 : syntax error: "fi' unexpected (expecting 'then')
This question is better suited for the maker of the script. But by the looks of it. It's one to much of "fi". Every "if" ends with "fi" and the script has one to many.

Try removing the last "fi" and then try again.

My scripting knowledge are veeeeery basic so if someone understand this better please make a post
 
Posts: 59 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3553
i have try deleting for the last lines the one 'fi' but again i receive the same error
 
Posts: 38 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#3554
a new version of my script used to change kernel settings based on battery temperature.

i am sorry for the typo in my last post.

usage instructions.

copy the contents into a file.
chmod +x FILENAME
type sudo :/FILENAME & (while in the same directory)


you can replace the word ideal, with any other profile (starving, xlv, lv or your own)
You can replace the speeds with any speed supported by the kernel
You can change the temperatures (currently 45, and 40)
You can change the frequency of probing (change sleep 30 to sleep 60 if you want it to run every minute).

It should be possible to move the modeprobe command outside the loop, but it does not work on my system.

One word of guidance, at low temperatures you can use lower voltages. When the temperature becomes higher, the same voltage would not work anymore.

Script follows

#!/bin/sh
set old="fhy"
set limits="yyu"
set oldlimits="r"
set new="rrr"
while test 2 -gt 1;
do
modprobe bq27x00_battery
read tmpr </sys/class/power_supply/bq27200-0/temp
if test $tmpr -gt 45;
then new="default";
limits="250 600";
else
if test $tmpr -gt 40;
then new="ideal";
limits="500 600";
else new="ideal";
limits="500 900"
fi
fi
if test "$old" != "$new"
then
/usr/sbin/kernel-config load "$new";
oldlimits="ttt";
old=$new;
fi
if test "$limits" != "$oldlimits";
then
/usr/sbin/kernel-config limits $limits;
oldlimits=$limits;
fi
sleep 30
done

Last edited by sdpkom; 2010-05-11 at 06:05.
 
Posts: 155 | Thanked: 61 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#3555
Loving kernel-power.

Just wondering if you (the Titan) could add these options to your build: CONFIG_NET_SCHED NET_SCH_INGRESS and CONFIG_IP_ADVANCED_ROUTER

I want to be able to setup ip rules so that I can have multiple route tables (makes sending say, Skype or jabber etc, over a VPN easy)

Cheers!!
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#3556
Hi Everyone,
First of all a quick apology, i really am trying - and not so much failing, but failing to find the correct information. Have searched the wikie, and read through most of these pages - but hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I have managed the overclock fine on a few occasions, so all good.
Now i'm trying to add the buttons as similar to this post

But really i would love to get something like this - Linky to Jakimans post (screeny in there)

As you can see below - i have followed the guide to get the ideal buttons, and have added two more. So all seems good.
Any quick links or assistance people may have in adding the following :
  • A button for 800/850 mhz (or near)
  • A button for 950 mhz (or near)
  • A button for 1 ghz (or near)
  • The last one i think i can do, but i want to set the lower value to 125mhz (Currently have them available but loads normal values on load)

Current desktop


Current frequencies available
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3557
Originally Posted by jaemo View Post
I have the latest titan kernel installed. since yesterday i try to use tethering with a program named joikuspot. it semms that joikuspot didnt work with the titan kernel?
mayby thats not right, because with stock kernel i am able to connect to my windows machine. all linux boxes cant connect with both kernels to n900 (i use wicd on debian squeeze, kernel 2.6.33)? somebody using joikuspot and can give information?
thanks and sorry for poor english!
sorry for off topic, but mayby kernel related.
Hello, have the same problem here, I cannot use Joikuspot anymore.
 
Posts: 1,729 | Thanked: 388 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Canada
#3558
Originally Posted by noobmonkey View Post
Hi Everyone,
First of all a quick apology, i really am trying - and not so much failing, but failing to find the correct information. Have searched the wikie, and read through most of these pages - but hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I have managed the overclock fine on a few occasions, so all good.
Now i'm trying to add the buttons as similar to this post

But really i would love to get something like this - Linky to Jakimans post (screeny in there)

As you can see below - i have followed the guide to get the ideal buttons, and have added two more. So all seems good.
Any quick links or assistance people may have in adding the following :
  • A button for 800/850 mhz (or near)
  • A button for 950 mhz (or near)
  • A button for 1 ghz (or near)
  • The last one i think i can do, but i want to set the lower value to 125mhz (Currently have them available but loads normal values on load)

Current desktop


Current frequencies available
as i understand, you need codes?

you helped me a lot with the health check now its my turn to return the favor.

in the Queen beecon app.

-add Cmd
-name: whatever you wish
-command (1ghz): echo "echo 1000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq" | sudo gainroot

change the numbers on the freq you wish.

for ideal, xlv, lv, ulv.

-comm: echo "/usr/sbin/kernel-load /usr/share/kernel-power-settings/default" | sudo gainroot

change "default" to ideal, xlv, ulv.....

all those are making the commands in queenbee. others are just for your personalization.

and one more. on the update options,

-only check the "update when click" uncheck the others
__________________
if i did help you, just click "Thanks" on the lower right of my post. thanks!

"The best way to break a Spell is to prevent it from being cast in the first place"

N900: 1000/1150mhz; sampling_rate 15; up_threshold 150000;

Last edited by gabby131; 2010-05-12 at 07:16.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gabby131 For This Useful Post:
giecsar's Avatar
Posts: 91 | Thanked: 34 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Italy
#3559
Say I want to just lower the min freq to 125MHz. Would this work:

"echo 125 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq" | sudo gainroot

?
With scaling_min_freq
 
Posts: 946 | Thanked: 1,650 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#3560
Originally Posted by cfeleaga View Post
Hello, have the same problem here, I cannot use Joikuspot anymore.
I don't have nor use Joikuspot but the module is included in my kernel.
I don't know how it works but if it only tries to insmod its own
module for the Nokia kernel then you could manually "modprobe JoikuSpot_Bouncer".
does that work?
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to titan For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
cooking on gas, cortex-a8, faster, first to fry it wins!, hardware, its smoking, n900, need for speed, need for weed, nos, omap, omap3, omap3430, overclock, overclocking, soc, system-on-a-chip, the dogs, this thread got good!, vtec just kicked in y0!, warranty will be void, whooplah, zoom zoom


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32.