Poll: Do you think its possible to overclock the N900?!
Poll Options
Do you think its possible to overclock the N900?!

Reply
Thread Tools
James_Littler's Avatar
Posts: 820 | Thanked: 436 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Portsmouth, UK.
#4731
Originally Posted by gabby131 View Post
hi!

i just wanna ask about the auto-load of settings of kernel on boot.

so if i

Code:
/usr/sbin/kernel-config default ideal
the IDEAL settings will load on boot,

now, how will i revert it back to default?

is;

Code:
/usr/sbin/kernel-config default default
okay?

thanks
That method is depreciated.
To set ideal as default you do the following in x-term:
Code:
root
Code:
kernel-config default ideal
You can replace ideal with the name of your chosen config.

If you want to return to stock, do the following:
Code:
root
Code:
kernel-config default default
Hope that helps
 

The Following User Says Thank You to James_Littler For This Useful Post:
Posts: 650 | Thanked: 497 times | Joined on Oct 2008 @ Ghent, Belgium
#4732
Does anybody know of any issue where wifi switcher causes the phone to reset? This even happens without overclocking/undervolting, just by using this kernel.
Yesterday I managed to use wifi switcher, today the phone restarts when activating it.
__________________
Affordable mobile internet in Belgium: Try Mobile Vikings
2 GB, 1000 SMS and 15 euro of talk time for.... 15 euro
 
Posts: 221 | Thanked: 51 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Germany
#4733
Originally Posted by petur View Post
Does anybody know of any issue where wifi switcher causes the phone to reset? This even happens without overclocking/undervolting, just by using this kernel.
Yesterday I managed to use wifi switcher, today the phone restarts when activating it.
Hi pefur - after one day using wifi switcher (oc with v40; ideal; 900) no restart so far; maybe you have some other apps installed causing this problem in combination with titan's kernel... good luck anyway.
 
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2010
#4734
hello

Thanks for all the information on this page, most usefull,

I have over clocked to 850 (using the 3 lines in x term) all works just fine and have added QB and the stock button to go back to 600 just in case

I would like to add a ideal button as well but not at 1000 but at 850

If i understand rightly I can do :

1. Launch xterminal
2. Sudo gainroot
3. kernel-config load lv
4. kernel-config limits 250 850
5. kernel-config save ideal_850

Then in snippet _ideal_1000 I just rename load ideal_1000 to load ideal_850 (ligne 27)

Is this all Ok before I try it ?

I may of missed something completely here as a noob to Linux, so please bare with me

many thanks

Last edited by minty95; 2010-08-12 at 09:57.
 
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#4735
Hi all, i have a couple of questions.

I install the power kernel settings, reboot and open xterminal, type sudo gainroot, then type kernel-config show, and gives me this error: "this kernel version 2.6.20-omap1 is not supported. Please make sure that kernel-power is installed and running. If you have just installed the kernel, you need to shutdown an boot to active it"

How i boot and activate it?

I have rebooted my n900, then opened xterminal and follow the lines in the tutorial several times. I have reinstalled the power kernel settings and rebooted again, but xterminal is still showing the same error message every time.... i searched and didn't find a solution, so please help.

Many Thanks in advance!

EDIT:
P.D. i have installed multiboot and nitdroid, and the sock kernel

Last edited by kishan; 2010-08-12 at 19:59.
 
James_Littler's Avatar
Posts: 820 | Thanked: 436 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Portsmouth, UK.
#4736
Install kernel power.

You have to have kernel power and kernel power settings installed, 2 separate packages.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to James_Littler For This Useful Post:
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#4737
I have installed via xterm this packages:kernel-power_2.6.28-maemo40_armel.deb, kernel-power-flasher_2-6-28-maemo40_armel.deb, kernel-power-modules_2.6.28-maemo40_armel.deb and kernel-power-settings_0.11_armel.deb and other time via application manager
 
moepda's Avatar
Posts: 334 | Thanked: 118 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ United Kingdom
#4738
I had same problem , had titan v37 and nitroid flying world / multiboot v2.5 , all worked fine until i upgraded to titan v40 , exactly same errors as kishan regardless of installing from xterm or ham , reinstall etc etc , i downgraded back to titan v37 and all is working again , unlucky v40 gives errors to some but is because it seems nitroid/multiboot wont work with v40 wait for new versions i reckon though if anyone kmows solution please share
 

The Following User Says Thank You to moepda For This Useful Post:
James_Littler's Avatar
Posts: 820 | Thanked: 436 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Portsmouth, UK.
#4739
You don't need the flasher to OC using Titans kernel.

Can I suggest that you read through the wiki on over clocking before you actually do anything, everything is explained in there.

If you have kernel for power users and kernel for power users settings installed and your phone has been rebooted, you can do the following in the terminal (provided you have rootsh installed) :
Code:
root
Code:
kernel-config load lv
You have now successfully overclocked your phone.

To make it permanent
Code:
kernel-config default lv
You can change the min/maximum frequencies by doing the following:
Code:
kernel-config limits 250 1000
Where 250 is the minimum frequency and 1000 is the maximum frequency.

To save this new config:
Code:
kernel-config save myconfig
Where myconfig is the name or path of the configuration file to be created

You can then make this the default by using the code above.

Have fun.

You might want to look at 'Transition Control' in the repos, it makes such a difference to the speed of the UI.
 
Posts: 249 | Thanked: 167 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ International
#4740
Originally Posted by HugoSon View Post
Strange - since I installed v40 and re-booted (even multiple times) my accelerometer does not work anymore (turning the phone to get the phone modem, eyes widget, etc.).
Can someone confirm this? Thanks.
Hey there, I have had no problems with accelerometer/autorotation and i am running v40.

In fact, my accelerometer is annoying me in that it goes portrait whenever i vaguely turn my N900
__________________
How to ask questions the smart way
He who smiles in a crisis has found someone to blame.
Shirts get dirty. Underwear gets dirty. Pants? Pants never get dirty, and you can wear them forever.
My Favourite posts!
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=539
http://forums.precentral.net/2674180-post149.html
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=500
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=63720
 
Reply

Tags
cooking on gas, cortex-a8, faster, first to fry it wins!, hardware, its smoking, n900, need for speed, need for weed, nos, omap, omap3, omap3430, overclock, overclocking, soc, system-on-a-chip, the dogs, this thread got good!, vtec just kicked in y0!, warranty will be void, whooplah, zoom zoom


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:52.