Poll: Do you think its possible to overclock the N900?!
Poll Options
Do you think its possible to overclock the N900?!

Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 51 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3581
it shows amongst otherthings avoid frequencies 125,250 and up threshold +75 and sampling frequency at 15000

ignore nice load =1 - what does that mean?

How do i change those settings on this - I'd prefer to not have to edit tables
 
Posts: 202 | Thanked: 60 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#3582
What am I supposed to do to make the clock change dynamically? I use the ulv settings, set the limits to 250 1000 but the device jumps directly between 250 and 1ghz. What happened to all the frequencies in between?
 
Posts: 1,751 | Thanked: 844 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sweden
#3583
Originally Posted by ericj23 View Post
it shows amongst otherthings avoid frequencies 125,250 and up threshold +75 and sampling frequency at 15000

ignore nice load =1 - what does that mean?

How do i change those settings on this - I'd prefer to not have to edit tables
Two things to do..

Go root

1. First you need to make your own settings file:
kernel-config save my-settings

It will tell you the place where it got saved.

2. Then open it with leafpad (might need to install leafpad):
leafpad /home/user/.kernel/my-settings (And edit threshold and sampling)

3. And secondly write as root in terminal.
echo 125000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/avoid_frequencies (please use tab-key to finish a dir.. /sys/devi "tab")

Last edited by AlMehdi; 2010-05-11 at 18:29.
 
Posts: 1,751 | Thanked: 844 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sweden
#3584
Originally Posted by Ayle View Post
What am I supposed to do to make the clock change dynamically? I use the ulv settings, set the limits to 250 1000 but the device jumps directly between 250 and 1ghz. What happened to all the frequencies in between?
If you raise the "sampling rate" it will use more freqs. I am doing 350000 and 95 up threshold.. think my battery last longer. Don't jump as much between freqs now. Stays longer on 250mhz which have lower voltsetting.
 
Posts: 51 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3585
Originally Posted by AlMehdi View Post
Two things to do..

1. First you need to make your own settings file:
kernel-config save my-settings

It will tell you the place where it got saved.

2. Then open it with leafpad (might need to install leafpad):
leafpad /home/user/.kernel/my-settings (And edit threshold and sampling)

3. And secondly write as root in terminal.
echo 125000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/avoid_frequencies (please use tab-key to finish a dir.. /sys/devi "tab")
Thanks

the thing is I want to know what the settings actually do before I change them - and I am quite interested in what the above psoter suggested to

How to get it to cover a range of cpu freq?
 
Posts: 202 | Thanked: 60 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#3586
Originally Posted by AlMehdi View Post
If you raise the "sampling rate" it will use more freqs. I am doing 350000 and 95 up threshold.. think my battery last longer. Don't jump as much between freqs now. Stays longer on 250mhz which have lower voltsetting.
And how do I raise the sampling rate with creating a new settings file??
 
Posts: 59 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3587
Originally Posted by sdpkom View Post
a new version of my script used to change kernel settings based on battery temperature.

i am sorry for the typo in my last post.

usage instructions.

copy the contents into a file.
chmod +x FILENAME
type sudo :/FILENAME & (while in the same directory)


you can replace the word ideal, with any other profile (starving, xlv, lv or your own)
You can replace the speeds with any speed supported by the kernel
You can change the temperatures (currently 45, and 40)
You can change the frequency of probing (change sleep 30 to sleep 60 if you want it to run every minute).

It should be possible to move the modeprobe command outside the loop, but it does not work on my system.

One word of guidance, at low temperatures you can use lower voltages. When the temperature becomes higher, the same voltage would not work anymore.

Script follows

#!/bin/sh
set old="fhy"
set limits="yyu"
set oldlimits="r"
set new="rrr"
while test 2 -gt 1;
do
modprobe bq27x00_battery
read tmpr </sys/class/power_supply/bq27200-0/temp
if test $tmpr -gt 45;
then new="default";
limits="250 600";
else
if test $tmpr -gt 40;
then new="ideal";
limits="500 600";
else new="ideal";
limits="500 900"
fi
fi
if test "$old" != "$new"
then
/usr/sbin/kernel-config load "$new";
oldlimits="ttt";
old=$new;
fi
if test "$limits" != "$oldlimits";
then
/usr/sbin/kernel-config limits $limits;
oldlimits=$limits;
fi
sleep 30
done
i finally manage to make the script work , but how can i check that it really works ?
because i run sygic under the sun for 10minutes , with outside temprature 29 celsious , and my phone continue to run with max 900
, is there any program for checking my cpu temprature?

Last edited by dimkit; 2010-05-11 at 17:45.
 
Posts: 51 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3588
Originally Posted by AlMehdi View Post
Two things to do..

1. First you need to make your own settings file:
kernel-config save my-settings

It will tell you the place where it got saved.

2. Then open it with leafpad (might need to install leafpad):
leafpad /home/user/.kernel/my-settings (And edit threshold and sampling)

3. And secondly write as root in terminal.
echo 125000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/avoid_frequencies (please use tab-key to finish a dir.. /sys/devi "tab")
must be doing something wrong - I cant get the last part to work

comes up with things about not being able to create directory
 
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#3589
Originally Posted by gabby131 View Post
as i understand, you need codes?

you helped me a lot with the health check no its my turn to return the favor.

in the Queen beecon app.

-add Cmd
-name: whatever you wish
-command (1ghz): echo "echo 1000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq" | sudo gainroot

change the numbers on the freq you wish.

for ideal, xlv, lv, ulv.

-comm: echo "/usr/sbin/kernel-load /usr/share/kernel-power-settings/default" | sudo gainroot

change "default" to ideal, xlv, ulv.....

all those are making the commands in queenbee. others are just for your personalization.

and one more. on the update options,

-only check the "update when click" uncheck th others
Perfect! thankyou very very much for your time it took to reply. very appreciated
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 
Posts: 1,751 | Thanked: 844 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sweden
#3590
Originally Posted by Ayle View Post
And how do I raise the sampling rate with creating a new settings file??
When you have made the setting file and later open it with leafpad you will understand.

The stock setting is 300000.. some ppl like 150000 but i prefer 350000. I don't want the freq jumps be cause i think it waste battery. I have raised it to 350000 so it will need more before it go up to next freq.
 
Reply

Tags
cooking on gas, cortex-a8, faster, first to fry it wins!, hardware, its smoking, n900, need for speed, need for weed, nos, omap, omap3, omap3430, overclock, overclocking, soc, system-on-a-chip, the dogs, this thread got good!, vtec just kicked in y0!, warranty will be void, whooplah, zoom zoom


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49.