Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Helmuth's Avatar
Posts: 1,259 | Thanked: 1,341 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#471
Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Hey man, thanks for testing and reporting bugs (and the scrots). Without you I'd be completely in the dark here. Take a look in About->Credits->Contributors.
No problem, man. Aren't we digging all day in the dark?
It feels here like that.


Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
I haven't tested gpodder with qt version yet but I promise that I'll be fixing the problem. And as Frank Martin says in the Transporter, you shouldn't make promises you can't keep.
Is fixing this bug as dangerous has his promise?

I guess I need a new suit and a proper car for this mission.

Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Immediate playback is already implemented but currently disabled and I personally don't want it but if you want it I make a configuration option, just come up with a good name for it.
I would say let's take the other way arround and call it "add new tacks only to playlist".
So this value has to be true to get the current behavior or false to get immediate playback. Hmm... what do you think?
Or is it more confusing than "immediate playback of new tracks"?

Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
I think I fixed this problem with passing the "Tool" flag to the playlist window. Modal doesn't work on the desktop where you want to use both windows independently.
Perhaps a good place for:
Code:
            if platform.FREMANTLE:
It works at maemo, too. But it is confusing that the task manager appears as soon as you close the settings screen. It's a little bit different.

Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
The menus should alreadfy be fixed and the settings dialog too. It seems that "normal" Qt should render just about everything perfectly on n900 without using anything else.
Yes, the menu looks great. And Qt does a great job.
The settings dialog works, too. But have a look at the screenshot. It's a little bit crowded. Perhaps a Vertical Scrollarea would be a good idea.
But Qt works good. It doesn't gave up and everything fit's in the screen.

[...]
Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Edit: To clarify, if panucci is not running and I chose to play a file in gpodder it plays it automaticly.
If panucci is not running and I chose th play a file in gpodder it plays the last track automatically from the beginning (not the last position and not the new track) - The new track, chosen to play, is added at the end of the playlist.

Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Edit2: Did you try gpodder from git? Better do that before I start looking for this bug as I can't reproduce it myself.
I'm using the last release of gpodder from extra devel. Not from git. I shied the effort to overwrite the gpodder code that is spread over several places on my device. It's hard for me to catch all parts and don't miss some old ones and to introduce a additional bug. It worked since more than a year. I thought the chance is very low that something has chance since thp has stopped working on the panucci part.

Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Edit3: The buttons in the playlist window looks a bit weird. I took away some empty icons I had there now and if that doesn't help we may have to take away the clear button as that one already is in the menu anyway.
Do you mean the small black squares in the lower right corner? Yes, I mentioned this before. "Small defective appearance"
But this is only at the gtk code. The Qt part looks very good.

But additionally, have a look at the screenshot number 2. There are german umlauts in the track description (or title). Instead of the umlaut ü it shows 2 other characters (not able to type those at the moment)
Have you ensured to use QString instead of the String object everywhere in the code? There seems to be a problem using unicode characters.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by Helmuth; 2011-03-22 at 11:36.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Helmuth For This Useful Post:
Helmuth's Avatar
Posts: 1,259 | Thanked: 1,341 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#472
Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Hmm, you meant the playback from gpodder. Ok i tried with panucci qt now and it plays the file immediately on both panucci versions.
Oh, as far as I have seen in the gPodder code there is a lot of platform specitic code! (even different include files)

If you run it on the desktop it may work totally different from the maemo/fremantle target. So you can't compare it.
 
Helmuth's Avatar
Posts: 1,259 | Thanked: 1,341 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#473
Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Hmm, you meant the playback from gpodder. Ok i tried with panucci qt now and it plays the file immediately on both panucci versions.

Edit: To clarify, if panucci is not running and I chose to play a file in gpodder it plays it automaticly.
Okay, second behavior:

If panucci is not running AND THE PLAYLIST WAS EMPTY the last time I closed panucci and I chose to play a file in gpodder it plays it automatically. (and even from the last position I stopped this track the last time)

The normal case is that I close panucci with something in the playlist. Then it works like in my first post.
 
xerxes2's Avatar
Posts: 513 | Thanked: 651 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Sweden
#474
Originally Posted by Helmuth View Post
Perhaps a good place for:
Code:
            if platform.FREMANTLE:
It works at maemo, too. But it is confusing that the task manager appears as soon as you close the settings screen. It's a little bit different.
This one was a bit tricky. On GTK you just use the set_transient_for() method but that doesn't seem to exist for Qt. i've switched to the Dialog flag now, see this commit:
https://github.com/xerxes2/panucci/c...357b541ce8c044

I'm not sure though that it is the same as transient on GTK. And I don't think modal is it either but you can try it with adding the following line to the playlist window:
Code:
self.main_window.setWindowModality(QtCore.Qt.WindowModal)
But as I said I don't think it's what you're looking for.

Originally Posted by Helmuth View Post
Yes, the menu looks great. And Qt does a great job.
The settings dialog works, too. But have a look at the screenshot. It's a little bit crowded. Perhaps a Vertical Scrollarea would be a good idea.
But Qt works good. It doesn't gave up and everything fit's in the screen.
Haha, yeah I forgot to add a scrollarea to the settings dialog, fixed it now.

Originally Posted by Helmuth View Post
If panucci is not running and I chose th play a file in gpodder it plays the last track automatically from the beginning (not the last position and not the new track) - The new track, chosen to play, is added at the end of the playlist.
Atleast this was working the same way for us. I'll come back to the problems with gpodder later.

Originally Posted by Helmuth View Post
But additionally, have a look at the screenshot number 2. There are german umlauts in the track description (or title). Instead of the umlaut ü it shows 2 other characters (not able to type those at the moment)
Have you ensured to use QString instead of the String object everywhere in the code? There seems to be a problem using unicode characters.
Hmm, I don't think I'm using qstring no, maybe I should? Actually this was the first time I heard about it. First I can say to you that you probably can't use files with the old 8-bit iso encoding. UTF-8 should work fine though afaik. Can you point me to a file with this problem?
__________________
But the WM7 "horse" has a blood lineage tracing back to donkeys such as WM6.5, 6.1, 6.0, 5.1 that was fully neglected for too many years and Microsoft did sweet F all to maintain it (still running on Pocket IE4/6!!).

Last edited by xerxes2; 2011-03-22 at 23:26.
 
thp's Avatar
Posts: 1,391 | Thanked: 4,272 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Vienna, Austria
#475
You are probably looking for that code:

Code:
setAttribute(Qt::WA_Maemo5StackedWindow);
(see this wiki page for details)

For scrolling the settings dialog, you can have a look at the platform notes, which suggests QAbstractKineticScroller and QAbstractScrollArea.

HTH
 
thp's Avatar
Posts: 1,391 | Thanked: 4,272 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Vienna, Austria
#476
PS: Did I mention that if you want to have a UI for MeeGo, then QML with Qt Components would be the way to go?
 
xerxes2's Avatar
Posts: 513 | Thanked: 651 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Sweden
#477
Originally Posted by Helmuth View Post
But additionally, have a look at the screenshot number 2. There are german umlauts in the track description (or title). Instead of the umlaut ü it shows 2 other characters (not able to type those at the moment)
Have you ensured to use QString instead of the String object everywhere in the code? There seems to be a problem using unicode characters.
Dammit you're killing me man. There was indeed a bug with utf8. I must listen to you even more carefully than I already do. As Inspector Tarconi says in the Transporter, a people that make such beutiful cars can't be all bad. It seems that Qt doesn't assume utf8 encoding as GTK does so I had to throw in a few encode/decode so the problem should be fixed now.

Edit: This is actually a very annoying problem, it should be possible to set it globally somehow.

Edit2: Qstring seems to be removed from pyside. http://www.mail-archive.com/pyside@l.../msg00656.html
Attached Images
 
__________________
But the WM7 "horse" has a blood lineage tracing back to donkeys such as WM6.5, 6.1, 6.0, 5.1 that was fully neglected for too many years and Microsoft did sweet F all to maintain it (still running on Pocket IE4/6!!).

Last edited by xerxes2; 2011-03-23 at 12:25.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to xerxes2 For This Useful Post:
xerxes2's Avatar
Posts: 513 | Thanked: 651 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Sweden
#478
Originally Posted by thp View Post
You are probably looking for that code:

Code:
setAttribute(Qt::WA_Maemo5StackedWindow);
(see this wiki page for details)

For scrolling the settings dialog, you can have a look at the platform notes, which suggests QAbstractKineticScroller and QAbstractScrollArea.

HTH
I just put it in a qscrollarea, will have to wait and see what helmuth says. I will try that window flag though, wonder if that works on the desktop too.

Edit: Nope it didn't worked, will have to wait until someone else confirms that it works on n900 before commiting.
__________________
But the WM7 "horse" has a blood lineage tracing back to donkeys such as WM6.5, 6.1, 6.0, 5.1 that was fully neglected for too many years and Microsoft did sweet F all to maintain it (still running on Pocket IE4/6!!).

Last edited by xerxes2; 2011-03-23 at 12:02.
 
xerxes2's Avatar
Posts: 513 | Thanked: 651 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Sweden
#479
Originally Posted by thp View Post
PS: Did I mention that if you want to have a UI for MeeGo, then QML with Qt Components would be the way to go?
QML looks much like a very ugly hack to me. HorusHorrendus said that I don't get it and maybe I don't but I just can't see the point of it, atleast not with python. maybe it makes more sense to use it with c++. And Qt components isn't released yet afaik. Wasn't that more for symbian too? Anyway, let's finish the normal Qt gui first before we move on.
__________________
But the WM7 "horse" has a blood lineage tracing back to donkeys such as WM6.5, 6.1, 6.0, 5.1 that was fully neglected for too many years and Microsoft did sweet F all to maintain it (still running on Pocket IE4/6!!).
 
Helmuth's Avatar
Posts: 1,259 | Thanked: 1,341 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#480
Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
This one was a bit tricky. On GTK you just use the set_transient_for() method but that doesn't seem to exist for Qt. i've switched to the Dialog flag now, see this commit:
https://github.com/xerxes2/panucci/c...357b541ce8c044
Okay, now it's a dialog, not a window anymore. Have a look at the screenshot. But works for me.


Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Haha, yeah I forgot to add a scrollarea to the settings dialog, fixed it now.
Thanks, I haven't created a screenshot now. But what about adding a store button on the right, not inside the scrollarea?

At the moment the scroll area has only 50% screen width, it is centered to the left and the right area is empty.

And at maemo, the cancel behavior is always to click on the empty screen area outside the dialog. So no need for a button. You shoudn't store changes to the settings if someone cancels the dialog.


Originally Posted by xerxes2 View Post
Hmm, I don't think I'm using qstring no, maybe I should? Actually this was the first time I heard about it. First I can say to you that you probably can't use files with the old 8-bit iso encoding. UTF-8 should work fine though afaik. Can you point me to a file with this problem?
Hmm... At this podcast are several files with umlauts:
http://www1.swr.de/podcast/xml/swr2/impuls.xml

I've read at this forum very often about encoding problems at Qt applications. Using QString instead of String fixed the problems, as far as I know, always. Have a look at the screenshot, the Button in the lower right. In the GTK version the caption is correct shown.
Attached Images
 
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Helmuth For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
barbiestrsand


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:03.