Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#31
Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
I downloaded from sourceforge version 0.4.0
to have a look through this but it is a binary blob.
The full source code (Binary Clock and the desktop version Q Binary Clock) is available at:
https://garage.maemo.org/projects/binaryclock

If you build it on a Linux or Windows machine you will simply end up with the Q Binary Clock version.
Actually, I differentiate between Maemo and "Desktop" version with quite a number of ifdefs.

If you are interested in coding your own binary widgets the BinaryDisplayWidget base class and its subclasses Horizontal- and VerticalBinaryDisplayWidget are probably the most interesting ones.
As you will also see, I am currently drawing the LEDs "by hand" using QPainter instead of using image files.
The reason for this is that this solution promises to scale without quality loss.
__________________
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 671 | Thanked: 1,630 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#32
Originally Posted by Wonko View Post
The full source code (Binary Clock and the desktop version Q Binary Clock) is available at:
https://garage.maemo.org/projects/binaryclock

If you build it on a Linux or Windows machine you will simply end up with the Q Binary Clock version.
Actually, I differentiate between Maemo and "Desktop" version with quite a number of ifdefs.
...
Thanks for that, I will check it out.
I have a different need - very niche-oriented,
perhaps only of interest to myself and at most one or two others
on this planet.
__________________
Three n900s: One for stable working platform,
One for development testing Chopping Onions
One for saltwater immersion power testing resurrected ! parts scavenging

My Mods for Wonko's Advanced Clock Plugin:
ISO8601 clock mod and Momental_IST clock mod

Printing your Email with the N900
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#33
Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
Thanks for that, I will check it out.
I have a different need - very niche-oriented,
perhaps only of interest to myself and at most one or two others
on this planet.
If you want to compile Binary Clock for Maemo you need to download qmaemo5homescreenadaptor.cpp and qmaemo5homescreenadaptor.h from http://qt.gitorious.org/qt-labs/maemo5-homescreen and change qmaemo5homescreenadaptor.cpp as described in http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=67151.

By the way, what kind of exotic use-case do you have, if I may ask.
__________________
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#34
Alright,
just uploaded version 0.4.0 to extras-devel.
With this version you have the choice whether you want to display seconds or not.
__________________

Last edited by Wonko; 2010-12-20 at 10:49. Reason: Correct version number...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
ndi's Avatar
Posts: 2,050 | Thanked: 1,425 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Bucharest
#35
Originally Posted by jedi View Post
It's a geek thing...

"There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't"
There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who know binary, those who don't and those who confuse it with the Gray code.

----------

Also, bug: Mine displays GMT time instead of local, that is, time - 2h. 0.4.0 here
__________________
N900 dead and Nokia no longer replaces them. Thanks for all the fish.

Keep the forums clean: use "Thanks" button instead of the thank you post.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ndi For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#36
Originally Posted by ndi View Post
Also, bug: Mine displays GMT time instead of local, that is, time - 2h. 0.4.0 here
Just uploaded version 0.4.1 to extras-devel.
This should fix the issue.
__________________
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
ndi's Avatar
Posts: 2,050 | Thanked: 1,425 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Bucharest
#37
--deleted--

Rebooting fixed it, it is now correctly showing local time.
__________________
N900 dead and Nokia no longer replaces them. Thanks for all the fish.

Keep the forums clean: use "Thanks" button instead of the thank you post.

Last edited by ndi; 2010-12-20 at 14:51.
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#38
Just uploaded version 0.5.0 to extras-devel.
With this version you can use two new display options: 'Unix Time' and 'Unix Time "BCH"'.

Unix Time is simply the Unix time stamp shown as 32 bit integer.
Well, to be accurate, it is not 100% exactly the Unix time, which is supposed to be a signed integer, but it is shown as unsigned integer.
The time is represented as four bytes on top of each other (most significant byte at the top).
The most significant bits are at the left.

Unix Time "BCH" displays the Unix time as well but uses a "Binary Coded Hexadecimal" representation.
Basically, it shows the nibbles (the hexadecimal digits) via a binary representation from left to right.
The most significant digit is located at the left.
The most significant bits are at the top.

For these two display options disabling the "Show Seconds" option simply omits the least significant byte from being drawn.
__________________
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
ndi's Avatar
Posts: 2,050 | Thanked: 1,425 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Bucharest
#39
I think something's broken in the resizing in 0.5.0, the LEDs are cut off. To avoid this, I had to increase space between and lower LED size, but not they are quite small and the effect is lost.

I have 22 LED size and 14 border. Lowering border exhibits cut off and increasing LED size puts one LED over the other.
__________________
N900 dead and Nokia no longer replaces them. Thanks for all the fish.

Keep the forums clean: use "Thanks" button instead of the thank you post.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ndi For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#40
Originally Posted by ndi View Post
I have 22 LED size and 14 border. Lowering border exhibits cut off and increasing LED size puts one LED over the other.
What clock style are you using?
As a quick and dirty workaround could you try increasing both LED size and border?

Actually, I tried LED size of 22 and border 14 for all clock styles, but I cannot reproduce the issue here.
Any further information about your particular setup would help.

There are some sizing issues but I only experienced these with smaller values for LED size and border.
__________________
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05.