Reply
Thread Tools
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#41
So can you just write a script that does a single capture, and it won't reboot the device? cool.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2008
#42
Yes i can.

One thing i did not mention yet is that i use standard USB cables.
So NO OTG enabled cables.

For a single shot on my Nikon D40 the script would be :

echo host > /sys/devices/platform/musb_hdrc/mode
sleep 1
/usr/local/bin/gphoto2 --set-config /main/settings/capturetarget 1
/usr/local/bin/gphoto2 --capture-image
echo otg > /sys/devices/platform/musb_hdrc/mode
sleep 1

the only little annoyance i have now is that gphoto2 spends a long time initialising before it actually takes the picture.
 
darethehair's Avatar
Posts: 273 | Thanked: 104 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Manitoba, Canada
#43
bk227865:

You make an interesting claim

I would wonder why running commands 'manually' would lock up the tablet, but running them inside a script would not? Did you confirm that running your 'gphoto2' commands interactively locks up your machine?

If you are correct, that would give me new hope for these libraries! BTW, which version are you running -- and are you running the ones that I compiled?
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2008
#44
i donwloaded the latest ones from your website

http://members.shaw.ca/dmenns2/software.html

and it's not only the gphoto2 commands that have to be in the script but , more important , also the commands that switch the USB port to host and back !

so if your gonna try dont forget to put this a the start of the script :

echo host > /sys/devices/platform/musb_hdrc/mode

and this at the end :

echo otg > /sys/devices/platform/musb_hdrc/mode

Also do not use an OTG enable USB cable as this would switch the device automatically.
Then just plug in your camera , and start the script.

Btw , thanks for the conversion and distribution of the liberaries
 
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2007
#45
Finally go around to trying the script. I use Canon Raw format on my 300D, but so far I have not managed to get the --get-all-raw-data to work, but --get-all-files works a treat. I have now proven I can down load images to my N810 and then transfer them to a USB memory stick easily.

Thanks guys good work.
 
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2007
#46
Dare

What has happen to your web site, I wanted to re-download the package.
 
darethehair's Avatar
Posts: 273 | Thanked: 104 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Manitoba, Canada
#47
PaulG:

Sorry, I recently moved and had to give up my old ISP, and the webspace provided to me. As an experiment, I am now trying 'generic' webspace (i.e. Google) so that I don't get locked in again. Try this out and let me know if it works:

http://darethehair.googlepages.com/software.html
 

The Following User Says Thank You to darethehair For This Useful Post:
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2007
#48
Dare

your a star, it works great, many thanks.

Paul
 
Posts: 17 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#49
Hi!
Thank you for your efort to get gphoto2 on n810.
Can you compile last gphoto2 for maemo?
It supports now capture from 400D.

Thanks!
 
GeneralAntilles's Avatar
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
#50
. . . and fix that .deb package.

Packages should NEVER touch /usr/local and it seems to have totally nuked my PATH.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31.