Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 559 | Thanked: 166 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Cyprus
#31
Originally Posted by b666m View Post
what link/playlist are you trying to open?
basically if this works we can all enjoy free UK tv on our N900 (tvcatchup streams), but any .m3u8 streams would do.
 
Marshall Banana's Avatar
Posts: 94 | Thanked: 209 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#32
Originally Posted by sophocha View Post
This is driving me nuts!

I`ve tried it with the quotes, now it says:

ImportError: No module named HLS
/home/user # hls-player
/bin/sh: hls-player: not found

Do I have to put any files in /bin/sh ???
I have the required .py files in /home/user

Thanks
The problem is: In the file player.py a module named HLS get's imported. The way you a trying to work (untar the sources and execute python player.py <url>) is not working because you need to install the module HLS first. Roughly speaking this file named __init__.py in the HLS directory is the HLS module.
You can check if the module HLS exists by starting python in the terminal and type import HLS in the interactive console.

This is the way to install it:
download the source tarball from here: http://gitorious.org/hls-player/hls-...commits/master
open terminal and become root and unpack the source tarball
go into the directory where setup.py is and the HLS directory
Execute the following command: python setup.py install (For this you will need to have python-setuptools installed)
This will make the module HLS available in python

Now you can test your player again

Good luck

Last edited by Marshall Banana; 2010-02-10 at 19:58. Reason: Oorgle!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Marshall Banana For This Useful Post:
Posts: 559 | Thanked: 166 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Cyprus
#33
Originally Posted by Marshall Banana View Post
The problem is: In the file player.py a module named HLS get's imported. The way you a trying to work (untar the sources and execute python player.py <url>) is not working because you need to install the module HLS first. Roughly speaking this file named __init__.py in the HLS directory is the HLS module.
You can check if the module HLS exists by starting python in the terminal and type import HLS in the interactive console.

This is the way to install it:
download the source tarball from here: http://gitorious.org/hls-player/hls-...commits/master
open terminal and become root and unpack the source tarball
go into the directory where setup.py is and the HLS directory
Execute the following command: python setup.py install (For this you will need to have python-setuptools installed)
This will make the module HLS available in python

Now you can test your player again

Good luck
I really appreciate your help!I have managed to install everything correctly as you said.Now for actually playing a video stream this is another story!ehehehe....I`ve tried couple of links, a video player comes up but it doesn`t play anything....if I go to the xterm...surprise surprise, a million errors!!!

I think I`m going to stop here....this is beyong my knowledge of linux.One error after the other.

I would aprreciate it though if you could at least try it and see if it actually works with an .m3u8 stream from tvcatchup.Somebody could benefit from this.....making a GUI for hls-player?

Thanks

Last edited by sophocha; 2010-02-10 at 20:27.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sophocha For This Useful Post:
b666m's Avatar
Posts: 1,090 | Thanked: 476 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Ingolstadt, Germany
#34
did you try vlc?
 
Marshall Banana's Avatar
Posts: 94 | Thanked: 209 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#35
You are welcome . Im a big fan of iptv myself. For Germany there is a similar service like tvcatchup called Onlinetvrecorder which i use quite often. I once tried to get access to tvcatchup but never managed it. At that time tvcatchup was closed down because of legal issues i think.

When i try to launch hls-player gstreamer crashes:
Code:
hls-player -r http://m.rtve.es/live/ http://iphonelive.rtve.es/stream1.m3u8
TypeError: <lambda>() takes exactly 1 argument (2 given)
Error: GStreamer encountered a general stream error. gstomx_base_filter.c(731): pad_chain (): /GstPipeline:player/GstDecodeBin2:decodebin/GstOmxH264Dec:omxh264dec0:
OpenMAX component in wrong state
ERROR:root:http://iphonelive.rtve.es/stream1/0/384/br109191337-0007137.ts
ERROR:twisted:Unhandled Error
Traceback (most recent call last):
Failure: twisted.web.error.Error: 404 Not Found

Traceback (most recent call last):
Failure: twisted.web.error.Error: 404 Not Found
I think this issue with gstreamer can be solved somehow, maybe gstreamer can't handle the transport-stream or it is initialized incorrectly.
If i just dump the stream i can watch it with mplayer:
hls-player -D -s -p . -k 100 -r http://m.rtve.es/live/ http://iphonelive.rtve.es/stream1.m3u8
mplayer *.ts
I saw small chunks of a brazilian/spanish tv show

EDIT: If you can post a url of tvcatchup i will try it

Last edited by Marshall Banana; 2010-02-10 at 20:56.
 
Posts: 559 | Thanked: 166 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Cyprus
#36
 
Posts: 559 | Thanked: 166 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Cyprus
#37
one more question....how can I uninstall all of these stuff (python and the hlsplayer) in case I need to?
 
Marshall Banana's Avatar
Posts: 94 | Thanked: 209 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#38
Originally Posted by sophocha View Post
sure.try this one:

http://84.234.23.231:1935/iphone/iphone_bbcone.sdp
The url does not work for me, i get this response:
Code:
<html><head><title>disconnect flash client</title></head><body><BR>ERROR: null<BR>Disconnected: 0</body></html>
I think there's some login mechanism that prevents me from accessing the stream.
 
Posts: 559 | Thanked: 166 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Cyprus
#39
Originally Posted by Marshall Banana View Post
The url does not work for me, i get this response:
Code:
<html><head><title>disconnect flash client</title></head><body><BR>ERROR: null<BR>Disconnected: 0</body></html>
I think there's some login mechanism that prevents me from accessing the stream.
http://www.tvcatchup.com/

You are right you have to be logged in to play the streams.Its the same error im getting as well.
 
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 456 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#40
Originally Posted by b666m View Post
did you try vlc?
Tried installing VLC from Qole's repository. Downloaded a playlist from TVCatchup then ran it with VLC immediately.. heres the terminal dump..
The first frame displays and freezes. I have to close it myself then type quit to return to the terminal.

Code:
/MyDocs $ vlc playlist.m3u8
VLC media player 1.1.0-git Yellow Bastard
LibVLC has detected an unusable buggy GNU/libc version.
Please update to version 2.8 or newer.
[0x128a8] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
Remote control interface initialized. Type `help' for help.
libdvbpsi error (PSI decoder): TS discontinuity (received 15, expected 0) for PID 0
libdvbpsi error (PSI decoder): TS discontinuity (received 15, expected 0) for PID 4095
[0xa94d8] ts demux error: MPEG-4 descriptor not found
[0xc0ae8] packetizer_mpeg4audio decoder: AAC channels: 1 samplerate: 48000
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
[0x17b428] main generic error: A filter to adapt decoder to display is needed
[0x17b428] xcb_xv generic error: Unknown request in XCB vout display
[0xaf2f8] avcodec decoder error: more than 5 seconds of late video -> dropping frame (computer too slow ?)
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
[0x17b428] xcb_xv generic error: Unknown request in XCB vout display
number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
[0xaf2f8] avcodec decoder error: more than 5 seconds of late video -> dropping frame (computer too slow ?)
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
[0x17b428] xcb_xv generic error: Unknown request in XCB vout display
[0xaf2f8] avcodec decoder error: more than 5 seconds of late video -> dropping frame (computer too slow ?)
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
channel element 0.0 is not allocated
channel element 0.0 is not allocated

Last edited by [DarkGUNMAN]; 2010-03-04 at 00:58.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:08.