Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 74 | Thanked: 45 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#31
Finally, I have switch to extra-devel just for the installing of octave (and remove the extra-devel afterwards).

Thanks to developers, I think it is a pretty tool. By the way, I guess you realized the '=' symbol is slower to use than others that are directly in keyboard (at least in Pt and Spanish ones). There are 2 possibilities for users to solve that, modifying the layout when opening octave (through a shell script) or smarter to define a new operator equal to the '='. I don't remember what should i do for the last option. If somebody remember, please reply me, otherwise I will write it here when I found how it was as I guess it will be interesting for others.

I think this is a beautiful tool as it convert your cell into the "better" programmable calculator.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to antviro For This Useful Post:
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ AU/MY
#32
Originally Posted by jwshale View Post
Also, it would appear that octave packages can be installed by downloading from the internet (octave sourceforge) and the doing the following from within octave:
Code:
pkg install /foo/bar/downloadedpackage.tar.gz
Hi there, sorry to bring up an old thread, but could someone help me install an octave package. I'm getting the following:

Code:
configure: error: in `/var/tmp/oct-NBXuTf/odepkg-0.6.10/src': 
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables 
See `config.log' for more details. 
the configure script returned the following error: checking for gcc... gcc 
checking whether the C compiler works... no 
error: called from `pkg>configure_make' in file /opt/octave//share/octave/3.2.3/m/pkg/pkg.m near line 1240, column 2 
error: called from: 
error: /opt/octave//share/octave/3.2.3/m/pkg/pkg.m at line 714, column 5 
error: /opt/octave//share/octave/3.2.3/m/pkg/pkg.m at line 287, column 7
any suggestions?
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#33
Can gcc create a simple Hello World! app? Or is there some problem with its installation?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ AU/MY
#34
Originally Posted by lardman View Post
Can gcc create a simple Hello World! app? Or is there some problem with its installation?
Where abouts do i write the line of code for the Hello World app? within xterminal? Can you please show me.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mdziaf For This Useful Post:
Posts: 74 | Thanked: 45 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#35
Do yo have a gcc installed on your maemo?

It seems to be in extras-devel or in SDK repositories:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...&highlight=gcc

You can check it by calling it from the xterm, for instance at my laptop:

$> gcc --version
gcc (Debian 4.4.5-8) 4.4.5
Copyright (C) 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to antviro For This Useful Post:
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ AU/MY
#36
Originally Posted by antviro View Post
Do yo have a gcc installed on your maemo?

It seems to be in extras-devel or in SDK repositories:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...&highlight=gcc

You can check it by calling it from the xterm, for instance at my laptop:

$> gcc --version
gcc (Debian 4.4.5-8) 4.4.5
Copyright (C) 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
ok just ran the
Code:
~$ gcc --version
an got
Code:
-sh: gcc: not found
so i guess i haven't installed it yet :P that must explain why it was giving me the error..will try downloading gcc and try installing a package.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mdziaf For This Useful Post:
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ AU/MY
#37
after writing pkg install symbolic-1.0.9.tar.gz, now I'm getting the following error:
Code:
configure: error: GINAC not found
the configure script returned the following error: checking for pkg-config... no
checking for GINAC...
error: called from 'pkg>configure_make' in file /opt/octave//share/octave/3.2.3/m/pkg/pkg.m near line 1240, column 2
error: called from:
error:    /opt/octave//share/octave/3.2.3/m/pkg/pkg.m at line 714, column 5
error:    /opt/octave//share/octave/3.2.3/m/pkg/pkg.m at line 287, column 7
 
Posts: 74 | Thanked: 45 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#38
Can you check whether pkg-config is within any package of extra-devel?
 
Posts: 46 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ AU/MY
#39
sorry but how do i do that?
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#40
I'm not so sure that building the packages ourselves on the device is the best way to go. It would be preferable in terms of installation space (no need for GCC and all the other Octave deps) as well as speed to be able to compile and then package these up using scratchbox.

Has anyone looked at whether this is possible/how awkward it would be?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:48.